Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hotter than 99.9 degrees
If your image of Suzanne Vega is 'girl with guitar', then this is the album to change your mind. Its mostly intense, noisy and rhythmic from the opening scream of 'Birth day' onwards. There's a wide musical palette anchored around Mitchell Froom, her producer & husband. This CD builds and extends 99.9 degrees, and is even better. Her song lyrics are pared and...
Published on 14 Feb 2000 by Geoff Batchelor

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars It just won't do
By the time she returned to form in 2007 she'd done too much dross like this. Misguided. Unmusical. Annoying. Pointless.
Published 11 months ago by Neil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hotter than 99.9 degrees, 14 Feb 2000
By 
Geoff Batchelor (Baildon, W Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nine Objects Of Desire (Audio CD)
If your image of Suzanne Vega is 'girl with guitar', then this is the album to change your mind. Its mostly intense, noisy and rhythmic from the opening scream of 'Birth day' onwards. There's a wide musical palette anchored around Mitchell Froom, her producer & husband. This CD builds and extends 99.9 degrees, and is even better. Her song lyrics are pared and pointed, with out the sheer wordiness that some of her earlier albums had. This is great stuff, and I hope she keeps going like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Softer and More Refined Vega!, 12 Oct 2006
By 
Morten Vindberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nine Objects Of Desire (Audio CD)
This was Suzanne Vega's second album produced by Mitchell Froom. There is a great variation in moods and styles and Froom obviously has a great skill of giving Vega's songs inventive arrangements without ruining them with over-production.

This album is a natural follow-up the very experimental album "99.9 F" which had a lot of odd sounds and rhythms. You find quite a lot of the same things here, but the overall impression is that of a softer and more refined album.

What make Suzanne Vega's albums so good is the songs and her soft voice; what makes her albums great is the perfectionism in which the songs are arranged and produced. Both elements are present on this album, which may very well turn out to be her most satisfying and enduring.

A handful of these songs would have fitted nicely into "99.9 F"; "Birthday", "Stockings", "Casual Match", "No Cheap Thrill" and "Lolita" . Among them my favourites are "Stockings", with great sensual lyrics, "No Cheap Thrill" and the almost heavy "Birthday".

On other tracks a more refined touch is apparent. "Caramel" is a latin-inspired great tune with a tasteful hornarrangement. "My favourite Plum" is another memorable song with a beautiful string arrangement. "World Before Columbus" are "Honeymoon Suite" two acoustic songs with Vega playing the guitar. I particularly like the thought-provoking lyrics of "Honeymoon Suite".

"Headshots" is another favourite.

Least appealing are the jazzy track "Tombstone" and the riff-based "Casual Match" and "Lolita"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album you should desire..., 22 Jan 2004
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nine Objects Of Desire (Audio CD)
At Just over a decade since her eponymous debut album, “Nine objects of Desire” album shows that none of the interesting wordplay of that collection has gone.
Now the music has more of a sophisticated feel than the debut had, this is the influence of her now ex-husband “Mitchell Froom”.
Along with the drum work of “Jerry Marotta”, the drummer who has worked for “Robbie Robertson”, “Peter Gabriel” and "Steely Dan" in his long and varied career as a session player. His drumming against the keyboard playing of “Mr Froom” creates the perfect foil for the lyrics and vocals of “Ms Vega”.
The first thing that I noticed about this album was how “big” the sound is, every sound that matters is larger than normal.
I don’t know if that’s the way that “Mitchell Froom’s” partner in recording, one “Tchad Blake” who has also worked in past on recording sessions by “Los Lobos” and “Ron Sexsmith”, has recorded and mixed this album but the overall sound of the whole collection is excellent. The resulting recording session was mastered by another of my favourite audio wizards, one “Bob Ludwig”.
As the opening track begins “Birthday (love made real)” the passage of time that separates this album from the debut of 1985 disappears, the familiar wordplay that attracted me to the artist in first place is still there but now the music now lives up to the words. The sound of the tracks continues the feel of the previous album “99.9F” with the same layers of percussion and keyboard sounds.
The best example of this on the album for me is the song “Causal Match” with it’s use of a “drum loop” drums and percussion and huge sounding keyboards against the chorus of “A Casual Match, In a very dry season, Fire and ash, Is the season’s yield”, a very impressive song that’s only second to the track released as a single “No Cheap Thrill” has all the elements in huge amounts to spare. If the track had been played more on “Day Time” radio the track would have been a huge hit in my humble opinion.
The last 3 tracks on the album are more like the style of her Debut album, more folk than funk of the new style.
In less than 40 minutes with these 12 vignettes, “Suzanne Vega” has covered more subjects than some more popular artists do in a whole recording career, this is album not to be over looked by music fans…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album of desire�(corrected version), 26 Jan 2005
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nine Objects Of Desire (Audio CD)
At Just over a decade since her eponymous debut album, "Nine objects of Desire" album shows that none of the interesting wordplay of that collection has gone.
Now the music has more of a sophisticated feel than the debut had, this is the influence of her now ex-husband Mitchell Froom.
Along with the drum work of Jerry Marotta, this player has worked for the likes of Robbie Robertson, Peter Gabriel, Steely Dan and Ron Sexsmith in his long and varied career as a session man.
His drum work against the keyboard playing of Mr Froom creates the perfect foil for the lyrics and vocals of Ms Vega.
The first thing that I noticed about this album was how "big" the sound is, every sound that matters is larger than normal.
I don't know if that's the way that Mitchell Froom's partner in recording, one Tchad Blake who has also worked in past on recording sessions by Los Lobos and Ron Sexsmith, has recorded and mixed this album but the overall sound of the whole collection is excellent.
The resulting recording sessions have been mastered by another of my favourite audio wizards one Bob Ludwig.
As the opening song begins "Birthday (love made real)" the passage of time that separates this album from the debut of 1985 disappears, the familiar wordplay that attracted me to the artist in first place is still there but now the music now lives up to the words. The sound of the tracks continues the feel and sound of the previous album "99.9F" with the same layers of percussion and keyboard sounds.
The best example of this on the album for me is the track "Causal Match" with it's use of a "drum loop" drums and percussion and huge sounding keyboards against the chorus of "A Casual Match, In a very dry season, Fire and ash, Is the season's yield", a very impressive song that's only second to the track that was released as a single "No Cheap Thrill" which has all the same elements in large amounts to spare.
If the song had been played more on "Day Time" radio the track would have been a huge hit in my opinion.
The last 3 tracks on the album are more like the style of her Debut album, more folk than funk of the new style.
In less than 40 minutes with these 12 vignettes, Suzanne Vega has covered more subjects than some more popular artists do in a whole recording career, this is album not to be over looked by music fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: Nine Objects Of Desire (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of Vega and this album sort of moves away from her usual stripped down sound of vocal & guitar. Its a much fuller sound with more instruments but sounds utterly superb through a decent system. The songs are varied and with quirky lyrics. Outstanding tracks for me are Stockings & Headshots. Worth a punt , go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It just won't do, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Objects Of Desire (Audio CD)
By the time she returned to form in 2007 she'd done too much dross like this. Misguided. Unmusical. Annoying. Pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Susan return to form, 14 Jun 2013
By 
A. J. Harknett (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Objects Of Desire (Audio CD)
Stronger material slight change of style but for me it works well . some good music here , give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 9 objects, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: Nine Objects Of Desire (Audio CD)
lovely stuff, esp. track 3: can bring tears to the eyes. What a smooth voice! Just right for her own material. anyone else like her?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 9 Nov 2007
By 
H. Popeck "bigaitch" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nine Objects Of Desire (Audio CD)
One of her two finest. AND I agree with all the other reviews here too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nine Objects Of Desire
Nine Objects Of Desire by Suzanne Vega (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews