Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof (if it was needed) that Miles never made a bad record!
I've always believed that Miles' supposed 'comeback' (after, possibly, his worst brush with drugs) was his most fruitful period -- and this CD certainly represents some of the best work he ever produced in a recording studio.
There's also something purely magical about the work he did with Gil Evans; and, I feel, the larger ensemble seems, somehow, to support Miles...
Published on 12 Jun 2004 by S. Ward

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big band Davis from 1957
A good listen.
The Gil Evans arrangements are impressive.
Kurt Weil's 'My Ship' is a highlight.
Remastered soung is excellent.
Published 17 months ago by allenr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof (if it was needed) that Miles never made a bad record!, 12 Jun 2004
By 
S. Ward (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Ahead (Audio CD)
I've always believed that Miles' supposed 'comeback' (after, possibly, his worst brush with drugs) was his most fruitful period -- and this CD certainly represents some of the best work he ever produced in a recording studio.
There's also something purely magical about the work he did with Gil Evans; and, I feel, the larger ensemble seems, somehow, to support Miles in a way that, sometimes, a smaller group may not.
Anyone into Miles will already own this in some form or another... -- but, if you've always been intrigued by the myth that is Miles Dewey Davis III, then this (or the later 'Kind of Blue') is possibly the best introduction (...in my humble opinion!).
[A jazz fan dies and goes to heaven; and, when he gets to the Pearly Gates, St. Peter asks him where he'd like to go first -- so the guy says he'd like to go to a jazz club.
When they get to the one St. Peter recommends, there's all sorts of people sitting at the bar, listening to the music -- Dizzy, Duke, Bird, Cannonball, etc. -- but at the far end is a guy in a dazzling, well-cut suit, wearing shades and smoking.
"Who's that?" asks the guy.
"It's God," says St. Peter: "He thinks he's Miles Davis."]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just lovin' Miles Davis, 24 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. J. E. Styler "bayleaf269" (Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miles Ahead (Audio CD)
Loving the music of Miles Davis. bought a few of the classic albums and thought I'd finished buying when I saw Miles Davis at the Isle of Wight Festival recently on Sky Arts (TV) whereby they showed Miles and co. playing Bitches Brew and interviewing Herbie Hancock, Carlos Santana etc. and that encouraged me to buy some of the albums I hadn't got, Miles Ahead being one of several. Check out also "in a Silent Way, On the Corner, and ESP. Great listening!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites, 21 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Miles Ahead (Audio CD)
And much of the credit for that should go to Gil Evans. The balance between Miles and the other musicians (a much larger group than he normally played with) is superb. Some may find the changes of tempo and tracks seemingly falling into one another a little disorienting, personally I find them intreaguing and delightful. There is so much going on here, such an intricate web of tone, melody and tempo that each time I hear this album it sweeps me away. I highly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gil & Miles....A force to be reckoned with!!, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Miles Ahead (Audio CD)
There is just something magical about the Partnership of Gil Evans & Miles Davis. They inspire one another , love one another , compete against one another & most importantly.....Think like one another. Everything they touch turns to gold. "Miles Ahead" is a sophisticated masterpiece. Beautiful on the ear and touches the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic young Mile Davis performance, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Ahead (Audio CD)
This recording, either in vinyl or on CD, should be part of every jazz lover's collection. The CD has the bonus of additional tracks not available on the original
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Davis/Evans Collaboration, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miles Ahead (Audio CD)
This 1957 album was the first recording collaboration between Miles Davis and Gil Evans since the 1949/50 recording sessions which fed into Davis' legendary nonet recording Birth Of The Cool (also released in 1957). For the recording of Miles Ahead, the pair put together a 19-piece (20-piece with Davis) band (or perhaps jazz orchestra) and recorded 10 compositions which Evans arranged and edited into a single unbroken suite. Whilst paying tribute to the approach adopted by the likes of Duke Ellington and Claude Thornhill on their earlier big band recordings, the sound of Miles Ahead brilliantly mixes Davis' exquisite solo flugelhorn playing with frequent orchestral blasts from the assembled horns, via Evans' superbly judged arrangements.

Compositionally speaking, Miles Ahead is very much a mixed bag, and its extreme diversity in source material merely serves to emphasise the high level of skill displayed by Evans in pulling together what is a thematically consistent whole. Whether it be band member John Carisi's opener, the exuberant Springville, Evans' own dynamically rich and haunting Blues For Pablo, Dave Brubeck's lilting melody which underpins The Duke, Ahmad Jamal's superbly judged and swinging New Rhumba or Evans' inspirational interpretation of French classical composer Léo Delibes' song, The Maids Of Cadiz, Miles Ahead is a joyous listening experience. However, if I were forced to pick one moment from the album which cannot help but pull at the heartstrings it is Miles' exquisite solo on Kurt Weill's My Ship.

In addition, on the 1997 version of the album which was remastered in stereo by Phil Schaap, there are four additional tracks, essentially different takes of four of the existing 10 album compositions.

If evidence were ever needed (which I would suggest it isn't) of the worth of Davis' collaboration with Evans, and its relative position in the pantheon of Davis' work with the likes of Charlie Parker, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, Wayne Shorter, Joe Zawinal, Chick Corea, Marcus Miller, etc, then Miles Ahead demonstrates it in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles Davis -who could look for a more prolific and consumate jazz trumpeter, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Ahead (Audio CD)
My husband is an aficionado of Miles Davis - this particular cd is markedly fusion and not to my taste but he says you learn nothing if you don't push your own boundaries and LISTEN!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious 180 gram vinyl reissue, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Miles Davis Mono vinyl reissue series is a must for any Miles fan. There is nothing left to say about the music - but of all the versions out there - CD or vinyl - this is the one you will keep going back to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More accurately Miles Davis and the Gil Evans Orchestra, Miles forsakes his trumpet for flugelhorn in a breathtakingly beautiful album. The 10 tracks here are a well chosen mix of originals and covers. On this release it is supported by the short1955 album 'Blue Moods' which fits well stylistically particularly on the simply wonderful 'Nature Boy'. Miles Davis has made many great albums, this is in the top tier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miles and Gil strike gold!, 23 Dec 2012
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miles Ahead (Audio CD)
'Miles Ahead',from 1957, must be one of the greatest recordings in the Davis catalogue. In essence it is an extended, almost classical style suite of for soloist and horn section. It followed the approach that Miles and Gil Evans had first developed in the 'Birth of the Cool' sessions way back in 1950, where Miles on trumpet /flugelhorn would provide the focus for the arrangements through his statement of melody and less frequently,solo excursions.

Several elements contribute to the success of the album,most importantly,the choice of the material,its sequencing and performance are all first rate. Likewise,the arrangements are truly beautiful,they have a layered lyrical quality that support but never overwhelm Miles. Mention should also be made for a production / remastering job that has plenty of punch and clarity, allowing the listener to really appreciate all that is going on.

Most Jazz fans will already know that this set is a brilliant disc but if you are one of those jazz neophytes wanting to get more into Miles (and who wouldn't?) and you have perhaps got 'Sketches of Spain','Kind of Blue', 'Cooking' etc, then I recommend this as an album that needs next to get your attention.The mood of the music is generally a little lachrymose and thoughtful, but who can hear the driving intro riff of 'Springsville' and not be elevated instantly into a happier state of mind?. Fave track? Can't say, but why not try 'The Maids of Cadiz' and 'Blues for Pablo' for starters? In many ways they set the scene for what Miles and Gill were aiming at in these sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miles Ahead
Miles Ahead by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews