Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2015
Good old 80's
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2000
This is the first and the best Beastie Boys album. 15 years old but worth ever penny. Unlike most of the Beastie Boys albums you can sit and listen to every track. This is true white boy boy mid eighties rap. The best tracks are Ryhmin' and stealin', girls and of course the altime favorite fight for your right. They have yet to make a better album.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2007
What more needs to be said about what is probably one of the top five, perhaps top three rap albums of all time. It's just packed to bursting point with beats and ryhmes that are as "FRESH" today as they were twenty odd years ago. If you have any respect for classic old school rap you have to own this album!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Great album
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2005
Although this was the first Beastie Boys recording I really listened to, I only heard it for the first time in 2003. I was born the year after this recording was made and it beggars belief that a band like this could ever last until the present day.
Initially, I was put off by the whiney-nazel voices I was hearing, but the Beastie Boys is as much about just listening (or deciphering) the lyrics as it is about the music. The offbeat lyrics remind me a little of Beck, just because they can be so random at times but still with a direction within the songs.
This album has obviously remained popular due to the infamous 'Fight for Your Right' song, but is actually so much more. try to get the CD + DVD version available on amazon (keep searching, it's quite far back!) so you can check out the ill videos for 'No Sleep til Brooklyn', 'She's Crafty' and 'Fight for Your Right'. As I said in the summary, the album is finally starting to show signs of ageing, but the power of nostalgia just keeps bringing me back for more. Enjoy.
0Comment2 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Perfecg
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Great album but didn't come with original sleeve or even album artwork. Didn't state there wouldn't be original sleeve, if it did I wouldn't have ordered it.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Great
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2002
Rap Metal at it's greatest, with 'Fight for your right', and 'No sleep till Brooklin' some of the more famous Beastie boys songs. The is comedy with 'Brass Monkey' and 'Girls'. With funky beats and and funny lyrics, License to ill is a none stop roller coaster of funk, metal and hip-hop rolled in one with an excellent outcome.
0Comment0 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
I ordered this cd from zoverstocks and for the first time I was a little disapointed as three of the tracks keep jumping and will not play. Ive ordered lots from zoverstocks in the past and every item has always been excellent so was surprised this was not the same. I will still order from them as they are usually the best.
0Comment0 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.