Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of british rock and blues
without doubt the best group of it`s kind, from the vocals of eric clapton and jack bruce, to one of the best drummers of all time, ginger baker. the base line put down by bruce is on a par with anyone. the lyrics stand the test of time as does this album. every track is a classic in it`s own right but my favorite has to be crossroads....out of this world a driving rock...
Published on 25 Aug 2001 by kns1948@aol.com

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I'd hoped...
I bought this after watching the excellent "Beware Mr Baker" which is a must for anyone interested in music. I knew all the famous stuff but was hoping for more from the tracks I'd previously not listened to. Some of these others just seem like filler to me. So it would be 5 stars for the well known tracks and 1 for the others. *prepares to be shot down in...
Published 11 months ago by P. Bryant


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of british rock and blues, 25 Aug 2001
By 
kns1948@aol.com (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
without doubt the best group of it`s kind, from the vocals of eric clapton and jack bruce, to one of the best drummers of all time, ginger baker. the base line put down by bruce is on a par with anyone. the lyrics stand the test of time as does this album. every track is a classic in it`s own right but my favorite has to be crossroads....out of this world a driving rock anthem of the 60`s. a must for all rock fans young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How good were they?, 5 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
Well, I saw them play at the Ricky Tick club in Windsor just after they formed in summer 1966. US style R&B and Soul was the scene at the time and the UK’s most popular exponents of it – Geno Washington & The Ram Jam Band – had a huge local following. Cream arrived, totally unknown, and played music that few had heard before. In the middle of one number (NSU?) the crowd got increasingly agitated and started chanting “Geno... Geno...” Eric Clapton turned to Jack Bruce, said something along the lines of "they're booing" and after a short pause launched them into the longest, loudest and most amazingly complicated three part work-out that I and this small crowd had ever heard. The end result? Stunned silence for the rest of their set and, on the way, several dozen instant Cream fans.
A brilliant, innovative group whose recorded output is – with the sole exception of “Crossroads” – a pale reflection of their hugely impressive and, in this case, devastating, on-stage performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent retrospective anthology collection of CREAM!, 15 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
One of the greatest psychedelic sixties power trio bands of rock music history. This compilation which has 20 of all their best hits on CD with the trio's style ofelectric british-blues & hard rock all combined. Digitally remastered and better sound quality from it's recent album "Strange Brew: The Very Best of Cream" (1983 Polydor). A bare-bone collection focusing on the group's hit singles from 1966-1968 with live & studio tracks are included on this anthology album. My favorite songs are "I Feel Free", "Sunshine of Your Love", "Crossroads", "White Room" & "Born Under A Bad Sign". This is a way better collection than any other you could regret to get to know a full overview that chronicles on Cream's musical career success and roots influenced right here itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic blues-rock group, 29 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
Cream (Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker) were possibly better as a live act than on record, but their records (at least some of them) were nevertheless impressive and this CD captures the best of their recorded music. The group were generally more popular in America (where they spent a lot of time touring) than their British homeland.
They were never really a singles act although they had some chart hits. They never made the UK top ten but they came close with I feel free. They also made the UK top twenty with Strange brew and Badge. Wrapping paper, Anyone for tennis, Sunshine of my love and White room all became minor UK hits. Every one of those tracks can be found on this collection, together with other brilliant tracks including Spoonful, Politician and Crossroads.
This compilation provides a great introduction to Cream's music, though maybe the best way to hear them is via their original albums (Fresh Cream, Disraeli gears, Wheels of fire, Goodbye). Still, this is the best place to start if you are new to their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Best-of, 3 May 2003
By 
Mr Steve N Westley (Saltash, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
If you need an introduction or a reminder of the power of this rock trio, look no further. This is the definite collection with no filler material. As a standout the sheer jigsaw performance of the three instuments, guitar, bass and drums on 'Sitting on top of the world' is hard to better by any rock group. 'Crossroads' powers along with the Eric Clapton vocal almost joyous with dazling lead guitar work. Buy it - you will not find better late sixtiea/early seventies studio and live rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
Good condition as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cream, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
Always wanted to have the group Cream on C.D, but never new what albums were available until I came across this compilation - very good for people who only now the odd songs of theirs to start on your journey of discovering more if you enjoy what you've heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like cream and I also like the band!, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
This is a real blast from the past but surprisingly how many younger people like this music. The cd arrived in good order and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Cream!, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
A highly entertaining 20 track collection covering Cream's all too brief tenure (1966-68) as the most soulful hard-rocking bluesmen of their era. 5 tracks are selected from their classic 1967 release 'Disraeli Gears' and 7 tracks from the follow-up 'Wheels Of Fire' (1968) and the brilliant riffs just keep coming. 'Sunshine Of Your Love', 'White Room', 'Politician' and the punchy Eric Clapton/George Harrison single 'Badge' are just 4 of the excellent songs featured but, to be honest, the vast majority of this album is gorgeous. Buy this, settle back and turn the volume up to 11!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love a bit of cream!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
This cd is for my little roadster,so when Im driving I can really enjoy some great sounds along with a bit of led zep Im in heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Cream
The Very Best Of Cream by Cream (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews