Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic debut!
This album, released in early 1996, is one of those magnificent pieces of work that hardly ages and seems as fresh now, as the day it was released. The album is full of songs that, although would be unlikely to hold their own in the singles chart, as a whole fit together in a charming melodic style. The two stand-out tracks are undoubtedly "Bluetonic" and...
Published on 14 Nov. 1999

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT a deluxe 'box set'!!! Cheap imitation to original artwork of this classic album - NOT the Expanded package it deserves!
Firstly, as the title notes, this new 'Expanded' edition of the bluetones' classic 1996 debut is NOT a box set as amazon misleads. The set is, sadly, presented cheaply in plastic jewel case. Yes, the bonus CD is great, and so, along with the original album, is nothing short of 5-stars, but whoever created this so-called deluxe set is short-changing the band, and its fans...
Published on 14 Mar. 2009 by Warrior


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect debut, 16 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (Audio CD)
'Expecting to Fly' went beyond my expectations.I got the cd on the basis of hearing 'Slight Return' & hearing another single that hasn't been featured on the band's 3 albums('Marblehead Johnson').Mark Morriss' singing voice is very smooth,not scratchy like Ian Brown's from the Stone Roses.His voice is soothing even on few 'louder' tracks,such as 'Putting Out Fires'.'Talking to Clarry' is wonderful start to ETF,featuring a wonderful melody change in the middle of the song.With 'Bluetonic' you can't help singing along with Mark,his lyrics are very clever.This album is highly recommended for anyone who loves guitar music,decent lyrics that you can understand,melodies that will stay in your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 11 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (Audio CD)
This ranks in the top five albums I have. I too bought this a while ago and still love EVERY track on it. The sound quality and production are second to none and the more you listen to it the better it sounds. What more can I say .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Expecting to fly? well back when it was released it did fly off the shelves., 19 May 2008
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (Audio CD)
Deservedly so to as it is a fine album. A great debut from a great band whose sales but not talent have diminished. Slight return the big single off the album is in my opinion one of the weaker tracks here. Some songs are simple pop melodies others are very touching and some very biting and very clever. Mark Morriss is a subtle and very clever lyricist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite take off with their debut...but no crash landing either, 22 May 2007
By 
P. Loraine "LFEE" (Gateshead-UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (Audio CD)
I have never totally agreed with The Stone Roses comparisons and the albums that followed this one only went to highlight this. Never as cool or as much swagger. One thing they did have in common was the standards of there songwriting. Not as widescreen perhaps with the anthems more on the minor side but very good all the same. A good debut that certainly improves with repeated listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear these songs again, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (MP3 Download)
Great to hear these songs again. Definitely one. of their better albums , and even today though music has changed in a variety of ways, they still sound great. which is a sign of good material. I think `Slight return` has to be one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good cd, 11 May 2013
By 
M. E. Osborne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (Audio CD)
this is one of my all time favourite cd's from one of my favourite bands. the last chance saloon is also worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jangle heaven, 19 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (Audio CD)
I bought this Album after I watched The Bluetones on Jools Holland in 1996 and I was blown away by the guitarist. I was learning to play at the time and I thought, one day I want to be able to play like that. Five years later I can and everything I write revolves around that jangle vein. Every song on this album is class, the same yet very different. I love the words, guitars, drums and bass. Theres no big orchestra behind them, its just brillantly played guitar pop. There are the singles, Bluetonic, cut some rug, slight return, they are absolute brilliance, but then there is tracks like a Parting Gesture, which have so much charm and character to them. Ok, nuff said, buy it and love it all your life. PS It's in the same mould as the Stone Roses debut, for those who haven't heard the Bluetones before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT a deluxe 'box set'!!! Cheap imitation to original artwork of this classic album - NOT the Expanded package it deserves!, 14 Mar. 2009
By 
Warrior (Parts Unknown) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (Audio CD)
Firstly, as the title notes, this new 'Expanded' edition of the bluetones' classic 1996 debut is NOT a box set as amazon misleads. The set is, sadly, presented cheaply in plastic jewel case. Yes, the bonus CD is great, and so, along with the original album, is nothing short of 5-stars, but whoever created this so-called deluxe set is short-changing the band, and its fans with the cheap packaging and also, the cheap imitation of the original album artwork! The original CD had the proper bluetones logo visible throughout, and on a clear sticker. This set, has the logo in a different text style, which was first seen on their 3rd album, so is not of the era! The text style used throught the artwork has been changed also, and along with the cover, and inner photos looking like poor quality copies of the original, leaves one feeling this album has not been given the deluxe treatment it deserves! look at The Who's 'deluxe' albums for example - they are very well presented, with ORIGINAL artwork and in deluxe card digipaks! This set is simply a cheap way to re-release the album, and so is a BIG let down. That said, the music is great, so being picky about how the record company has lamely put this together is bit pointless, when most so-called music fans now simply download tracks. These are not music fans, and so are evil, as they are the reason music and record chains - independent and big - are disappearing from high streets! Viva la vinyl - keep music physical - not digital!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Is NOT Remastered!!!, 15 Mar. 2009
By 
Jonathan B. Cohen (Sleepersburg, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (Audio CD)
Do not buy this reissue if you're looking for a remastered version of the main album. It is NOT remastered. The booklet makes no mention of it being remastered, and after a side-by-side listen, I can confirm it's identical to the original release. Amazon should revise the product description immediately!

The liner notes are pretty brief, so the bonus CD is the only real draw here. Your money would be better spent downloading the bonus tracks via 7digital or someplace similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BREATHTAKING!!, 1 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Expecting To Fly (Audio CD)
I first got the album back in 1997, and ive been listening to it on a regular basis ever since! Some of the tracks managed to make the hairs on my neck stand up. Tracks such as Bluetonic, Carnt Be Trusted and Slight Return are testiments to this. Then there's the genius of Putting Out Fires which starts calm and suddenly explodes into an all out Indie frenzy! Brilliant!!!! Advice: Buy the album, put it on full blast and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Expecting To Fly
Expecting To Fly by Bluetones (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews