Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS, WITTY, ENTERTAINING
This album is a joy to listen to again and again. I think the Symphony (Disc 1, Track 7) is the funniest thing on record and is unsurpassed in the history of comedy. The Soaps is another highlight, while on Disc 2 my favourites are A Horse Or A Mule, Lovers and Girlfriends and I Had To Say It, in which Millie does a very funny send-up of the burgeoning Rap movement...
Published on 23 Aug 2000 by Pieter Uys

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars millie jackson
not what i expected at all. track I bought it for was mostly monologue, extreme foul language, may suit americans but not uk market.
Published on 28 Oct 2010 by C. M. R. Faulkner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS, WITTY, ENTERTAINING, 23 Aug 2000
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live and Uncensored/Live and Outrageous (Audio CD)
This album is a joy to listen to again and again. I think the Symphony (Disc 1, Track 7) is the funniest thing on record and is unsurpassed in the history of comedy. The Soaps is another highlight, while on Disc 2 my favourites are A Horse Or A Mule, Lovers and Girlfriends and I Had To Say It, in which Millie does a very funny send-up of the burgeoning Rap movement. The atmosphere of this album is not only funny, it's also very uplifting and a certain cure for depression. Highly recommended to those who like passionate, heartfelt music and have a raunchy sense of humour. The backing is superb throughout, with a perfect rapport between Millie and the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She tells it like it is!, 12 Aug 2006
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live and Uncensored/Live and Outrageous (Audio CD)
This 2 disc set is made up of a double album from 1979 'Live & Uncensored' and a single album from 1982 'Live & Outrageous'. The titles say it all! If there had been 'Parental Advisory Lyrics' stickers back then, then these albums would have qualified. Having said that, they are quite tame compared to some of what you hear today.

The first album was recorded at a concert in Los Angeles, and for the second, Millie was on home soil in Atlanta Georgia (she was born in Augusta).

Aside from all the mucking around, Millie always took the music seriously. The band knows it's business and the music is superb. She includes a lot of material from her studio albums, and some other items. The symphony (disc 1 track 7) remains one of the funniest things recorded, if you can stomach a bit of bad language.

She does a clever medley of Bobby Womacks 'Put Something Down On It' and the Rod Stewart hit 'Do You Think I'm Sexy?'. You can plainly hear where Rod borrowed that riff from. Nuff sed about that.

Other highlights for me are 'Be A Sweetheart/Didn't I Blow Your Mind This Time' which was a single release. The Delfonics sweet soul classic is charged with more raw emotion than you would have thought it could handle. The advice to the romantically downtrodden in the spoken 'Be A Sweetheart'is timeless and very funny.

She even covers a Boney M Song 'Never Change Lovers In The Middle Of The Night'. Her ability to cover all kinds of songs in her own style is part of her great talent.

The set closes with 'Ugly Men/This Is It' (not the Melba Moore hit), another great example of Millie's blend of raunchy comedy and great music.

This is a great value set for over 2 hours of classic soul music and comedy. You might not want to leave it laying around for the children to find 'though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Live and Uncensored/Live and Outrageous (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my mum as a Christmas gift.
My mum owns the original LP record and really wanted a CD as the LP record is coming to its end.
So for her it was the perfect gift.

Millie is funny, full of energy & a real entertainer.
Mind you, if you don't like foul language, stay away from this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars only problem cd case/holder broken/cracked on first, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live and Uncensored/Live and Outrageous (Audio CD)
only problem cd case/holder broken/cracked on first opening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Dmtembo "Musonda" (Scotland,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live and Uncensored/Live and Outrageous (Audio CD)
Good CD for old sexy music.Only for the over 50s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars millie jackson, 28 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live and Uncensored/Live and Outrageous (Audio CD)
not what i expected at all. track I bought it for was mostly monologue, extreme foul language, may suit americans but not uk market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live and Uncensored/Live and Outrageous
Live and Uncensored/Live and Outrageous by Millie Jackson (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews