Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Sublime Night, 18 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
It just doesn't get any better than this. A high quality live recording, great atmosphere at the Budokan Hall in Japan, a great backing band and Eric on top form throughout. If Eric's played a better set, I'd like to hear it. 'Double Trouble' still gets the hairs on my neck tingling even after buying the original tape version over 20 years ago. A must have for any Clapton fan or aspiring Blues musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh What a Night!, 14 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
Personally, I'm not too fond of live albums; alright, a gig is uncomparable to a studio album, but it's exactly for this reason that I think CDs generally fail to recapture the spirit of a massive venue. This does not account for Eric Clapton's "Just One Night", which was recorded during the late 70s somewhere in Japan; the resulting double-album is a pure pleasure to listen to. It's one of those rare live recordings that actually outshine the studio versions of the featured songs. The package, whose technical quality is as best as it can get, contains sublime performances of Clapton's early classics like "Cocaine", "Wonderful Tonight", "Lay Down Sally" and "Tulsa Time", and masterful renditions of blues tracks like "Blues Power", "Worried Life Blues" and "Rambling on My Mind". It doesn't even matter if you're a Clapton fan or not - DO add this one to your record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GUARANTEED TO RAMBLE YOUR MIND, 19 July 2012
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
I can't get over how good this live album is.

It is an almost certainty that there'd be one or two songs in any live concert that you don't like. But you won't find one here. Not one. Every track is the best track, until you hear the next one.

I am not an authority on Eric Clapton and I don't own any of his other albums, but on the assumption that you like Blues and Rock music, I can guarantee you an incredible listening experience with this live album. And if you are a guitarist or guitar fan, welcome to guitar heaven. What you'll hear is nothing short of incredible.

This is an album you'll wear out. They don't come any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best live album, 8 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
This is a classic CD. It was recorded in the late 70s when Clapton was on his highest status as both a legendary guitarist and singer. Most of the songs on this album are eight minutes long and half of each songs are Clapton's solos. If you are acquainted with Clapton's music then you will know that his solos are just too good. His improvisation skills as a blues artist has made him equal to B.B. King. He adds the beat to his music as well making it catchy and full of rhythm. Songs like 'Cocaine' and 'Further up on the road' on this album are just too exciting. It is the kind of music that sounds better the louder you hear it. Guitarists would definitely not be disappointed because you will appreciate every note he plays.
It ranks as the best live album by Clapton, alongside 24 nights. A must buy CD for fans of Clapton and guitarists cannot miss this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 3 April 2002
By 
Mr. Colin Rankin "Colin Rankin" (Braintree, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
This album must be the definitive live album.............the sheer clarity of sound and production quality is amazing.
That is before you come to the brilliance of the music..........just listen to Clapton's incredible guitar 'coda' to 'Double Trouble' which obviously whips up his Japanese audience..............let alone the sheer power of 'Tulsa Time', 'Cocaine'.......and of course,'Blues Power'.
This is simply the greatest live album I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 19 Jan. 2012
By 
Ms. June Guttridge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
I bought this for myself last year, my son borrowed it & loved it so much that I never did get it back. So I did the only sensible thing & bought another copy! If you like Clapton then you will love this, it's absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 26 years later, 17 April 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
I've got this album on my mp3 player, and everytime a track comes on I'm back in my vinyl days.

A mixture of Blues and Rock with Clapton regular Chris Stainton on Keyboards and Albert Lee on Guitar/Keyboards/Vocals.

From the first track Tulsa Time you know you're in for a good time. This is a proper live album, no overdubs, no backing tapes just 5 guys and great music.

Recorded in 1979 in Japan, neccessarily the sound quality isn't as polished as some might expect these days. Personally I prefer some rough edges and this double album gives it to you raw.

Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double disc delight!, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
This really has to be one of the best-sounding live albums you could ever wish to hear. With Eric in fine form and favouring Music Man amps at the time, his Fender Strat's tone is very clean and expressive and there's a real sense of excitement generated by the appreciative Japanese crowd.

Clapton is backed by his new, all-British, band - including the great Albert Lee whose guitar/vocals (& keyboard!) contribution is perfectly gauged throughout. The rhythm section of Henry Spinetti and Dave Markee needed no time to settle in and Chris Stainton on keyboards would become a mainstay of future lineups.

For the most part it's a fairly laid-back gig and starts off in relaxed style with "Tulsa Time" - so relaxed that a music journalist writing about the UK tour said that he had to check if Eric was wearing carpet slippers (he wasn't). But the highlights of the set for many are likely to be the five extended blues - all 7 or 8 mins. long - "Early In The Morning", "Worried Life Blues", "Double Trouble", "Rambling On My Mind" [/"Have You Ever Loved A Woman"] and "Further On Up The Road". Clapton's performance on "Double Trouble" is truly exceptional.

EC then generously defers to Albert Lee for his cover of Dire Straits' "Setting Me Up", which lightens the mood considerably. I was lucky enough to catch this album tour at Lancaster University Students' Union of all places and Eric clearly enjoyed himself on this one. If it seems a strange choice for Lee to cover, as I recall, he recorded it for his "Hiding" album (released the year after Dire Straits' début) as he enjoyed the song so much and it appeared, at the time, that their album would slip under the radar (!). EC and members of the Straits would team up later, at various times in the '80's.

Although arguably a 'safe' set in terms of song choices, other notable moments include the unusual live fade to "Lay Down Sally" - which works brilliantly and Clapton's quirky element in his solo on "Cocaine", which is followed by a great workout from Lee (although the sing-along chorus wouldn't suit drug-awareness week). There's some neat wah guitar from EC, particularly on "Blues Power". "Rambling On My Mind" comes complete with key changes and meanders into "Have You Ever Loved A Woman" before rambling back again. A frenetic "After Midnight" can seem OTT but injects some real pace and perhaps gave Eric the energy needed for his triumphant take on "Double Trouble" which follows.

If there is a criticism of the CD, it would have been great to have "Knockin' On Heaven's Door" included as a bonus track (this appeared later on "Time Pieces Vol II - 'Live' in the Seventies" and the 12" single re-release of "I Shot The Sheriff") ... just one night it may have been but what a night it was - an evening of pure musical pleasure captured brilliantly. This album puts you right in the front row. Turn down the lights and turn up the volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely electric, 20 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic CD. Lively, exciteing and truly fantastic from the first ten seconds. The sound quality is excellent as is the playing itself. Albert Lee sounds excellent on this album as well and clapton is on good form. Definately a very worthwhile album to have for any blues/rock fan but if you love clapton its essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a night!!!!!, 14 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One Night (Audio CD)
I would consider this live album as proberly one of the best ever live recordings. Like most Clapton listeners this man has the up most respect in the six string world but for me, after listening to this master piece my respect for him doubled. The one track i can't get out of my head is track one on disc two "Double Trouble", the guitar work is pure magic. Another bonus with this live recording is that the crowd are only vocal at the beginning and end of each track, apart from on the Cocaine track. This is a must buy if you are a Clapton fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just One Night
Just One Night by Eric Clapton (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews