Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow just mellow
The first of Crow's albums and I hasten to add not necessarily her best. Unlike a lot of people with ability she does not wane after the first successful album. Her "Globe Sessions", is, I would say as good if not better than this one. She does not seem to have fallen for the glitz and fame trap so often visited upon many singer/songwriters although there was a bit of a...
Published on 1 Dec 2009 by Frank Bierbrauer

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thrown together
Okay, so I love the album. And I knew the second CD were b-sides that weren't going to be as strong as the album, but they're pretty good and worth getting. But don't buy this for the sake of the DVD. The quality of audio is terrible, most seems recorded on a home video camera. You see better footage on youtube.

Don't buy this for the DVD.
Published on 22 Jan 2010 by GJR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thrown together, 22 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, so I love the album. And I knew the second CD were b-sides that weren't going to be as strong as the album, but they're pretty good and worth getting. But don't buy this for the sake of the DVD. The quality of audio is terrible, most seems recorded on a home video camera. You see better footage on youtube.

Don't buy this for the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow just mellow, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Frank Bierbrauer (Manchester, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first of Crow's albums and I hasten to add not necessarily her best. Unlike a lot of people with ability she does not wane after the first successful album. Her "Globe Sessions", is, I would say as good if not better than this one. She does not seem to have fallen for the glitz and fame trap so often visited upon many singer/songwriters although there was a bit of a slide in her second album. This one is very good indeed with my favourite "Strong Enough" simply not to be beaten, still her best song I believe with its raw emotion and honesty. This album also doesn't fail to widen her horizons by involving aspects of jazz blues and folk/rock. The songs surprise with originality and I still listen to it regularly. Very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably her finest., 24 Jan 2010
By 
A. B. Hinds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unlike any of her other albums, this one I can take out and play again and again; her second and third albums are good too but after that...
Anyway, you can't go wrong with this album at all. I first heard it playing in the background of a restaraunt on the Pride Of Bilbao cruise liner in 1995 and just had to buy it when I got home.
Apart from All I wanna Do and Run Baby Run, my favourite track is What I Can Do for You, and you will have your favourite too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally someone hits the right groove, 18 Mar 2001
This review is from: Tuesday Night Music Club (Audio CD)
This album, in a word, in excellent. It's incitive, soulful lyrics and mellow yet groovy guitar licks slide over your body and soul making them pulsate with pleasure. It is an album to chill out to, to groove to and to get funky to (well. some of the tracks anyway). A definite for any of the music lovers who just like good, well engineered music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One to crow about!, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tuesday Night Music Club (Audio CD)
Has a lovely country sound and casual feel to it with some quite soulful tracks mixed in there as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD. Early Sheryl at her best., 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tuesday Night Music Club (Audio CD)
Early Sheryl Crow at her best. A must for any Crow fans out there. Includes the classic "all I wanna do"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - best track missing though!, 20 Sep 2010
OK so we know it's a great album, but how on earth, on a so-called "Deluxe" edition, could they miss off the single remix of "All I Wanna Do" which, after all, is the track that kicked off her career in the first place.

Those familiar with the album will know the country-tinged version. The single remix put the heavy slide guitars back much further in the mix, and hardened the overall sound making it much more poppy and accessible.

It was this remix that shot up the UK charts like a dog after a rabbit, and yet that mix is absent here.

That's it really. Sorry I just had to vent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 11 min-movies..., 20 Jan 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tuesday Night Music Club (Audio CD)
Sheryl Crow started life as a back-up singer for the likes of "Michael Jackson" during his 1987 "BAD" tour. Six years later she released this album.
With "Bill Bottrell" as her producer Ms Crow found a guiding light to help her with first album.
This is a starlingly assured album from this "Missouri" raised singer-song-writer, her tunes are a delightful cross between rock and soul.
The characters that peolpe her scenarios are at the end of their tether in dead-end American streets, with her ability to kick start songs with openings like "Took your car/Drove to Texas/Sorry,honey/But I suspected we were through" and then flesh them out into compassionate yet rigorously observed mini-movies.This makes this an album that can be played over and over again and the listener will not get bored,this is one of these "essential" albums that all music fans should have on their racks,it's a keeper...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time classic album, ignore at your peril!, 18 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tuesday Night Music Club (Audio CD)
If I had to choose an album with which to be buried this would be the one. The soulful lyrics and laid back skill with which the styles on the album are dealt with makes me want to listen again and again. If I do not listen to this at least once, all the way through, every other day, I miss it (and I've had this album since 1995!). Every track is a winner, the stand out one for me being Leaving Las Vegas. If you have eclectic musical taste and like the very best music from most genre then you can't go wrong with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll please, 30 Nov 2002
By 
Farfalla (MA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tuesday Night Music Club (Audio CD)
Sheryl Crow's first album, the Tuesday Night Music Club offers plenty of hope to the fans of rock and roll that their is something happening in that dimly lit and not so prosperous branch of music. Crow offers plenty of fare fit for singles, but the music is held down by a gritty feel, and the songs tell small vignettes from life or imagination. There are plenty of catchy little hooks in the music, but the over-all feel is not that of a pop album. Rather, the entire effect is a bit rough around the edges. This is perhaps the best of Crow's studio albums to date, and should be on the shelf of every music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tuesday Night Music Club
Tuesday Night Music Club by Sheryl Crow (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews