Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariah's stunning vocal range shown once again!!, 30 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
In one of Maraih's most critically acclaimed albums yet she manages to somehow create a balance of moving, powerful ballads and uptempo, funky RnB. The hit single Fantasy takes a sample from "Genious of Love" and miraculously turns it into a RnB hit of the nineties, moving on to slower ballads such as Underneath the Sky, which fully displays the octave range of this incredible singer. Other must listen to tracks include "Open Arms" and "one Sweet Day" with Boyz to Men which spent an incredible 16 weeks on top of the U.S charts! Well Done Mariah, the best yet in my opinion!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars uplifting and positve, 29 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
This was the first Mariah Carey album that I bought and I love it! It is Defiantly worth buying as it has so many superb tracks on it, including the original version of Fantasy, One sweet day and my favourite Always be my baby. I can guarantee you that if you are a Mariah Carey fan you could listen to this album hundreds of times and still never get tired of it. If you are not a fan it is a great first album to buy and get hooked on. This album is so uplifting and positive that it is bound to make you feel good just by listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mariah at her best, 4 Mar 2004
By 
Steven Tillsley "rtillsley" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
DAYDREAM is in my opinion one of Mariahs best albums, or at least her most consistenst album because it does not have a bad song on it! The whole of the album has a very laid back slow pace to it because it is fairly ballad heavy, however there are some good songs on it that offer an upbeat pace.
Daydream contains some of Mariahs most beautiful songs, such as the dreamy UNDERNEATH THE STARS. I can not emphasize enough how much i love this song as it simply drifts over you like a wave, or to use some lyrics from the song, "a warm gently breeze". The words and the music to the song are both perfect and very beautiful and make me feel like i am one of the people she is talking about within the song.
Other beautiful songs include the powerful OPEN ARMS, which gives Mariah a chance to show off some impressive vocals, and the slinky and sexy mid-tempo numbers MELT AWAY and LONG AGO.
There are of course a few upbeat tracks, such as FANTASY which is probably one of her most popular songs and is a great track to open the album with.
The other main singles, ONE SWEET DAY and ALWAYS BE MY BABY are also both brilliant songs. The latter is perhaps not her most experimental song, but it is incredibly catchy and possibly the easiest of her songs to learn the words to. ONE SWEET DAY is yet another of her 'beautiful' songs in which she maages to integrate her vocals brilliantly with Boys to Men, who were of course already harmonized. All the voices on this track work together well to create a wonderful sound.
As i have said, this is one of Mariahs strongest albums and is a well put together collection of songs that i would recomend to anyone who apreciates beautiful songs sung in a beautiful voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blissful Daydream of an album!, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
One of Mariah's stronger albums - fantastic! This album and the Butterfly album are for me the best of her career to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At her Best!, 1 May 2009
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
This is easily a favourite of Mariah Carey's album, but comes second to Music Box. Great singles including Fantasy, one sweet day and always be my baby, this album goes down as being one of the greatest albums of the 90's with over 10 million albums sold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very nice album, 10 Jan 2008
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
A very nice album, around the time she started moving into RnB and was a good sound at the time and still a good sound today.One of the things I love about Mariah Carey is that ok you hear the singles which are good like one sweet day, fantasy, always be my baby, but in most cases the album songs which didnt get released are even better for example melt away one of her best songs ever, underneath the stars and forever- so beautiful. Even her bonus tracks and B sides are good like Slipping away the B side to always be my baby which is probably her best song ever. So I would always buy a Mariah album even if the first few singles are not so good because the album is usually much better. Another beautiful album. Only 4 stars as she has made better albums and this should be rewarded but this is still very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Daydream, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
This is one of the best Mariah's album, her voice here was so perfect and her songs were amazing! It has many highlights like : One Sweet Day (Song of the Decade -90's- for Billboard) , Underneath the Stars , When I Saw You , Fantasy etc
If you like Mariah Carey YOU MUST have it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like being beneath the stars ., 22 Sep 2010
By 
Julia Havard "Heights47" (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
This for me is a favourite wether your a Mariah fan or not this album is so sublime and washes over you with the feeling of silk. Mariah's song writing and change in direction make the album what it is where as previous albums sounded rather contrived And dull Daydream is fire and ice rythm and blues and so much more a fantastic album by a very good artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 19 Jan 2010
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums Mariah Carey has done, if you like to listen to all the old tunes then this is the one to buy
** Lots of slow tunes **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and Relaxing., 9 Aug 2008
By 
Alex (Bromsgrove, Worcs, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Daydream (Audio CD)
1. Fantasy. 10/10
2. Underneath the Stars. 9/10
3. One Sweet Day. 9/10
4. Open Arms. 10/10
5. Always Be My Baby. 10/10
6. I Am Free. 9/10
7. When I Saw You. 10/10
8. Long Ago. 10/10
9. Melt Away. 9/10
10. Forever. 10/10
11. Daydream Interlude (Fantasy Sweet Dub Mix). 9/10
12. Looking In. 9/10

OVERALL GRADE: 10/10
Mariah Carey sure knows how to construct an album. She places herself between R&B and Adult Contemporary. From the brilliant dance of "Fantasy" and "Always Be My Baby" to the smooth R&B of the Boys II Men duet "One Sweet Day", this is one of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5bf4ee8)

This product

Daydream
Daydream by Mariah Carey (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews