Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
27
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2007
Well, first of all, if you're thinking of buying this, LISTEN TO THE SAMPLES. If you've got a lot of Manson's other stuff and want more of the same, this isn't for you.

That's not to say it's not a good album, it's just entirely different from the rest of his stuff.

At first I was a little thrown by just how bizarre some of these tracks are. 'May Cause Discoloration of the Urine or Feces', for example, is a four minute phone conversation about medicine.

But on the whole, I do like it. The highlights for me are probably Scabs, Guns and Peanut Butter, Kiddie Grinder, Sweet Dreams, White Trash and Rock 'N' Roll Nigger.

If you do get it, give it a few tries before judging it. It's grown on me after listening to it about three times.

Myself, I reckon it's decent cd, but it certainly won't be to everybody's tastes, and isn't like Manson's norm, which is why you should definitely listen to some samples before buying.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2003
This CD is essentially a collection of remixes and samples with a couple of new tracks thrown in for measure. Don't buy this album if it is your first Marilyn Manson CD as chances are that you will be put off and consequently miss out on his other releases which are generally fantastic. However if you do enjoy his music and want to hear the most amazing version of 'Sweet Dreams' ever then pick up this CD. How they managed to convert a piece of eighties pop into a tune conveying such menace is a true wonder. I do feel that the band missed out on an opportunity to turn 'I Put A Spell On You' into a rock classic too though as the version on here does no justice to a potentially great tune.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2001
Although all of their other CD's have been excellent, SLC really is not up to scratch. as a cd full of remixes and covers it is fairly intresting, when listened to in conjunction with 'portrait...' it is worth viewing it as an appendage really. Stand out tracks are the covers of 'sweet dreams' and 'I put a spell on you', although 'sympathy for the parents' had me near wetting myself with laughter; 5 or so of the 15 tracks are absolutely excellent which leads me to think it's a pity this is an album and not an EP. Worth the 8 quid if you are a real fan, more interested in the origins of manson's current sound than the quality of music, however if you are looking for a good CD on its own, this is not it. Casual listeners would be well advised to pick up 'Antichrist...' instead. Fairly interesting for die-hard fans but no-where near an opus of the trilogy standards and fairly dull musically. One for very keen mansonites only.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2003
Ok, some people have critisised this album for being remixes, not his real recordings and other things, but I think that this is good and i recomend this to other MM fans who don't know whether to buy this or not. My favorite songs on this are Sweet Dreams origianlly by Eurythmics and i put a spell on you. They arent original, but whatever they sound great and are better than the original (in my opinion).
All in all, If you don't know whether to buy it or not, I would buy it. Its a great album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2001
Even some of Mansons biggest fans(myself included) may find this EP a little hard to swallow- at first. However if you take the time to really listen to this EP you'll see that there is actually some damn fine songs on it. " Sweet Dreams" and "Rock n Roll Nigger" are both great, even though they are cover versions. "Diary of a Dope Fiend" is a dark re-working of "Dope Hat" that manages to be both origonal and a good song. The re-mixes are all good as far as re-mixes go but they are unneccesary as the origonals were great in the first place. However the joke recordings and dodgy instramentals become very annoying as the CD goes on and you end up wishing they would just go away. Still, fans of Manson should at least make the effort to apriciate the music on this EP because its actually pretty good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2000
Smells Like Children is more of an EP than an album, despite the fact it has so many tracks. This is because many of these 'songs' are just in fact comic interludes or instrumentals. Many people have criticised Manson for this, but in fact I applaud it as totally original! There are a few good remixes here. Kiddie Grinder is a hard industrial version of Organ Grinder, which I rank alongside the original. Diary Of A Dope Fiend stands out for originality, but Everlasting C***sucker is nothing compared to Cake And Sodomy. If you like Manson, this CD is worth buying just for the covers of Sweet Dreams and I Put A Spell On You (of the Lost Highway ST) and for the sake of completeness. It points out the slightly more surreal side to Manson, and is a welcome break from the (quality) hard metal of later days...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2004
This is by far Mansons worst album. Most of the songs are crappy remixes of decent Portrait songs, or 'scary' sounds of children crying. The only decent tracks are Rock'N'roll Nigga, Tony Wiggins (their bus driver) perforing an acoustic remix of Cake n sodomy (white trash) and one of Mansons best ever songs, Sweet Dreams. Only get this album if you feel you have to have every manson album there is, otherwise avoid.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2006
To anybody that slates this album for being extremely experimental, could you record anything better? because its not easy. Alright this album does have what some might call its floors with the experimental maons groans and such, but for anybody who is a fan on the industrial movement this album is definately worth a listen. If more people took the time to listen to what was going on in this album instead of slating it at first glance then it would probably be a little more populer. But I thought it was well worth my money. If your a huge Manson fan its probably your duty to own this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Its the worst Manson album I've got, just full of speaky bits and dull remixes. The stars are for "I put a spell on you" and "Sweet Dreams", both decent covers. If you are collecting all the Manson albums, be sure this is the last one you get.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
Made at a time when the band were heavily into drugs, self mutilation, make up, and smashing their intruments to pieces, this take it or leave it LP contains three cover versions of classics songs 'Sweet Dreams', 'I Put A Spell On You', and 'Rock n Roll Niggar' plus six industrial metal remixes of songs from their under produced debut album 'Portrait Of An American Family' based loosely on the occult and childrens literature, like The Cat In The Hat and Brian Warners stage persona pictured on the album cover of the child catcher from the film Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Smells Like Childrem also pays homage to Frank Zappa and The Mothers Of Invention hilarious classic album 'We're Only In It For The Money',(a satirical commentary on the 60's hippie culture). MM satire is aimed mostly at catholicism and trashy, american red neck culture most obvious in songs like 'Cake And Sodomy'. I prefer the funny less serious gothic playfulness in the early song releases, before the band started taking themselves seriously with their dark, gloomy, gothic album Antichrist Superstar and the albums that followed. MM would return to his mad hatter stage persona with the bands over produced 2003 release 'The Golden Age Of Grotesque' but the comedy element and wit of there early music wasn't there and fell flat. Smells Like Children was dismissed by its makers and wouldn't merrit the greatest rock albums list or any other rock albums I have in my collection, but its the MM album along with'Portrait' I find the most enjoyable because of the humour.

Track Listing:

1.The Hands of Small Childrem: An intro of crying, screaming babies with the sound of a gothic church bell
2.Diary Of A Dope Fiend: slow, drug indused remix of The Dope Hat from their debut album
3.S***** chicken gang bang: hilarious cresendo intermittant
4.Kiddie Grinder(remix):remix of Organ Grinder
5.Sympathy For The Parents: Audio remix from a daytime chatshow Marilyn Manson and his bandmate Twiggy Ramerez attended discussing mosh pit violence
6.Sweet Dreams: cover version of the Eurythmics which became the bands first hit record
7.Everlasting C***sucker: another drug addeld remix of Cake and Sodomy
8.F*** Frankie: refering to the bands previous road manager who they fired
9.I Put A Spell On You: cover version of a Arthur Brown Song
10.May cause Discoloration of the urine or feces: a prank call to a medical self help radio station
11.Scabs, guns and peanut butter: hilarious chip munk spagetti western song
12.Dance Of The Dope Hats: faster remix of Dope Hat
13.White Trash: crude-funny accoustic version of Cake and Sodomy by their road manager
14.Dancing With The One-Legged: another talk show audio
15.Rock N Roll Niggar: controvercial cover of Patti Smiths Song about individualism
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)