Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
9
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2004
Sometime i think that it is crime that not everyone has heard and not everyone apprecaites the ozarks. However the ozarks were never about making it big time. They stayed true to the music. I have only recenetly (the past 5 years) discovered the ozarks. The are a fusion of rock and country and they remind me very much of the New Riders of the Purple SAge.. THis album is a particular highlight. When i first heard the album it was the songs of Larry Lee who impressed me the most. He sounds and writes songs in a way that makes him sound like he just missed out at the beach boys auditions which is great for me because i love the beach boys. His voice is sweet and innocent. However the more you listen to the ozarks the more you realise that they are a proper band. Each of them has their own style and this makes for very entertaining listening that takes you through a plethora of emotions and moods. Particular highlights for me on this album are Spaceship Orion, within without ( Larry Lee). Fantastic
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2004
Having been a Ozark Mountan Daredevil fan from the early seventies, I had to wait some time before their records started appearing on CD. In fact I had to go the the US to find them. This was their debut album and it is absolutely fantastic. The guitar work and the use of other instruments is just outstanding. People seeing the title of the band think it is country, well it isn't. It's rock (with some country influences), it's mellow, it's fabulous listening stuff.
Highly recommended
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
I recieved the first self titled album by the Ozark Mountain Daredevils a week ago.I have listened to it about a dozen times its excellent.its the sound of a band enjoying what they do and it shows.A mix of slower ballads in the country rock vein of those, Spaceship Orion sends a shiver down the spine but all are good and not too slushy.Beauty In The River is a wonderful singalong campfire type song the kind of song that makes a person glad to be alive.Black Sky is another great singalong with a slow chooglin southern country rock feel.all in all a talented under rated album by an under rated band.I plan to buy all New Era reissues one by one they sound really clear and sharp.If like me you are new to this band and enjoy early Eagles and Poco then give this band a listen.Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
I own several Ozark vinyl albums and have been looking to update my digital collection without having to pay a King's ransom for a download. Whilst the tracks are as I remember the sound was awful. Whether this is a remix or just low quality lossy MP3 (other digital tracks are lossless) it wasn't as I remember it. At first I thought it was a tribute band, the mix was slower, less dynamics. So I was very disapointed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
Oh dear, this sound like another one of those 'bargain' amazon albums that don't sound quite right!

These are the songs I remember but sounding nothing like the Ozark Mountain Daredevils.

As a previous reviewer said, it sounds more like a bunch of session artists.

If I could, I would give a negative star rating. sadly I can only give a grudging 1 star.

Disappointing, steer clear and just buy the original albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Ordered via Amazon an easy method of shopping for music. Had the album on vinyl and wanted it on cd. As good as I remembered it !.
The cd was delivered free within 4 days.
Really pleased with the service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Brilliant, superb, effortlessly easy to either drift away to, or revel in the sublime event of listening to one of the very best, but sooo underrated American country rock outfits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
Stunning debut album from one of the most underrated bands in the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
highlyl recommended all on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.02

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)