Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at The Plugged Nickel
Someone once said that holding a book is like holding a garden in your hand, well holding this box set is a bit like that - a few days before Christmas 1965 - can you imagine what Chicago must have been like? Deep in the Plugged Nickel Miles' 2nd great quintet decide that they will produce as good a jazz as there has ever been over two nights, then go home for Christmas...
Published on 2 July 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly over-rated
I thought I'd add this review in just to give a more balanced view of the legendary Plugged Nickel sessions, and help those that don't have it worry a little less about owning this collection.

I also bought this the first day it came out. As a young pro jazz musician I was eager to hear what was inside this long hidden Aladdin's cave of musical jewels. I was a...
Published 10 months ago by J. Higham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at The Plugged Nickel, 2 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Live At The Plugged Nickel 1965 (Audio CD)
Someone once said that holding a book is like holding a garden in your hand, well holding this box set is a bit like that - a few days before Christmas 1965 - can you imagine what Chicago must have been like? Deep in the Plugged Nickel Miles' 2nd great quintet decide that they will produce as good a jazz as there has ever been over two nights, then go home for Christmas or whatever, i don't know... But in this box is music as rich varied and rewarding as you'll find anywhere on this great earth. The track list might look repetative but what they are playing is almost nominal, its like complainig if an explorer took two ships that were built the same and then pointed them in unknown, but different directions!
Sure this box is a commitment but its a garden in your hand to treasure until you get to meet miles for real. I can't wait to hear this music for the 100th, 200th time i love it in a i want to get old with it way - and it was more or less another gig for the 2nd great quintet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars supreme miles, 3 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Live At The Plugged Nickel 1965 (Audio CD)
This set must be the best live jazz ever recorded. Miles had just come out of hospital (hip replacement) & sounds really excited at playing again - especially with such supremely good musicians. Everything abt this music is fluid - pitch, harmony, time (especially) - tony williams is the driving creative force - but miles controls with such gentle mastery that the whole thing coheres - it could so readily have slipped into rambling self-indulgence. Each repeated track sounds so unlike the previous that you'd be forgiven for not realising what they're improvising on. Each musician is at his creative peak (except perhaps herbie) & the recording is excellent. This may seem like an expensive investment but I can guarantee you'll not be disappointed - it replays constant relistening - one of the few recordings you'll never tire of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly over-rated, 12 Jan 2014
By 
J. Higham "joehigham" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Live At The Plugged Nickel 1965 (Audio CD)
I thought I'd add this review in just to give a more balanced view of the legendary Plugged Nickel sessions, and help those that don't have it worry a little less about owning this collection.

I also bought this the first day it came out. As a young pro jazz musician I was eager to hear what was inside this long hidden Aladdin's cave of musical jewels. I was a little disappointed to say the least. The music is brimming over with energy and the band is killing, that much is true. However, what a lot of fans seem to blatantly ignore is that one person is ruining the whole thing........Miles!

There are many stories about Miles at this period and especially how the Plugged Nickel session was a kind of 'end of an era' type of thing. Miles hadn't been playing much as was his style at the time, party hard and play jazz later - all this can be read in his various biographies. This shows up on the Plugged Nickel where quite frankly what you hear is a musician whose chops are not 'on form'. His phrases are short, not well developed and his tone thin and hesitant. Just listen to any of the other albums from that period - there are live bootlegs around also - E.S.P, Nefertiti etc. His playing is glorious on those records, beautiful tone, phrasing, lines, rhythm, it's all there. But not on these evenings recorded here!

Of course the others - young cats ready to burn - were happy to play, as young players always are. Wayne Shorter - if I remember correctly - was drunk on one of the evenings, which probably accounts for some great 'wild' playing. Herbie, Ron and Tony played with burning conviction.

So, my opinion is that if you don't own the box set DON'T spend mega-bucks on it. Wait until it comes out as a cheap version, or just borrow it from a friend and enjoy listening to it over a couple of weeks whilst reading the copious liner notes. Then give it back having enjoyed finally hearing this legendary session.

I should maybe add that the box set has some great liner notes, photos, and other interesting stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make it Available Again, 2 Dec 2010
By 
Chris H (Hove, Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Live At The Plugged Nickel 1965 (Audio CD)
I do not know if anybody has made the comparison but this set is like Bach's cantatas. You can lose yourself in it, hear it over and over again without tiring, and always find more.

One of Miles's greatest works. So why does Sony no longer have it available? Especially when some of the sets have been reissued at a cheaper price in long boxes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Sony, do the right thing!, 10 Dec 2010
By 
The Brother (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Live At The Plugged Nickel 1965 (Audio CD)
This is truly great music. I had the box and it was stolen. It is now selling for £200 in the second hand market. I can't be the only one longing for Sony to re-release it. As other reviewers have said, many less important sessions are widely available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good delivery, 6 Nov 2009
By 
W. Spoelstra "Skate happy" (The Hague, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Live At The Plugged Nickel 1965 (Audio CD)
I would advice to give more detailled information about The Complete Live at the Plugged Nickel 1965.
There seems to be edtions with 7 and 8 cd's.
This was a guess for me. Lucky for me it was with 8 cd's.

See for examples on the site from amazone.com.us with better information description.

Greetings,

Wybo Spoelstra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Live At The Plugged Nickel 1965
The Complete Live At The Plugged Nickel 1965 by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews