Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Clapton's forgotten gems
Released in 1975, this is the follow up to the very successful 461 album. EC was trying to shake off his guitar God image during this period and concentrated on a more mellow sound which put some fans off as a result.
There's one in every crowd, in my opinion, is a hugely underrated album and is on e of Eric's best.
The album kicks off with a gospel sounding...
Published on 4 May 2004 by C. Sayer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laid Back Eric
This is perhaps best listened to as a laid back roots album rather than an `Eric Clapton' record, particularly if you are expecting blistering guitar solos.

Heard in that context, it's a good album, with one of EC's best songs and solos in Better Make it Through Today. The Sky is Crying and Little Rachel are other highlights but I don't care for the reggae...
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by Geoffrey Millar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Clapton's forgotten gems, 4 May 2004
By 
C. Sayer "chrissayer123" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: There's One In Every Crowd (Audio CD)
Released in 1975, this is the follow up to the very successful 461 album. EC was trying to shake off his guitar God image during this period and concentrated on a more mellow sound which put some fans off as a result.
There's one in every crowd, in my opinion, is a hugely underrated album and is on e of Eric's best.
The album kicks off with a gospel sounding number, "We've been told (Jesus coming soon) and then moves into "Swing Low Sweet Chariot" which will be the most familiar track to most.
"Little Rachel" is a rocking funky little number, and the band are tight as a nut on the entire album.
"Don't blame me" was written by EC and 2nd guitarist George Terry and is essentially the follow up to I shot the Sheriff.
Track number five is a good version of Elmore James "The sky is crying.", great vocals and slide guitar.
"Singin' the blues" is another great song,slightly rock/blues good backing vocals and nice solo.
What makes this album worth the 5 stars are the last 4 tracks, all written by EC and in my opinion 4 of the strongest songs he has written.
"Better make it through today" is beautiful with a peach of a solo.
"Pretty blues eyes" a great love song.
"High" was apparantly originally written for the aborted Derek and the Domino's album, starts of acoustically with a great electirc solo on the outro.
"opposites" another great song, very Beatles like on the outro, nice delicate slide work.
Okay this album doesnt contain blistering guitar work which made EC famous, but it does show the more mellow, song writter side, for which I feel he is underrated. The guitar work is there just more subtle. Buy this album you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's One In every Crowd: Eric Clapton - An album of opposite, 26 Aug 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: There's One In Every Crowd (Audio CD)
Picking up where 461 Ocean Boulevard left off, this album is an interesting if eclectic mix of tracks. Clapton still has a passion for good music, but is trying to distance himself a little from the guitar legend persona. As a result he takes on a whole range of styles, gospel, reggae and, because it wouldn't be a Clapton record without it, blues. The guitar is in the background, this is all about Clapton's choice of material and his singing. It's a laid back affair, with some great mellow grooves. It's not quite got the depth and passion of its predecessor, but it's not a bad album at all. And the album cover is one of my all time favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laid Back Eric, 23 Jun 2011
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is perhaps best listened to as a laid back roots album rather than an `Eric Clapton' record, particularly if you are expecting blistering guitar solos.

Heard in that context, it's a good album, with one of EC's best songs and solos in Better Make it Through Today. The Sky is Crying and Little Rachel are other highlights but I don't care for the reggae version of the traditional Swing Low Sweet Chariot. The musicians - the same as on 461 Ocean Boulevard - are in top form and co-wrote many of the songs with Eric.

Helped or otherwise by a rather dull and dry sound, this is low key by the standards of 461 Ocean Boulevard, its predecessor, and No Reason to Cry, which followed it, but it does grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 9 May 2001
By 
Mr. Colin Rankin "Colin Rankin" (Braintree, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's One In Every Crowd (Audio CD)
I genuinely like this album even if Claptons' soaring guitar has totally disappeared. Following on from the huge success of '461 Ocean Boulevard' it continued the laid-back Clapton that was the format for his next 3 albums. It does show a more mature and melodic style starting to develop and is no mean album as a result.The blues numbers,in particular,are beautifully demonstrated. A much underated album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting lyrics and chords, 31 Oct 2001
This review is from: There's One In Every Crowd (Audio CD)
Since c.1982 and the launch of CDs I have only ever re-bought music I already held on Cassette or Vinyl in three instances. This is one of them. At the risk of sounding like a candidate for pseud's corner, it's relaxing in that deep sort of way that leaves melodies gently simmering in your subconscious. My favourite track is Better Make It Through Today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best guitarist in the world? - there's one in every crowd..., 21 Sep 2008
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: There's One In Every Crowd (Audio CD)
Released in 1975 as the follow-up to "461 Ocean Boulevard" and featuring many of the same musicians, including George Terry on guitar and Carl Radle on bass, who were in his road band at the time. Although 461 got mainly good reviews (Melody maker slammed it but then voted it LP of the year!?!) and sold well, TOIEC sounds very similar but didn't fair so well in terms of sales or reviews.

It's a very laid back, tuneful record that contains some nice, wistful Clapton ballads including "High", "Better make it through the day" and "Opposites", which were an indication of the direction Clapton would take in the future. However, it does also contain some nicely played real blues in the shape of Elmore James "The sky is crying" and Blind Willie Johnson's "We've been told (Jesus coming soon)". I also like "Little Rachel" and "Swing low sweet chariot", in many ways these fairly basic songs were like songs being produced at the time by pub-rock bands and probably reflected Clapton's love of the Band. I enjoyed this record at the time and I think it has worn well, it has a good mix of songs and I think it was a successful attempt by Clapton to merge his blues roots with a more contemporary, commercial sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Clapton classic, 5 Mar 2014
By 
S. Taylor (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's One In Every Crowd (Audio CD)
some lovely songs and great playing...EC has followed up 461 Ocean Boulevard with a great album which will stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The cover says it all, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Alan Robert Lancaster (Forest Gate, London E7, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's One In Every Crowd (Audio CD)
This is Blues, isn't it! Add a bit of Gospel ("We've Been Told..." and "Swing Low Sweet Chariot") and you've got some listenable music to work to, tap your fingers on the chair arm, sit and stare at the spider weaving its web in the corner of the ceiling... Had it as a Music cassette and before that on vinyl. Just had to have it again, didn't I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable laid-back listen, 5 Oct 2013
This review is from: There's One In Every Crowd (Audio CD)
There's One In Every Crowd is one of those albums which is easy to overlook but is an enjoyable, laid-back, listen nonetheless. It also has some surprises in store. The two traditional numbers which open the album "We've Been Told (Jesus Is Coming Soon)" and "Swing Low Sweet Chariot", set the early tone with a gospel blues feel, which gets more rocky with Jim Byfield's "Little Rachel" and Mary McCreary's "Singin' The Blues" (Eric lets fly with a flury of notes in a great solo outro, although some of this is frustratingly submerged by the backing vocals). A cover of Elmore James' "The Sky Is Crying" puts EC even more firmly in his traditional blues territory: which leaves half of the album as Clapton originals ... "Don't Blame Me" (co-written with George Terry, who had introduced Eric to Bob Marley's Burnin' ) acts as a sequel to "I Shot The Sheriff", the reggae beat reinforced by Eric choosing to record in Jamaica. And it's the final four numbers which reveal how Eric had clearly been inspired to write by the success of his come-back. "Better Make It Through Today" is a real highlight, with a heartfelt lyric and a sublime guitar solo - short, not showy, but with so much feel ... . "Pretty Blue Eyes" has a starkly contrasting verse/chorus arrangement and "High" has a real sense of purpose to it - Eric really starts to let fly on his solo outro which is, again frustratingly, cut short by a sudden fade - almost as if he wasn't allowed to do that sort of thing anymore! It would be great to hear what happened next if it carried on in such spectacular style. The 1996 remastered-series version has no 'extras' (the track time suggests that "Opposites" is almost 10 seconds longer but it isn't). For those interested in such things, remastering duties were by Joseph M. Palmaccio - the previous CD release having been remastered by Dennis M. Drake. I'm rarely tempted to try to analyse differences in sound and to my ear there is sometimes a slight difference here but it's hard (for me, at least) to describe. In terms of presentation, both have a very basic 'booklet' which includes Eric's original painting; personally, I prefer the older presentation to the re-issue as it's closer to the original lp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's One In Every Crowd (Audio CD)
Another well produced Eric Clapton album. His unique style comes across in every track and well worth the money spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

There's One In Every Crowd
There's One In Every Crowd by Eric Clapton (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews