Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars63
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£13.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 7 February 2015
I'm a huge floyd fan and after I had bought all those albums I was left wanting more, so I started listening to some of David's solo work and bought his three albums. If your not sure whether to pick this up all I can say is the tracks 'Murder' and 'Near the end' make it well worth it. I have only listened to the entire album a couple of times, some of the tracks may sound a little dated to some but I quite liked them. I keep returning to those two tracks I mentioned though, they are absolutely brilliant and up there with the very best Gilmour/floyd songs in my opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 22 July 2002
After the great Floyd schism that followed the (in my view) dreadful "The Final Cut", David Gilmour produced this, his second solo album, and showed all those who'd ever doubted it (not me!) that Roger Waters may have got the plaudits, but he was just as crucial to the mighty Floyd.
With an impressive band behing him (including Bad Company's Mick Ralphs on Guitar and legendary session man Pino Palladino on bass), About Face showed Gilmour at his musical best. Not the most pyrotechnic of singers, his voice suits the material so well, and the guitar work is stunning, with simple but clever solos liberally scattered throughout.
Stand out tracks for me are the opener "Until We Sleep", with the its driving bass line; "Murder" - a bit eerie this one; "Let's Get Meta-physical" where DG meets the London Philharmonic and blows the speakers, along with the mind; the Album closer "Near The End" is beautiful, atmospheric and completely unsuitable for anyone suffering from Depression!
Chuck in the Funky "Blue Light"; add a dash of Pete Townsend guesting on "All Lovers Are Deranged", light the blue touch paper and retire to have your mind blown!
Roger Who?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 March 2015
[9]...After the problems the three remaining band members Gilmour/Waters & Mason had during the recording of 'The final cut' it seemed possible Pink Floyd would never record together we soaked up their solo projects like a sponge. Roger Waters did his first solo album 'The pros & cons of hitchhiking' & David Gilmour produced 'About face' his second solo album released in March 1984, one year after 'The final cut' & on his 38th birthday.

This album was co-produced with Bob Ezrin & engineered by Andrew Jackson, orchestration Michael Kamen & mixed by James Guthrie. 'About face' is mainly Blues/Rock based...with American Jeff Porcaro on drums who is best known for his work in 'Toto' & 'Steely Dan' includes Welsh bassist Pino Palladino, best known for his work with the 'John Mayer trio'...Although Ian Kewly did the bulk of the hammond & piano parts, other keyboardists include the likes of Jon Lord of 'Deep Purple' & Stevie Winwood.

David Gilmour commented on 'About Face' in 2006, saying "Looking back on it, it has some great moments, but the whole flavour of it is a bit too 80's for my current taste"...I agree with him that it has a flavour of the 80's...but even so it's worth a listen, it's mostly very good...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 11 October 2014
I disagree with many of the other comments. DGs guitar shines throughout this album soaring in its usual place. The remastered version sits just fine with the rest of his work.
Plenty to enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
on 23 November 2006
If you hanker for a solo Gilmour album that still has the influence of Pink Floyd as well as plenty of his own distinctive individuality, then look no further. It's all here in this, his second solo recording from several years back - great melodies; electric and acoustic playing; richness and loneliness. None of the chanting style of singing that bedevils 'Island'. This is pure vintage Gilmour - the album that everyone hoped he would surpass with his third solo effort, but didn't.

I've played 'Island' several times - but I wore out the original vinyl of this record and the re-mastered CD has rarely been out of my top 10 favourites.

Quite simply - if you love Gilmour's style of playing, you will love this. It's everything that Island isn't but should have been.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 12 September 2008
David Gilmour's second solo effort from 1984 see's him deliberately getting away from the distinctive, timeless sound of Pink Floyd. In doing so, About Face today sounds very much 'of its time' - drenched in mid-eighties synth, drums and an awful 'Phil Collins-esque' horn section.

Thats not so say there aren't redeeming factors here. Gilmour's solo's - when allowed to break through the horrid 80's gloss - are great, and there are some decent songs (Murder, Out Of The Blue, Near The End) but there is a lot that is instantly forgettable.

If you want Gilmour on top solo form get his 2006 'On An Island' album, or check out his amazing live DVD's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Originally released in March 1984 About Face is the second solo LP from the Pink Floyd guitarist /vocalist and was recorded at a time when the future of Pink Floyd was still shrouded in uncertainty. Not that any of that percolates into the music as it's a supremely confident mix of typically guitar led rockier songs with some plangent ballads thrown in for variety . Contributors include Steve Winwood , Pete Townsend who shares co-writing credits on "Love On The Air" and "All Lovers Are Deranged" Jon Lord of Deep Purple, and orchestral arrangers Michael Kamen and Bob Ezrin.
It's production by Gilmour and Ezrin is characteristically eighties not helped by eighties favourites like Pino Pallidono,s fretless bass flanging spongily on the song "Murder" or the way the keyboards seem to have been beamed in from outer space. So this is an album far more of it's time than just about anything Pink Floyd have ever done but it still works because for the main part the songs are terrific.
The single "Blue Light" will have come as an almighty shock to most Floyd fans with its effusive horn backing and almost disco spangled guitars. The signature guitar solo at the songs fade out marks it out as definitive Gilmour , and his voice of course but little else does with this song and a big hooray to him for that. "Out Of The Blue " is a string led MOR ballad that you wouldn't put past Michael Bolton though he would obviously annihilate it with his vocal caterwauling , but somehow here it works.
Mind you it does highlight Gilmour's sometimes clumsy lyrical proclivity .There is none of Waters sardonic intelligence or clever word play here but there are moments of genuine dexterity amidst the odd wince inducing moments. The change of key at the chorus in "You Know I'm Right" makes you wince as well but again it's a fine song and there are a couple of sonic diversions- the fluxing banked keyboards and amorphous guitars in "Until We Sleep" and the carousing scabrous fretwork on "All Lovers Are Deranged". The instrumental "Lets get Metaphysical " sounds like a soundtrack out take while "Cruise" is a bit too pretty and frankly slightly embarrassing lyrically . "Near The End" has a real lone troubadour quality to it , at least till the spiralling solo kicks in.
The re-mastered version has extended fade outs on a couple of songs -"Until We Sleep " and "Near The End" . Its a very good album. It will alienate many , as its far nearer the dreaded middle of the road than even Pink Floyd are perceived by many to be but I personally like to wander down the middle of the road from time to time. About Face is melodious , enjoyable and doesn't pall or become repetitive and in that context is far more interesting to listen to than a lot of what is considered cool. In fact I would rather listen to this than any Artic Monkeys album and its certainly the best solo album by any Pink Floyd member and I include the much eulogised Syd Barrett in that as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2001
The mid 1980's were difficult for many of the previous decades super groups. Indeed by 1984 Pink Floyd had embarked upon one of the most acrimonious splits in the history of pop music. Roger Waters issued a statement saying he had left the band and therefore Pink Floyd were finished. Richard Wright had been unceremoniously kicked out years earlier and Nick Mason kept his head down and Dave Gilmour did what he always did best - strapped on his guitar and headed for the studio.
Given the circumstances it's no surprise that About Face is a confused mix of vast Floydian ambition and a grim determination to be 'current'. Dance rhythms and sequencers are everywhere on the opening 'Until we sleep', and 'the rather under-rated 'Blue light' is actually a fantastic slice of horn driven rock-funk. Some rather ponderous power ballads sail a little too close the coast of Floyd ('Murder', 'Cruise', 'Out of the blue') but each has its merits, not least Gilmour stepping out of Waters' shadow to pen some stinging lyrics about nuclear weapons, Margaret Thatcher and poor old Roger himself.
However the real reason to buy this LP is Gilmour's astonishing guitar playing, it was About Face that saw the birth of Gilmour's now legendary sound, a huge wailing, blues-drenched howl that set the blueprint for all his subsequent Pink Floyd activity. Approach with caution but the love the man for trying under such difficult circumstances.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 December 2013
post pink floyd solo offering from MR GILMOUR hits the mark some lovely guitar work as ever from the king of the strat bought because mainly im a pink floyd nut
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
Really love this album its my 3rd copy. Lots of others have reviewed the songs so I shall not. I'll just say there are no tracks that are fillers in my opinion and its a very mixed and varied sound as only David Gilmour could do. Its not Pink Floyd its much better actually with ballsy tracks and more gentle sounds all intermingled. Its a must have for me and for anyone who loves the Gilmour sound and the Gilmour input of Floyd you will not be disappointed. Check it out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Rattle That Lock
Rattle That Lock by David Gilmour (Audio CD - 2015)

David Gilmour
David Gilmour by David Gilmour (Audio CD - 2006)

On An Island
On An Island by David Gilmour (Audio CD - 2006)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.