Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 January 2004
After becoming a huge fan of No Doubt's more recent releases and Gwen Stefani's huge talent for music and popular culture as a whole, I decided to investigate this band further and, after being warned off their eponymous debut album, plumped for this, their second release.
This CD was originally released in 1995, funded by the band themselves after being dropped by their record company when their first single and album were huge flops. Thankfully, smart people recognised its greatness and many snapped it up, which enticed their record label to take them on again!
After the huge success of the sequel, Tragic Kingdom (another great) this album was re-issued on a worldwide scale in 1997 - and it's just aswell! There are a great many worthwhile tracks on here that no No Doubt fan should miss out on! My particular favourites are the opener Open The Gate, rockier moment Snakes, the quirky closers Squeal and Doghouse and, best of all, the simply amazing Total Hate '95 - the most original and hard-hitting song I've heard in ages and maybe one of the best ska songs ever!
Every fan of the band should definitely own a copy of this album as it's probably their second best ever (maybe even their best at points?) and is an essential part of the No Doubt collection! I'd also recommend it to fans of all good ska and punk music. However if you only realy like No Doubt in smooth, radio-and-chart-friendly, Underneath-It-All-mode, or the more recent electro-influenced It's My Life, this might be one to avoid. No Doubt have shown great diversity between all music genres over the years, but this is definitely a ska-punk-rock album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2000
WOW this album is amazing the band display their many different musical influences which rage from punk, rock, and ska. Every song is full of energy and each song is different to the last one. OPEN THE GATE is a great song as it combines rock with ska. Other great songs on the album are, BLUE IN THE FACE, GREENER PASTURES and TOTAL HATE -an old school favourite of the band. One of no doubts strengths is there fantastic musical ability with Tony Kanal - a great bass player and Gwen Stefani's powerful voice. Plus the use of sax, trumpet and trombone lifts every song. Overall this is a great album which is fun, refreshing and lively and it will be liked by all not just die hard No Doubt fans. I've had to give this album 4 stars not 5 because there aren't enough songs there are only 10 and when you hear this album you'll want more. So go and buy it NOW or you'll regret it for the rest of your life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2003
This album is amazing.It totally upstages the rock steady album and there return of saturn(not that im saying there BAD albums just not as good as this).
Some of the songs on her are the best songs they wrote,such as "Open the gate","snakes",the high pitched "squeel" and well all the songs on here are great!!!
The complex guitar notes,the ever powerfull vocals, the bass the drums,the ska beats,the the lyrics!!!!Its all soooooo perfect apart from one thing..Its just too damm SHORT of an album ..oh well.
Not as good as trajic kingdom
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2004
This is No Doubt at a very musically strong point in their career. Their original ska-punk influences from bands such as The Specials are clearly evident here but in a much more refined and, for want of a better word, credible way in comparison to the band's self-titled debut. There's a real sense of musical experimentation, the likes of which No Doubt didn't return to until 2001's Rock Steady.
The album is very upbeat, beginning with the fantastic 'Open the Gate'. The highlights of this album include 'Total Hate '95' (undoubtedly the best song on the album) which is raucous ska punk genius, and 'Squeal' an unashamedly bouncy, loud track. Overall, the album is really hard not to like, it's full of life and is extremely cheerful, sweet and sunny. It's a perfect summer album.
However much I love No Doubt, I do think that occasionally their commitment to the 'wacky' and their very strong emphasis on image affects their output. And subsequently they've lost touch with their ska roots. Albums like 'Return of Saturn', however good they may be and however much I enjoy listening to them do make me miss their early stuff. The more famous they've become, especially the increasing mega star potential of Gwen Stefani, has led them to move away from their early influences, and I do sometimes think that's a shame. If you want to know what No Doubt are really all about, get this album. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2001
I was amazed by No Doubt when i first came across them in 1996, when just a girl first emerged and hrdly scraped the chart, power chords and girl power told me to rush and by the album. I talked of them and people said, who what? I was increasingly frustrated, and when the hype(as it always does) got bigger, people started to love and hate with the same ferociousness, by this time, Beacon Street was firmly wedged in my cd player, ahving found it on import for a silly price, well worth it though. The standout tracks for me are "Total Hate '95" a reworking of an early song written by former (passed on) band mate john spence, with gwen and bradley(from sublime also passed on) doing the vocals this tune gets you skanking all the way home, "Open The Gate" opens the album with a kick of power punk pop to knock NOFX from their post and crown it for themselves, "Squeal" is ska popping down the road in a way that can only make you smile. This is No Doubts finest creation, thwarting all the people saying they wouldnt know ska, or punk if it hit them in the face, well they know exactly what it is, they just arent as jaded and tied down to a sound as many bands are, buy this and u wont be dissapointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2002
I've got all of the No Dubt albums (sad isn't it ;)) but this has always been my favourite. Some people would say that it all sounds the same but it is much better than they're other albums. No Doubt was them finding they're feet, Tragic Kingdom was good but not as consistant as this, Return of Saturn has a few good tracks but no5thing special. And then there's Rock Steady - intestesting complete departure but this album is the one that I like the most. The ska beat and Gwen's fantastic vocals give this a summery feel that makes you wish that you lived in Anaheim California too!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2001
I only found out that No Doubt had other albums before Ttragic Kingdom when Browsing on Amazon.co.uk! I found out that there were two previous albums they being ; No Doubt and The Becon Street Collection! of what my review is about.
I was very excited to get it as I am a big fan of their latest album. I bought a re-issue of their independant release which was from 1995 The title is named so because it is a collection of their recordings which span 2 years! Some of the tracks were recored in the south bay and the rest was recorded in a Garage on Beacon Street!
This album similar to the latest albums, have rock in it but in my view deals more with Ska influences and although sounding a bit rougher on the edges on some tracks, the album is amazing!
If you had the Don't Speak single, you'll notice one track on there called Greener Pastures which was a great track and this is the album where it came from.
With Gwen Stefani on lead vocals, No Doubt can do no wrongas her voice is so distinctive and great.Another great track is the opener to the album Open The Gate. There is a song called Total Hate 95 which is a bit strange and seems a lot rocky great band though.
It is hard to pick out good songs as the album is 100% great I also really like Squeal and Snakes.
All I can say is if you like no doubts music, this album will not look out of place in your collection; this CD is juat fantsatic and was worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2000
This album conists of ten songs which No Doubt recorded between albums. Their unique blend of ska, funk and rock makes this album one of a kind. The styles vary from 'Total hate 95' (a reworked version of an old skool ska-punk classic) to the more rock-sounding 'Snakes' (also found on the 'Beavis and Butt-head do america' soundtrack). This is a must for all No Doubt fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
I think that this is a super great product, and so I would gladly buy it agian in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Great album worth buying love no doubt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)