Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of british rock and blues
without doubt the best group of it`s kind, from the vocals of eric clapton and jack bruce, to one of the best drummers of all time, ginger baker. the base line put down by bruce is on a par with anyone. the lyrics stand the test of time as does this album. every track is a classic in it`s own right but my favorite has to be crossroads....out of this world a driving rock...
Published on 25 Aug. 2001 by kns1948@aol.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly indifferent
I first came to rock just after Cream, with Zep. so I thought I should go back and see what I had missed. I knew Crossroads, Badge, White Room, Sunshine Of Your Love and Brave Ulysses (all here and all great), but not the rest. I have no doubt this is the best of Cream, but frankly the rest is pretty awful, and I count myself a blues-rock fan (Gallagher, Trower, Zep,...
Published 4 months ago by Kitsto


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of british rock and blues, 25 Aug. 2001
By 
kns1948@aol.com (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
without doubt the best group of it`s kind, from the vocals of eric clapton and jack bruce, to one of the best drummers of all time, ginger baker. the base line put down by bruce is on a par with anyone. the lyrics stand the test of time as does this album. every track is a classic in it`s own right but my favorite has to be crossroads....out of this world a driving rock anthem of the 60`s. a must for all rock fans young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How good were they?, 5 Jan. 2004
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
Well, I saw them play at the Ricky Tick club in Windsor just after they formed in summer 1966. US style R&B and Soul was the scene at the time and the UK’s most popular exponents of it – Geno Washington & The Ram Jam Band – had a huge local following. Cream arrived, totally unknown, and played music that few had heard before. In the middle of one number (NSU?) the crowd got increasingly agitated and started chanting “Geno... Geno...” Eric Clapton turned to Jack Bruce, said something along the lines of "they're booing" and after a short pause launched them into the longest, loudest and most amazingly complicated three part work-out that I and this small crowd had ever heard. The end result? Stunned silence for the rest of their set and, on the way, several dozen instant Cream fans.
A brilliant, innovative group whose recorded output is – with the sole exception of “Crossroads” – a pale reflection of their hugely impressive and, in this case, devastating, on-stage performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent retrospective anthology collection of CREAM!, 15 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
One of the greatest psychedelic sixties power trio bands of rock music history. This compilation which has 20 of all their best hits on CD with the trio's style ofelectric british-blues & hard rock all combined. Digitally remastered and better sound quality from it's recent album "Strange Brew: The Very Best of Cream" (1983 Polydor). A bare-bone collection focusing on the group's hit singles from 1966-1968 with live & studio tracks are included on this anthology album. My favorite songs are "I Feel Free", "Sunshine of Your Love", "Crossroads", "White Room" & "Born Under A Bad Sign". This is a way better collection than any other you could regret to get to know a full overview that chronicles on Cream's musical career success and roots influenced right here itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds fantastic after nearly 50 years, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. D. E. ROBERTS (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
A little (giant) piece of rock history by possibly the greatest power trio of all or as Frank Zappa once described them "a dandy little combo".
I've not listened to this for years but I have now re-discovered it after the sad death of Jack Bruce. What a great bass player and singer he was !.
I can't say that I like every track but I absolutely love most of them. Tales of Brave Ulysses with Clapton's glorious use of the wah wah pedal and brilliant solo; White Room with its marvellous moment of tension before the guitar solo; Crossroads with Ginger's incredible propulsive drumming building the excitement where Jack starts to sing "You can run, you can run"; and many others such as Sunshine of your Love, Spoonful, NSU, Sitting on Top of the World, Born under a Bad Sign, I feel free and my favourite Badge co-written by Eric Clapton and George Harrison.

This is simply great music played by three great musicians at the top of their game and music that will last unlike of a lot of today's throwaway music.
It is simply great music and I would recommend it to any music fan. To my ears Cream's music is totally unique and a joy to listen to. To quote Duke Ellington "There are two kinds of music. Good music, and the other kind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly indifferent, 11 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
I first came to rock just after Cream, with Zep. so I thought I should go back and see what I had missed. I knew Crossroads, Badge, White Room, Sunshine Of Your Love and Brave Ulysses (all here and all great), but not the rest. I have no doubt this is the best of Cream, but frankly the rest is pretty awful, and I count myself a blues-rock fan (Gallagher, Trower, Zep, etc). I know this will anger true fans and those older than me who grew up with John Mayall. But I much prefer Jack Bruce's work with West, Bruce & Laing, BBM and Trower and I've always found Clapton's facility with guitar makes him a bit bland. Other reviewers suggest Cream were always better live so it may be better to check out their live albums first, though I'm not sure I could put up with extended wigouts of I'm So Glad or many of the rest. Sorry, my fault, not Cream's. Still, this seems to be a comprehensive compilation and the liner notes are excellent, so three stars not two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential listening for Eric Clapton Fans, Classic Rock Fans, Blues Fans, Psychedelic Fans, and just rock fans in general., Octo, 8 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
"Essential listening for Eric Clapton Fans, Classic Rock Fans, Blues Fans, Psychedelic Fans, and just rock fans in general., October 4, 2007"

Probably one of the best comp. CDs you can buy if you are interested in psychedelic rock, Eric Clapton, classic rock, blues-rock, or any and all of the above. This famous band, Eric Clapton, Ginger Baker, and Jack Bruce, which formed in the mid 1960s and broke up in the late 1960s, managed to produce some studio albums, couple of live albums, and some flatout psychedelic staples that would prove both enormously popular and enormously influential.

Cream, like any great band, was also wonderfully versatile. Not only did they do blues and hard-rock, but they did gentle lilting ballads and psychedelic jams. "Spoonful", the old Willie Dixon song, is remade into an epic, acid-blues track here. "Tales of Brave Ulysses" turns Homer on his head. "Politician" has one of my al ltime favorite Clapton riffs. "Wrapping Paper", the band's first single, is also sedate but great fun to sing along too. "Crossroads", a live track taken from their 1968 double album WHEEL OF FIRE (half studio, half live), is seen by many (including E.C. himself) as Clapton's definitive song. "Anyone For Tennis" sounds like an aural twin to "Wrapping Paper". For you Beatles fans, George Harrison co-wrote the last track to this album with Eric Clapton, the phenomenal "Badge", and also played rhythm guitar.

With any major band, there's been a long line of compilations for this band. This is one of the best ones. Longer than the Strange Brew comp from the 1980s, aimed at the causal listener looking for a single disc Cream, it's long enough to feature the majority of the most important work. If I'm not mistaken there's been some more comprehensive comps. released after this, but for a single disc jobber nothing beats this.

For the hard core Cream fans, there will be those who complain some tracks are left off. Cream only released four albums, so it's just as easy to get them. But if you're looking for an introduction to the band, this is one of the best places to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic blues-rock group, 29 Mar. 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
Cream (Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker) were possibly better as a live act than on record, but their records (at least some of them) were nevertheless impressive and this CD captures the best of their recorded music. The group were generally more popular in America (where they spent a lot of time touring) than their British homeland.
They were never really a singles act although they had some chart hits. They never made the UK top ten but they came close with I feel free. They also made the UK top twenty with Strange brew and Badge. Wrapping paper, Anyone for tennis, Sunshine of my love and White room all became minor UK hits. Every one of those tracks can be found on this collection, together with other brilliant tracks including Spoonful, Politician and Crossroads.
This compilation provides a great introduction to Cream's music, though maybe the best way to hear them is via their original albums (Fresh Cream, Disraeli gears, Wheels of fire, Goodbye). Still, this is the best place to start if you are new to their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Best-of, 3 May 2003
By 
Mr Steve N Westley (Saltash, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
If you need an introduction or a reminder of the power of this rock trio, look no further. This is the definite collection with no filler material. As a standout the sheer jigsaw performance of the three instuments, guitar, bass and drums on 'Sitting on top of the world' is hard to better by any rock group. 'Crossroads' powers along with the Eric Clapton vocal almost joyous with dazling lead guitar work. Buy it - you will not find better late sixtiea/early seventies studio and live rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Cream!, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Cream (Audio CD)
A highly entertaining 20 track collection covering Cream's all too brief tenure (1966-68) as the most soulful hard-rocking bluesmen of their era. 5 tracks are selected from their classic 1967 release 'Disraeli Gears' and 7 tracks from the follow-up 'Wheels Of Fire' (1968) and the brilliant riffs just keep coming. 'Sunshine Of Your Love', 'White Room', 'Politician' and the punchy Eric Clapton/George Harrison single 'Badge' are just 4 of the excellent songs featured but, to be honest, the vast majority of this album is gorgeous. Buy this, settle back and turn the volume up to 11!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT REMASTERED STEREO COMPILATION., 28 Nov. 2013
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
AN EXCELLENT REMASTERED STEREO COMPILATION of all their most famous tracks. If you want just one CD to represent Cream, then look no further as this is the best currently available. Sound quality for "pop" music (as opposed to classical/jazz) of this period is very good indeed, the fact it's stereo is unusual as much music from this period is just mono. I am not going to go into any raptures about the greatness of Cream, other reviewers have done that very well. My only criticism is my CD is ultra slimline with no room for a booklet, that apart, thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Cream
The Very Best Of Cream by Cream (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews