Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TURN IT UP LOUD this is a concert to remember.
Possibly one of the finest live concert albums produced in the seventies.

The track Gonzo must be played as loud as your neighbourhood will allow,the thundering cords from Teds Gibson are awesome and to attend a Ted concert was a rare treat indeed.

The only way to appreciate this monster of an album is to play it at full volume and get out your air...
Published on 12 May 2007 by Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality - but the trimmed version
I had the original LP, then went on to the imported CD version. This remastered version however has had little bits of guitar intros, solos, and applause "edited" for some reason. This is probably to get it all on to one cd disc. I have to say that knowing the "full" cd version (albeit poorer in sound quality) I feel this "trimmed" version is, for me anyway, a bit...
Published on 6 Sep 2007 by Mark Greer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TURN IT UP LOUD this is a concert to remember., 12 May 2007
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Live Gonzo (Audio CD)
Possibly one of the finest live concert albums produced in the seventies.

The track Gonzo must be played as loud as your neighbourhood will allow,the thundering cords from Teds Gibson are awesome and to attend a Ted concert was a rare treat indeed.

The only way to appreciate this monster of an album is to play it at full volume and get out your air guitar because you will need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars forget the nonsense - feel the energy, 5 Oct 2006
By 
W. J. F. Harvey "gonglover" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Live Gonzo (Audio CD)
The sheer gusto with which our Ted performs is captured perfectly on this album, by far the best thing he made post Amboy Dukes. His use of feedback to complement each song is up with Hendrix and the baying crowd distract from the complete ridiculousness of most of the lyrics. I never know if we have to take his meat-eating machismo at all seriously and [...] you can't help but love him here. From the sheer elegance of his playing on the old Hibernation, the environment-friendly attack on the white man's destruction of the buffalo, right to his metal tribute to Detroit (motor capital of the world aha). Noise but in the best of senses. Other than checking out the live set from the Amboy Dukes (Survival of the Fittest) I think this is it for the Nugent section of your collection. You need no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America's hard rock hero at his best, 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Live [Us Import] (Audio CD)
What can i say?
A great live album of a great showman, if you like hard rock, you gotta love him. On this CD you have it all: a great set list (probably his concert best), Ted's fast talk, absolute thrilling guitar playing and need I say, the true r'n'r distinctives: BLOOD, SWEAT & BALLS.
100% rock'n'roll, a hard rock fan MUST-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREAT GONZO, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Double Live Gonzo (Audio CD)
Like most guitar hereos,Ted Nugent struggled at times to capture his live performance on studio releases,so like Kiss,Frampton before him,a live album was in order,and what a live album.

Opening with a triple assault of 'Just What The Docter Ordered','Yank Me Crank' Me and 'Gonzo' your ears are assaulted by some thundering rock smothered in electrifying lead guitar,probably one of the best openings to a live album ever.

Other highlights included the coupling of early Ted tracks 'Great White Buffalo' & 'Hibernation' before a gargantuan version of 'Stranglehold'.

We then head for home with fan favourites 'Wang Dang...' and 'Cat Scratch Fever' before an insane version of 'Motor City Madhouse'

All in all a superb live album,of its time ,the excess' of the 70's evident,at times Nugents inane drivel spouted between songs can be tiresome but its the music that counts.

The remaster is excellent.quality booklet,a couple of reviewers have suggested that the recording has been edited,its so long since i played my original double vinyl,i cant say i noticed,certainly hasnt hampered my enjoyment of this version,excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ted at his best, 3 Dec 2004
This review is from: Double Live [Us Import] (Audio CD)
This album is a must for any Ted hed`s. It might not be the greatest production sound wise, but as a document of Ted at his rap shooting funniest you just have to experience it. The album was made when Ted was at his career peak and most of the classics are included. As Ted says "This guitar just refuses to play sweet s***" Buy it its great stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the Doctor ordered!, 14 Sep 2008
By 
S. Johnson "sijon" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Live Gonzo (Audio CD)
I purchased the original 1978 gate-fold album in the late eighties which blew me away back then, it was nice to discover this release on a remastered cd version so I thought that this must sound awesome, and I was right! Some reviewers have been quibbling about it but I think it is a very good version so don't be put off by this as I nearly was. Ted's playing on this release is fantastic with so much power punching through the mix. Buy it; put it on and turn it up loud! Like Ted says:'If it's too loud then you're too old'. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality - but the trimmed version, 6 Sep 2007
By 
Mark Greer "marksgreer" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Live Gonzo (Audio CD)
I had the original LP, then went on to the imported CD version. This remastered version however has had little bits of guitar intros, solos, and applause "edited" for some reason. This is probably to get it all on to one cd disc. I have to say that knowing the "full" cd version (albeit poorer in sound quality) I feel this "trimmed" version is, for me anyway, a bit disappointing. A superb album, maybe one day I'll get a remastered "full" version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looooooove it !, 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: Double Live Gonzo (Audio CD)
Get this album now !!
The whole thing is loud and great , but Great White Buffalo is worth the admission fee alone !
Just order it , unwrap it , and play it loud, loud and louder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ted's finest hour, 20 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Double Live Gonzo (Audio CD)
Nugent had a couple of excellent albums in him after this - Weekend Warriors and the bizarrely eccentric Scream Dream that had lyrical content that is comparable to the late Frank Zappa albums in their humour and irony - but things got dodgy with Intensities in ten cities and then went into a tailspin with the album 'Nugent' so you could see this album as his best material performed in his favourite and best environment.

What a recording it is too! A testament to a unique ability and an entertainer(ego??) who has no parallel. He and his band keep a 'tight ship' while also giving the impression that "tonight is party night; and anything goes!!" Which no doubt they did in every performance. The LP that I still have has a sticker on the cover with press quotes. The standout one that I remember to this day and have used on occasions was that "Ted will not tap you on the shoulder when he can belt you in the face" which pretty much sums him up.

While Nugent is lumped together with a number of other heavy rock/heavy metal performers I heard him once say on a radio interview that his greatest influence was traditional rock and roll. This is something I had not recognised in '79 when it came out but; sure enough when listening to his music I can hear that influence. Heavy though is his middle name, maybe not in comparison to the volume/aggression of bands from the mid 80's onwards but in attitude and how he does things - there just is no compromise; you can also see this in his approach to his other passion, hunting.

So what about the music? There is a good spattering from his first two solo albums a couple of new songs for the road only and the absolutely legendary Great White Buffalo and Hibernation from his Amboy Dukes days. All brought together with Nugents salacious - bordering on offensive - chat. You wont find anyone else near him - excellent!!!

I notice from a couple of the other reviews there is commentary on the recording quality which I hadn't noticed on either the LP or CD's and that some parts had been edited for the sake of a single CD; well I have 2 CD's so I don't know where the single CD come in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ticarawaza of straight ball match, 20 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Double Live [Us Import] (Audio CD)
The power of '78 year announcement and "Ted" is a rock album for a man where the manly spirit overflows with live, amazed straight Hardoroccnrorl of opening completely.

The ventricular rate increases after it finished listening to the album why, and an emotional kind of deep emotion that will not understand raises it to the woman crowding.

Listener's adrenaline is made to be discharged completely because the guitar is gaily played though it is an easy, comprehensible music (impoliteness) made at night and the energy of "TEd" rolled up is too strong.

Especially, this in the latter half of disk 2 it, and super-Hardodoraib music and the performance that is folded and multiplied seem to be consecutive, and to have gooseflesh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Double Live Gonzo [CASSETTE]
Double Live Gonzo [CASSETTE] by Ted Nugent (Audio Cassette - 1990)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews