Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funk on!
I love this CD. It is a rock album, but with influences from fnk to jazz to blues to soul........ what a band.
Nuno is a world class guitarist, and plays some scary stuff - he does a lot of tapping, but in an original way.
The songs are all good, and don't forget, More Than Words topped the charts the world over. But songs like Get The Funk Out, Decadence Dance,...
Published on 25 Nov 2002 by Dr Nick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
I only purchased cd for (1 song More Than words) wonderfull
Published 14 days ago by anniek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funk on!, 25 Nov 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I love this CD. It is a rock album, but with influences from fnk to jazz to blues to soul........ what a band.
Nuno is a world class guitarist, and plays some scary stuff - he does a lot of tapping, but in an original way.
The songs are all good, and don't forget, More Than Words topped the charts the world over. But songs like Get The Funk Out, Decadence Dance, Suzi Wants.... and the title track are the reason so many people love the record, and it should be part of every happy home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quite Brilliant Guitarists Album, 11 Oct 2006
By 
gingerguru "gingerguru" (Billericay, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
There is no doubt that this album, being the band's 2nd studio release, is a modern day classic in rock/metal. The band's debut album was largely unknown, at least in the Uk, and it was this second far superior record which brought the band well-deserved fame and fortune.

From a guitarist's perspective, I have to say this is one of my all-time favourite albums. Nuno provides us all with a humbling demonstration of fast, intricate and incredibly inventive playing. His tone, helped by the crystal clear production, is also superb.

This is, however, an album not just about great guitar riffs. The band demonstrate the rock songwriting art with great aplomb. There are so many infectious tunes on this and each member of the band contributes to the overall effect, particularly Gary Cherone who gives his best vocal performance for Extreme.

This is without question one of the great rock/metal records of the 90s and any self-respecting music fan should own a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old school, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought to replace a tape that got eaten by an ancient cassette recorder, for those that remember Extreme this was their greatest album so just had to be added to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme's best � Extremely good R-O-C-K, 31 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pornograffitti (Audio CD)
I guess this was one of my absolute favourites when I was around 20. It still is.
Great ROCK songs. You can feel the extreme joy the band has in playing. You can feel the fun they had putting together the lyrics. Feel the "let's do it" experimental ideas in the sometimes unorthodox details added before and after every piece.
This is great fun, great lyrics (some might misinterprete them as very hostile and provoking and unethical - I just consider them as pure fun and sarcastic satire).
This is great rock, great music. Right from the speedy »Pornograffitti«, through the album's best piece »He-Man Woman Hater«, to the beautiful jazzy ballad »When I First Kissed You«.
EXTREMEly great satirical hardrock album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nuno... woah., 17 May 2005
I first heard extreme off a crackly casette from my guitar tutor next door. I came away with that cassette and he hasn't had it back since! More than words, though some will be annoyed at me mentioning it over the rest of the album, is the one that stands out to you on hearing it first of all, and is beautiful. Nuno Bettencourt ..... he either inspires you to continue with guitar or makes you feel it's all futile! he's unbelievable. Maybe not because he tries out new stuff ALL THE TIME, but just because he has a differnet dynamic, a different passion to his playing. He definately catches your ear!!
And, Gary Cherone explores a completely different sound in his voice, an instrument in its own right, throughout this album. More than Words is also a notable song on this point - beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely THE most addictive album I have ever listened to., 12 Sep 2002
By 
AGH (Hamphsire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pornograffitti (Audio CD)
After I first heard it I played it almost constantly in the car for about 4-5 months and in the end had to throw away the tape to get the music out of my head for a while. 12 years later the CD is in my collection and it is still my all time favourite (listened to in moderation!). The tracks go from the extreme of Funky Rock guitar music through to softer rock ballads (get the blood pressure down again).
If you like rock music and this is not in your collection it can only be because you have not listened to it yet.
While you are here make sure you pick up "III Sides to Every Story". Its a long album packed full of great tracks, almost a match for Pornograffitti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pornograffitti (Audio CD)
I bought this tape when it came out. For years it was in my hi fi constantly. I used to listen to it on the way to college and work. I was devastated when the tape was chewed up and worn. I now have the CD. The album has so much range to it. Some easy and hard rock stuff. IT IS A MUST GET. "Get the funk out" is one of my faves.
Buy it today! You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For rock lovers everywhere, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen them perform the complete album this week it reinforces their importance and phenomenal skills within this music genre. I love every track and the songs remain totally relevant to today. Gary Cherones voice has improved over time if you are afan I would recommend his EP Cherone nobody does a love song like him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funktastic!!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As awesome now as when it was first released. If you don't want to dance when you listen to this, well............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, great price, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this CD for a really low price, and it is great quality too - thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pornograffitti
Pornograffitti by Extreme (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews