Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting Sons, the album, the classic
Setting Sons is the album which best defines The Jams most prophetic period. Weller and Foxtons finely balanced composisions make this album a true classic. The album seems to have lost the rough edges which adorned the previous albums, but it still has managed to retain the cynical cheek which all fans have come to know and love. "Thick as Thevies" is a...
Published on 21 Aug 2000 by anwillis@lineone.net

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 2CD Deluxe Edition released 17.11.14
"Setting Sons", though arguably not the album it should have been (due to the fact that its concept was left unfinished) nevertheless represents The Jam at their peak. The fact that the bonus tracks on the first disc (A- and B-sides) are as good as the source LP itself speak volumes for the creative genius who is Paul Weller. And not forgetting Bruce Foxton whose best...
Published 1 month ago by Colin McCartney


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 2CD Deluxe Edition released 17.11.14, 21 Nov 2014
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
"Setting Sons", though arguably not the album it should have been (due to the fact that its concept was left unfinished) nevertheless represents The Jam at their peak. The fact that the bonus tracks on the first disc (A- and B-sides) are as good as the source LP itself speak volumes for the creative genius who is Paul Weller. And not forgetting Bruce Foxton whose best ever track "Smithers-Jones" - in orchestrated and unorchestrated versions - also appears here.

It's not surprising that "All Mod Cons" was the first Jam deluxe re-issue (because it is their best album). What IS surprising is that "Setting Sons" - an LP which typifies the Jam's sound more than any other - has been left to fourth (and, possibly last - assuming they don't bother with "In The City" and "The Modern World") in the series, because it's arguably their second best.

You wouldn't have thought it would be difficult for the record company to release a respectful re-issue of a record as good as this - irrespective of whether or not it contains previously unreleased music - due to the richness of the source material. Wrong. Whilst the first disc succeeds up to a point - you certainly can't argue with the music on there; the second disc is, peculiarly, a previously released live disc. Basically, the compilers have given zero thought to this.

Although, for me a re-issue is not necessarily about the contents of the record: a nice, faithfully reproduced artwork helps - which, sadly, we don't get. Remember the iconic dog and Union Jack deck chair on the back sleeve? It's not there anymore. Nor is the army memorabilia, or the lyrics that appeared on the vinyl inner. And then there was the cool label copy with the painted soldiers? Nope that's not there either - replaced by some unimaginative mod bulldog. Personally, I'm always suspicious of revised artwork - is the record company trying to save a few bob by avoiding royalty payments to the artist maybe?

Anyway, fans of the original album will be sorely disappointed - this one isn't worth the re-purchase. On the other hand, if you don't know "Setting Sons" and/or The Jam - then dive in - you wont find better music. 5/5 or the tunes. 1/5 for the compilation/reproduction/repackaging.

AN INTERESTING FOOTNOTE: As my fellow reviewer Philip D has pointed out - and I don't know whether this is generosity or a mistake on Amazon's part - at time of writing if you buy the Deluxe Edition CD from Amazon you get the AutoRIP of the Super Deluxe Edition with bonus track galore - get 'em while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting Sons, the album, the classic, 21 Aug 2000
By 
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
Setting Sons is the album which best defines The Jams most prophetic period. Weller and Foxtons finely balanced composisions make this album a true classic. The album seems to have lost the rough edges which adorned the previous albums, but it still has managed to retain the cynical cheek which all fans have come to know and love. "Thick as Thevies" is a song which I think that everyone can relate to, with its pumping base and machine gun drums, this song for me, is the best on the album. Paul Weller may have been responsible for 8 of the 9 composed tracks on the album ( exculding Heatwave) but we must not forget the genius that was Bruce Foxtons "Smithers Jones". This song brings some light relief to an album that can, after a while, become a bit wearing. ....Five stars for this little gem, a must have in any music lovers colection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever, 28 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
Due to their non stop output of top notch singles, The Jam are often understandably remembered as a "singles band", when in fact nothing could be further than the truth. They made some good albums as well, but Setting Sons was not one of them, because it's not just good it's absolutely superb! The songs relate to everyday issues that are as relevant now as they were when it was released. Buy this album - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jams greatest album, 10 Sep 2009
By 
DayTripper (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
Paul Weller was 21 when this album was released, but the songwriting shows an amazing level of maturity. No British songwriter has managed to articulate feelings of growing up and non dewy-eyed nostalga as well as Weller. On the brilliant Private Hell, he even manages to get inside the head of a middle aged, vallium addled housewife!
As Im old school, and up until recently listened to my old vinyl copy, I still divide this album into 2 sides. Side 1 Girl on the phone - Wasteland is perfect. Taking in the previously mentioned themes of growing up and middle age; along with war and urban alienation. Side 2 begins with Burning Sky (about growing apart from your childhood friends - although Im still not sure what bowing down to the Burning Sky specifically refers to). Following this is Bruce Foxtons finest moment, Smithers-Jones, a critque of the acceptance of the 9-5 grind (I believe the final chorus lyrics are by Weller). To follow we have 2 excellent tracks, Saturdays Kids - adolecents without much of a future; Eton Rifles - comment on the class system - the single sales of this track signalled that The Jam were hitting the big time. The album finishes with a cover of Heatwave - it doesnt really fit with the rest of the album, but is entertaining never the less.
The music needs no explaination - you either know The Jam 'sound' or you don't. All in all IMHO, this is a faultless album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden bonus, 21 Nov 2014
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
Personally I do think there is an appreciable sound quality improvement with this remaster. Disc 2 of the physical set is an improved version of the disc that was released with the Limited Edition of the BBC recordings. And if you think that you maybe should save up for the box set to get the Brighton live disc you could be in luck here as the AutoRIP files that are available with this are actually the Super Deluxe Edition files so you get all the demo recordings as well. Now that is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Top 10 favorite albums, 12 April 2005
By 
Andrew (Lansing, Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
First saw the Jam, on a Saturday afternoon on American Bandstand (they were supporting the then-new Setting Sons), and performed (Love Is Like A)Heatwave. Bought the LP the very next day, it's been in my collection ever since. Eton Rifles, Smithers-Jones, Saturday's Kids, are nothing short of magical. An absolute ORGY for the ears! Every track is great, including the still-relevant "Little Boy Soldiers".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam today, 13 Mar 2010
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
The Fab 3 at their best. I first heard Setting Sons as a 15 year old Mod in 1979. 30 years later it still makes the hair on my neck stand on end; even if, these days, I have more hair on my neck than on my head...
For David Cameron to try and lay claim to the Eton Rifles is just disgusting.
Buy it and love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An acceptable re-release., 19 Nov 2014
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
A perfectly acceptable remaster/reissue. Not sure if the original album sounds any different to the previous remasterings but at least they haven't made it sound worse, as they did with "Sound Affects". "Wasteland" sounds particularly good on this mastering, so maybe it has been slightly improved.

As regards the live disc, yes it was released before, but the sound on it is now considerably improved. The previous release was pretty unlistenable.

Regarding the lack of "unreleased material". There probably isn't any, save a few grainy demos. Demos of some of the tracks from this album are on "The Jam - Extras" and pretty unremarkable they are too. Not a fan of demo versions. I prefer the finished article.

Regarding the lyrics. If you don't know them by now, you never will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jam at their peak, 13 Oct 2004
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
The fourth album from the "Woking Wonders" starts with the grinding riff of "girl on the phone" a number that was quickly written in the studio to complete the album....it works
"Thick as thieves" is next and is one of the best tunes on the album, typical Jam from that era.
The album claimed to have a theme (at the time) and many of the tracks (much like the Kinks "Arthur" album)do seem to be about the lives of "lads" growing up, getting jobs/joining the army and growing bitter and disallusioned with life.
Track nine Eton Rifles is well known, and the albums finishes at track ten with a cover of "Heatwave" which sticks out like a sore thumb. Overall a classic album...at least 7 great songs, and a coupla not bads. A worthy album for any fan of the Jam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More mod cons (with the emphasis on CON), 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Setting Sons (Audio CD)
This short review is for the 2 CD deluxe edition of Setting Sons. The actual album would get 4 stars from me. I prefer Sound Effects and All Mod Cons but Setting Sons isn't far behind in terms of greatness. The mastering on this release sounds fine to my old ears. There's a bit more welly overall but nothing approaching distortion or compression hell.

Where this release falls down is on the bonus disk. I expect there are a few fans of the deluxe editions of Mod Cons, S Effects, and The Gift ? Although the demo stuff and other bits and pieces included in those weren't mind blowing they were still worth having and I was thrilled they had been included. When I found out that SS was going to get the deluxe treatment as well I stupidly assumed that the extra material we were going to get was going to be comparable to the previous releases. You know where this is going, don't you ? :)

So, what do you get on this so-called deluxe edition ? You get the contemporaneous singles and b sides tacked onto the first disk. Then disk 2 is the already released concert from Brighton. Came out with that Jam At The BBC collection years back (A MUCH more essential purchase than this one, I can assure you). Not one unreleased or unusual track on the whole thing. On top of that, you get that horrid wrap-round sticky thing with Deluxe Edition printed on it as opposed to the much nicer plastic slipcases we used to get back when I was in shorts and you could leave your front door open and not have to worry about burglars). Tell you what. If anyone burgled my CD collection I'm betting they'd leave the Setting Sons deluxe edition behind.

Or at the very least post it back next day with a note saying "No Thanks".

Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Setting Sons
Setting Sons by The Jam (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews