Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pork Soda
Ah, Pork Soda. Primus, in many fan's opinions, at the apex of their considerable genius.
This is a much darker album than previous Primus efforts. This does not however, mean that Primus have simply become heaver and self-absorbed. Spectacularly sinister tones, lyrics and a feeling that this music is coming at you from the dark are all traits that are both...
Published on 14 Jan 2006

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A well rounded typical primus album
This is one of primus' older but still great albums, out of the six i have i would say this comes somewhere in the middle, the best being frizzle fry. This album has some great songs such as DMV, The Air Is Getting Slippery(played on banjos, oh what a funny song) and Nature Boy just to name a few. If you like Primus' music buy it, if your looking for songs with good bass...
Published on 5 Dec 2001 by E. Nix


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pork Soda, 14 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Pork Soda (Audio CD)
Ah, Pork Soda. Primus, in many fan's opinions, at the apex of their considerable genius.
This is a much darker album than previous Primus efforts. This does not however, mean that Primus have simply become heaver and self-absorbed. Spectacularly sinister tones, lyrics and a feeling that this music is coming at you from the dark are all traits that are both refreshing and relevant to the Primus sound. This is such an experimental, and consequently developed and accomplished, album because it was recorded in Rancho Relaxo, Les' home studio. Primus, for the first time, could record without limitations.
Les Claypool's quirky, dominant basslines mark the first album on which Les has truly come to terms with his 6-string. Little can be said to truly describe how diverse and emotive his playing on this album is. His singing, too, is at times jovial, and at others haunting. The lyrics are sinister and the characters Les describes are rich and bizarrely fitting. All Les' techniques are present and used to genius effect, as well as some brilliant flirtations with the Electric Upright bass.
This marks the first album on which Ler could finally step out of Todd Huth's shadow, Huth having written many of the guitar lines on Suck On This, Frizzle Fry and Seas of Cheese. Ler does not dissapoint. Bizarre, convulsing and unique guitar rhythms and (never pointless) solos accompony and even slightly provoke Les' usually very commanding aural presence. No other guitarist could have fitted better into this album than Larry Lalonde, as DMV and Mr. Krinkle undeniably confirm. Herb too, impresses with his refined and minimal approach to drums. His playing adds tremendously to the ambience of the tracks, and Wounded Knee is sublime.
Overall, an album of extremes. This album will alienate new Primus fans, and so it's advisable to steer clear of it for a while. It may be Primus' biggest success saleswise, but it's certainly not the wisest choice for an introduction. However, when you have plucked up the courage to buy it, listened to it a few times, and acquainted yourself with it's eccentricities, you may just realise how outstanding Pork Soda really is.
As Les once said, "To defy the laws of Tradition is a crusade only of the brave."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thats cans of swine not Kansas wine, 22 Sep 2003
This review is from: Pork Soda (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic, this was the first Primus album I ever heard, it encouraged me to buy every other primus and Les Claypool inspired album. The band are at there very best with Bass Slappin looney Claypool given licence to roam and roam he does, and Tim Herb hitting the drums with true precision, Lalonde does his usual job and keeps everything interesting with his mad guitar licks. Every song is a classic from "My name is mud" with its deep flappy bass line, to "the air is getting slippery" with its mad banjo playing. difficult album to difine is it Rock? is it country? is it mad? oh god yes.
well worth a purchase for all budding bass guitarists. Primus Sucks?... I think not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pork Soda. Challenging, experimental, arguably Primus at there Darkest musically, lyrically but it's done with humour., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pork Soda (Audio CD)
If you're new to Primus I wouldn't start with this album. You need to warm up first, I'd recommend the Brown album or Frizzle Fry or even Sailing The Seas of Cheese as there a bit more accessible than Pork Soda although if you struggle with heavier music give Frizzle Fry a miss.

This is a brilliant album but it takes time to realize how good it is. The first time I listened to this album I struggled, I couldn't quite figure it out, I found the atmospherics unsettling an too weird. After listening to there other albums many times paying attention to the darkly humorous, satirical lyrics which I think is key to understanding an deciphering Primus and there musical approach. But now along with Sailing The Seas and Frizzle Fry I would say it's as good as those albums in its own way just way more experimental and out there. The musicianship on this album is Mind blowing. It takes serious talent to match Les Claypool and keep up with his virtuosic Bass playing but guitarist Larry Lalonde and drummer Tim Alexander do exactly that by complimenting and adding texture to the songs. I like Brain Mantia and Jay Lane as drummers and Jay Lane may of been there from the start but Tim Alexander to me is the quintessential Primus drummer, a genius he can play both complex and simple rhythms an he makes it look so effortless. Lalondes guitar playing is as unusual and unique as Les Claypool's bass playing in many respects even though he's happy playing in the background most of the time he still has many shining moments on this album. I can't single out one song as better than another, the album is best experienced as a whole. These guy's have great chemistry on all the albums they've played together, I love all their albums an ep's with the exception of Anti-pop, which is the complete opposite of Pork Soda, Anti-pop is Primus watered down lacking the fire, energy and audacity of a Pork Soda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My first introduction to Les Claypool, 27 April 2014
By 
T. Cunningham "Tamois" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pork Soda (Audio CD)
I'm a real bass freak so my colleague at work played me Mr Crinkle. I came home, ordered this for next day delivery and played it non stop in the car for days! Some of it is pretty weird but this just adds to the enjoyment. I told my children that Primus did the theme tune to Southpark so they like it too now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PORK!!!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pork Soda [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Classic album and I must have for all fans. By far one the best album by this artist! Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly heavier but great, 24 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Pork Soda (Audio CD)
Having been a recent Primus convert I thought I'd start with Frizzle Fry but soon pork soda and this became so much more enjoyable. Having said that I had despaired for some years at the tiredness of rock and my brother told me about them. Good job he did - the musical force is amazing. I quite (in italics) like Lighning Bolt for their rawness and I can hear the infuences. Altogether though, this wins hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another one to churn the stomach..., 18 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Pork Soda (Audio CD)
I've been into Primus for a few years now and i must say this is one of their finest hours. As soon as it kicks into "My Name is Mud" you can hear that this will be an interesting musical journey. "DMV" is a classic to show off the diversity and genius of Les Claypool when it comes to the bass... undoubtedly one of the best bassists ever recorded. The menacing beats and immaginative structure of "Welcome to this World" seem to set the mood of the album more than the previous track, and there is an impressive instrumental called "Hamburger Train", which is good... but the bass is quite repetitive and less than Claypool is capable of. If you are a Primus fan already, buy this album NOW. If you are getting your first Primus album i suggest "Frizzle Fry", or their original live album "Suck on This" which show of the trios musical prowess a lot more. If you haven't heard much Primus then don't expect many guitar riffs or real solos as Larry LaLonde is more into his "Extra-Musical" sounds than actual guitar playing, but this only adds more interest to this ingenius, even if a bit sick, band. I blame it on too much Frank Zappa...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A well rounded typical primus album, 5 Dec 2001
By 
E. Nix "cabeludo" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pork Soda (Audio CD)
This is one of primus' older but still great albums, out of the six i have i would say this comes somewhere in the middle, the best being frizzle fry. This album has some great songs such as DMV, The Air Is Getting Slippery(played on banjos, oh what a funny song) and Nature Boy just to name a few. If you like Primus' music buy it, if your looking for songs with good bass guitar then but it, thats why i first bought a Primus album, to learn the bass but now ive learnt to love the music too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Album for the Die-Hard-Core Primus Fan, 19 Sep 2002
By 
This review is from: Pork Soda (Audio CD)
I don't know WHAT to make of this album. It doesnt sound as though it came after 'Sailing the Seas of Cheese' but at the same time, it seems like a logical progression onto "tales from the Punchbowl'. This album is 100% uncompromised Primus, which unfortunately means the most inaccesible. It's like the primordial Primus soup that they use to build upon in their other albums.
If you're looking to collect all of the Primus albums, I would definately recommend leaving this one 'till last. That said, if you're a fan, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grab Yer Self A Can A Pork Soda, Ya'll Have A Real Good Time, 1 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pork Soda (Audio CD)
Primus and this album especially are some what of a problem for me. This problem emergess due to the fact that when ever i listen to this album I find my self in a trance like state brought on by Les Claypool's hypnotic bass playing. This is a problem especially if i'm driving at the time, it is also a shame as this is a fine album. Odd too. Songs about the joys of a pig based beverage are few, and to be frank, far between. Which is a shame they can be great. I recomend you don't listen while operating heavy machinary, and have a big bag of pork scrathings near by, they may come in handy and if they don't their a tasty snack anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pork Soda
Pork Soda by Primus (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews