Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way Ahead
This is one of the most uncompromising albums ever. Way ahead of its time, nothing in Hip Hop before or since has ever come close to matching the sheer intensity of the songs here. Probably one of the greatest albums ever but (as others here have noted) it's not an easy listen - so probably not for those wanting a nice happy melody!
Published on 29 Aug. 2001 by A Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
I think as far as PE albums go, they reached their peak with 'It Takes A Nation Of Millions...'. There's alot to be said for this album too - with a few real standout tracks (most notably 'Fight The Power') - but it just doesn't seem as focused. The sound is very busy and urgent, which isn't always agreeable, and at times I think it even sounds a bit messy, Chuck D's...
Published 4 days ago by CLINT McGAVIN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch, 18 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of A Black Planet (Audio CD)
Better than I remember. PE in da house !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. D. Wojtowicz "the mosher" (Newport, Wales, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of A Black Planet (Audio CD)
Another classic album. Enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of A Black Planet (Audio CD)
Excellent +++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of A Black Planet (Audio CD)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Hip-Hop album ever made, 6 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Fear Of A Black Planet (Audio CD)
During the late eighties, early nineties, I was just a kid who really liked rap and, in particular, Public Enemy's FOABP. Then I 'grew up' and started listening to more 'serious' music. I even went so far as to throw out all my old music at the time - to wipe the slate clean and start again, as it were. Then, last week, a friend burnt me a copy of this album on CD and - well, it was like being born again. A gorgeous (in the true sense of the word - it fills you up and still you can't stop playing it) rap album choc full of brilliant, really incendiary lyrics and beats. Unlike other rap bands at the time Public Enemy were witty, intelligent, and politically astute. This is mature stuff to be taken seriously (unlike the F**k The Police stuff from NWA who just seemed to be on a gratutious rant at the time). Recommended listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best Hip-Hop album ever. Yes, that good., 10 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Of A Black Planet (Audio CD)
Along with 'Nation of Millions', this is PE's finest hour and is, therefore, the business, making rather a lot of recent Hip-Hop sound tired and lame by comparison. Intelligent, brutal and wildly inventive, if you don't own this already you're not really interested in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WRONG PLANET///// BOOOOOOOYEEEEEEE, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
so i decided tuh give dis one da spin. told ya it woz wakka daddeee. yo get da flavah. this is first world logic cold lampin' go get yo da metro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just plain bland, 28 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Of A Black Planet (Audio CD)
OK, I'l admit that I was never really a fan of Public Enemy, but this is really bland. The songs just don't seem to get going, Chuck and Flav just don't cut it for me. Just the whole album doesn't seem to kick up a notch, with the only highlight for me being Ice Cube and Big Daddy Kane 's contribution to Burn Hollywood Burn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Extremely Monotonous Set, 31 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Of A Black Planet (Audio CD)
Public Enemy are so highly acclaimed that you probably won't listen to me, but I have always felt that what they did off wax was what made them famous. Fear of a Black Planet's songs don't really have much structure and just seem to be lots of irritating noises thrown together over the same drum beat 20 times. Very hard to listen to and rather boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear Of A Black Planet
Fear Of A Black Planet by Public Enemy (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews