Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pomp and rockingstance, 28 Sep 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pieces of Eight (Audio CD)
This was my introduction to Styx. A friend bought it on release and played it to me in all its clear vinyl glory. I acquired it soon after, complete with four-track EP (not included here) of some of their better songs from 'Crystal Ball' and 'The Grand Illusion.' It's a flamboyant album with a big production and, admittedly, many will be repelled by its taste. 'Sing For The Day' is a bit twee and Dennis De Young's vocal delivery can be a bit ostentatious, but the album rocks hard in places and features great melodies. The harmony vocals are a bit too close to Queen for comfort and 'I'm OK' is possibly one song that Freddie Mercury would have wished he'd written (the pipe organ's gloriously OTT as well).
The best rocker is probably 'Renegade,' but 'Great White Hope' and 'Blue Collar Man' are the business too. The highlights, though, are the three tracks that verge on prog: 'Queen Of Spades' is a devilish rocker with a haunting intro, while 'Lords Of The Ring' and 'the title track are magnificent. No one dare make this kind of album any more. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Time Favourite, 27 Sep 2007
This review is from: Pieces of Eight (Audio CD)
Nearly thirty years after buying this album as a special edition gold-coloured disc, this is still probably my all time favourite. Styx have been given a lot of sticks (sorry) in their time, but this album is a triumph in every way. Great songs (such as the magnificent, inspirational 'I'm OK'), excellent musicianship, and one of the most striking album sleeves ever conceived, the band barely falter. From all-out rockers ('Great White Hope', 'Renegade') to pompous epics ('Queen of Spades', 'Sing for the Day'), Pieces of Eight has everything the MOR rock fan could wish for. Buy it, love it, cherish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greats....., 28 Sep 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pieces of Eight (Audio CD)
Pieces of Eight is my favourite Styx album and was my first. One of three or four I had on vinyl and the first I replaced with CD.

My rock palette was a little progressive at that time and this seemed to be a great crossover. Clever, twiddly keyboard stuff (on a couple of tracks) soon move onto a clean rock sound, with bold, decent tunes and very strong vocals. But, it's the variety and musicianship that was key for me. And, different enough that nobody else I knew knew had either heard of Styx or their music.

There aren't any duds, each track neatly leading into the next, with the storming Blue Collar Man and title track standouts. It seemed rare that such a complete album could exist but wasn't known about or in the charts. To this day, it remains one of my top 25 albums of all time. The album artwork, especially the back, which still looks good in tiny CD size, to me is one of the greats, the five band members, each separately at unusual angles and perspectives, with an Easter Island background, all superbly put together, long before Photoshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces of Eight (Audio CD)
Loved this album in 78, brought it many times since when the LP or CD was worn out. Just about says all you need to know about life. Almost bible. From keys to lead guitar, bass solos to complex mixing of the drum. Lyrically beyond any other album. A band at it's peak. EPIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A timeless masterpiece, 14 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pieces of Eight (Audio CD)
This record, first distributed in 1987, is one of my all time favourites. Their song writing talents, unfortunately, have well outlasted the band which I find quite sad as they had the potential to a 'big' rock band. Their songs are all very easy to listen to with great melodies (especially at max. volume) and they can really the rock the house! This should be a definate for everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good album, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces of Eight (Audio CD)
this is a very good album showcasing this bands talent and a snapshot of eighties rock and heavy metal,recommended buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRACK LIST, 1 Sep 2010
By 
D. J. Hern "DaveJH" (Material World (Just visiting)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
1. Great White Hope
2. I'm OK
3. Sing For The Day
4. The Message
5. Lords Of The Ring
6. Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
7. Queen Of Spades
8. Renegade
9. Pieces Of Eight
10. Aku-Aku
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great rock album, 24 May 2010
By 
A. Bristow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pieces of Eight (Audio CD)
This was one of the albums that first switched me on to rock music, my first personal choice that not everyone liked. On that basis this isn't a dispassionate review but one for me with plenty of memories. If you like the rock from the late 70's and early 80's, of Journey, Foreigner, BOC and perhaps the likes of Queen then this is worth a listen. A spotty teenager needs his points of rebellion and with great tunes, harmonies and musicianship this fit the bill for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pieces of Eight
Pieces of Eight by Styx (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews