Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soundtrack fueled by human emotion
This soundtrack captures the emotional resonance of the movie and extends it beyond the snippets of musical score. Contain some of the best music of the grunge era as well as old favourites, this soundtrack is more than just a piece of merchandise. The product of ex-Soundgarden voaclist, Chris Cornell, the soundtrack sways from heavy to light without frustrating the...
Published on 30 May 2001 by calfkiller@hotmail.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pearl jam
really only purchased this for the pearl jam track although to be fair its a good enough listen , nice mixture
Published 16 months ago by The Big T


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soundtrack fueled by human emotion, 30 May 2001
This soundtrack captures the emotional resonance of the movie and extends it beyond the snippets of musical score. Contain some of the best music of the grunge era as well as old favourites, this soundtrack is more than just a piece of merchandise. The product of ex-Soundgarden voaclist, Chris Cornell, the soundtrack sways from heavy to light without frustrating the listener. Contains the only legally available version of Pearl Jam's, State Of Love And Trust, worth the price alone, as well as original music from Chris Cornell. As with the film, the soundtrack highlights the cultural change and the youth that was emerging at the begining of the 90's. This is more than a mere soundtrack,it is the voice of a generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack for a Generation, 30 July 2004
By 
J. T. Hooker (Albion) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I hate this soundtrack. I truly despise it. Why? I'm 15. I missed it all.
Damn.
Other than that it is simply awesome. Thanks to this little gem (and I say gem, both it and the movie are rare as hell on the highstreet) I am a major Pearl Jam fan. And to top it off, this contains two of their greatest songs from the period. "Breath" is simply amazing. What it's about I'll never know (Doors I think; don't ask) but it is amazing. Greatest riff since "Alive". Add to that a few Cornell/Soundgarden numbers along with a spot of Hendrix and even the AIC classic "Would?" (Ironically their most bland and lyrically inferior song ever) and you have a soundtrack to rival anything. And yes, that includes Blues Brothers. This rocks.
Like grunge? You'll love... no, scratch that. You NEED This.
5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unearth a time capsule from the early 90s, 17 Dec 2006
By 
N. Hudson (Red Lodge, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not just the perfect soundtrack to the movie "Singles", but to the time and place the movie was made in. This is a Polaroid snapshot of the angst-ridden rock that was pervading the airwaves of America, and to a lesser extent, the rest of the world. Like the songs on the radio playlists at the time, the music on the soundtrack comes predominately from the Pacific Northwest.

It opens with the Alice In Chains tribute to fallen soldier Andrew Wood, "Would?", which was one of the bands biggest hits (though, as is often the case, in no way indicative of their greatest work). The bassline alone signals what is to come. This was one of the few tracks which could be found on other albums.

The next track, "Breath", the first of two on this album by Pearl Jam cannot be found elsewhere (to my knowledge). Both it and "State of Love and Trust" are non-album tracks that should clinch the purchase of this album for any self-respecting Pearl Jam fan.

Chris Cornell's "Seasons" is one of the most beautiful songs I've heard - a pretty little acoustic ditty. I was expecting Chris' solo album to sound more like this, and was quite disappointed when it turned out not to be.

I have to admit to not being particularly enchanted by the Paul Westerburg contributions, but the Lovemongers (aka the Wilson sisters from Heart) put out a thumping version of Led Zep's "Battle of Evermore". Considering I like neither Led Zep nor Heart, I am constantly surprised by how much I enjoy this cover version! It really is good.

"Chloe Dancer/Crown of Thorns" is probably the best Mother Love Song released. They were a great band, and I love virtually every song I've heard by them, but (sadly) some good did come from Andrew Wood's death. Without his dying, we would not have seen Temple of the Dog, and perhaps not Pearl Jam either. Nor would we have heard "Would?" by Alice in Chains, nor "Far Behind" by Candlebox. (And I'm sure the list could go on...)

"Birth Ritual" is the best Soundgarden song never to make it onto one of their albums. In fact, it is quite easily one of their best songs, full stop. Hard hitting from the get go, the song is closest in sound to the material from their "Badmotorfinger" album.

Mudhoney were (in fact, are, I believe!) one of the most underrated Seattle bands. I can't say I particularly enjoy much of their music, but "Overblown" is a great song, and I know they have a lot of fans out there. Given that half of Mudhoney was half of Green River (and that the other half of Green River became Pearl Jam, by way of Mother Love Bone), their pedigree is as good as you could get. For my money though, Green River is a better band. (And Soundgarden's cover of GR's "Swallow My Pride" does not even touch the original.)

I love the inclusion of Jimi Hendrix on this album. He comes in from way left-field, but to my mind fits in far better than Paul Westerburg - because he is actually from Seattle. And this is a good song, and interesting choice for the album.

Screaming Trees were relatively successful in America, and relatively unheard of outide the States. In fact, Mark Lanegan is probably better known now through his solo work and contribution to Queens of the Stone Age than he ever was during his time with the Trees. I love the Trees, and I wish they'd not split up. Their sound changed considerably after they left SST Records to sign with Sony, and changed even more after original drummer, Mark Pickerel, departed. "Nearly Lost You" must have been their most successful single, and the album it came from ("Sweet Oblivion") also their most successful. It is worth buying that album, as it is worth buying any Trees release!

The soundtrack finishes with another non-Seattle band, but the music and mood of the Pumpkins fits perfectly with the Seattle artists (again, considerably more so than Paul Westerburg). This is my favourite song by the Pumpkins, and this version can't be found elsewhere. (I can't even bring myself to listen to the edited version on their greatest hits album!)

In short, this is a near-perfect soundtrack. If it wasn't for the anomaly of Paul Westerburg, it would be right up there. But for now, it will have to settle for second, with "The Crow" perched up top. If I could give it four and a half stars, I would. And, as Alice In Chains said at the beginning of the album, "If I would, could you?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grunge A Place & A Time, 23 Mar 2001
The film wasn't up to much but the soundtrack captured the music taste of the moment to great effect. From the best works of Alice In Chains (Would?) to Heart doing Led Zep cover's (Lovemongers). This album introduced me to The Smashing Pumpkins & included one of the genre of grunge's greatest moment's Mother Love Bone's haunting Crown Of Thorn's. This soundtrack also had one of america's greatest lost songwriters Paul Westerberg. The main reason I saw the film & bought the sountrack were due to Pearl Jam (Who were in the film as Citzen Dick),the band were at the time on a crest of a wave but State of love & trust still sounds like a teriffic song.one of there best. Like Easy Rider & Purple Rain Before it this soundtrack captured the way youth thought at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great summary of "Grunge", 1 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Grunge was an era, with so many diverse and different bands thrown on the bandwagon. This soundtrack, far superiour to the film, features the best of these bands. From Alice in Chains to Mudhoney, Soundgarden to Smashing Pumpkins. Mother Love Bone, relatively unheard of have a great track on. However, the crowning glory is two superb songs from Pearl Jam in Breath and State of Love and Trust, see's the band at their peak. An absolute must for anyone into the music of that era. The only dissappointment is that there is no trace of Nirvana on the record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pearl jam, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really only purchased this for the pearl jam track although to be fair its a good enough listen , nice mixture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great soundtrack, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never seen the film but I play this cd all the time . Captures an age really well with major artists of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such memories..., 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say about a soundtrack that includes Alice in Chains, Chris Cornell and Pearl Jam? Aside from Nirvana, this soundtrack introduced me to grunge music in the early 90s. It's not only music, it's history, it's a picture of what was to come musically. You can't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snapshot of an era, and what an era!, 29 Jan 2012
By 
C. Lee (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This soundtrack is amongst the very best soundtracks ever in my humble opinion. It is up there with absolute classics like Easy Rider for sheer quality. Nothing on it is weak, nor out of place. The compilation is exceptional and captures a snapshot of an era and as another reviewer eloquently puts it, the soundtrack to a generation. I remember the buzz around this record, not the film, but the soundtrack. It was evident before it even hit the shops that it would be something very, very special. For anyone in my position, 18 years old and into the rock music of the time, this was an absolutely essential purchase. I fondly recall rushing out on release day and picking up a copy with feverish anticipation. I was not to be disappointed.

Whoever put this together literally collected a snippet of the time, a snapshot of what was blazing hot and relevant. It features bands such as Pearl Jam and Soundgarden at their absolute best, just as 'grunge' took off and they were catapulted to massive fame. Cameron Crowe with his rock background clearly had his finger absolutely square on the pulse and grabbed the moment with both hands, at least in terms of the music!

In terms of what is on the album you have a pretty comprehensive selection of the best bands in this genre together with some more off-the-wall and classic stuff. Although it is quite an eclectic selection it is exceptional in its coherence and in taking literally the best many of these bands had to offer. It still amazes me that they managed to tease what are (again only in my opinion) the very finest tracks ever produced by: Pearl Jam (State of Love and Trust is not their usual fare but it is just a wonderful piece of propulsive rock), Soundgarden (Birth Ritual is up there with Jesus Christ Pose and Rusty Cage and better than the bloated and dull Superunknown era), Mother Love Bone (although Andrew Wood had died some years previously their inclusion was important given their influence and position within the genre. Chloe Dancer/Crown of Thorns is their apogee, as good as This Is Shangri-La but much longer and more emotional), Alice in Chains (Would? is not my absolute favourite but it is many people's and it signalled their even darker and bleaker Dirt era). The sequencing is incredible and the songs just hang together so well. These were bands on the cusp of greatness, but still 'unspoiled' by huge popularity in most cases, signalling music that would go on to dominate the enxt few years.

To attempt to answer some criticisms. The inclusion of Nirvana would have probably damaged this. For one thing Nirvana were slightly beyond and outside this sound. They were more punky and less sludgey than the sound being aimed for here. Also given their immense popularity at the time they would have overshadowed this and probably led to the loss of the cohesion and made it more a "Nirvana and other no-marks" album (with the exception of Pearl Jam). Paul Westerberg wrote the film music (which is made up mostly of gentle acoustic run-throughs of his two tracks here). He is a great songwriter and although by no means 'grunge' his lyrical style and languid music suit the rest of the soundtrack well. Also his two tracks here are some of his strongest. He is just different to the rest, a Generation X slacker/grunge kid might have listened to him in more relaxed moments, as I did with his awesome 14 Songs album.

In short everyone should have a copy of this absolute classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Singles soundtrack CD, 27 Oct 2011
By 
A. Christopher (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this album. Had it on tape which I lost years ago & finally replaced on CD. Recommended if you're a fan of Pearl Jam, Soundgarden etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles
Singles by Paul Westerberg (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews