Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars13
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2001
Wow! This release is excellant. If you're a JS fan then this will seem like a gift from the gods. Rare, demo and live tracks from the guitar hero. The live tracks make this an essential purchase alone. The magical interplay between Satriani, Hamm and Mover is mind blowing! To hear 3 masters of their instruments jelling together like this is very rare and an absolute pleasure to listen to. If you're not a JS fan, then I'd say you'd be better of with 'Surfing' or 'Flying' as an introduction. But this is essential for any JS (or guitar) fan.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
Satriani is in my opinion, one of the finest guitarists around. He can compose some great tunes, from several different genres, and has a dazzling technique on his guitar which actually contributes itself to the melodies, rather than just sounding like guitar played really fast for the sake of it. It is definitely one of his better attributes in the fairly limited 'Guitar album' market.
The Time machine is a 2 CD set, which contains one CD of live performances of some of his more wll-known tunes, and the other containing new material.
The live CD is brilliant. Well recorded, and diverse. The songs are not note-for-note repeats of the studio takes, and there is a lot more passion and expression in them.
The new material CD also features some great stuff, much of which shows a more experimental side to Satriani's compositions. Not all the songs will appeal to everyone, whether they're fans of Satriani or not, but there are tunes here that are indicative of his style. There's the obligatory 'surf' song, fast-paced up-tempo radio-friendly rock, some tasteful acoustic music, and some off-the wall compositions that make up a good variety of music for Satriani fans.
It is, however not the easiest album to get into. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who's never heard of Satriani, or who 'kind of' likes his stuff. If you're expecting loads of interesting and dazzling guitar work set to some cracking compositions, though, you could do a lot worse than this....
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
1 cd studio, 1 cd live...what's not to like. That completes the collection of Satriani studio albums. Now for the rest of the live recordings and the G3 cds. Thanks Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
once again one or two great tracks that really take u up into a time machine
but once there, there really isnt much else on his album
perhaps lost in time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Awesome album from one of the worlds greatest guitarists and a true musician which shows in the songs on this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
JOE IS A LEGEND. A CD FULL OF GREAT AND OBSCURE TRACKS AND A LIVE CD. A MUST FOR FANS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Satriani at his best. Very quickly service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
Great amazon Cloud App have yet to use it a bit more I recommend some Joe Satriani and other great music sush as Vixen, Taylor Swift any good Christmas Albums etc.
I looked up on YouTube how to Sync music to iTunes from the Amazon Cloud Player I also found it really useful as I didn't know it currently says it's not compatible with iPad. But however if you go to the iPad and iPhone Apps, which I think on iPad 3 it'll only work if you've updated the iOS Operating System for Apple Devices.
Which is free to update if you were notified with say a number 1 in the corner on the App Store App then if you open it go to updates it'll tell you there. Any available updates or even if it's all up to date.
If I can get this Time Machine put on the Music App it will play offline. Merry Xmas and thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2003
The live recordings are absolutely amazing in every way, shape and form. The only problem is the the 1st Cd, The studio recordings are way below average for what we might expect of Joe satriani. The only possible exceptions to this are "speed of light" and "woodstock jam" To me the guitaring on any of the tracks apart from the ones already mentioned are pretty dismal. However despite this it is a good album. full of rare and good performances, i just dont think the studio recordings did J.S justice.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)