Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish pipes win every time
OK, so you can dance without moving your arms. But there is something about this sort of continuous yet subtly changing music. The Storm is a series of very different tunes, the title track being a mixture of rock and pipes, building to a crescendo. The fact that the Uilleann pipes, as played by Davy Spillane, can be played, like a guitar, without stopping to breathe,...
Published on 26 Aug 2002 by john garratt

versus
8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moving Hearts-The Storm
Although there are some wonderful moments on this album, I actually find it slightly frustrating.Just when you're really getting into a captivating Irish tune accompanied in some really innovative ways (e.g. the rock, pop and jazz sounds) some disastrous 80's synthesiser will take over and spoil a magnificent track with a pointless, boring and unpleasant solo (examples:...
Published on 10 Aug 2004 by Bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish pipes win every time, 26 Aug 2002
By 
john garratt (Amersham, BUCKS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
OK, so you can dance without moving your arms. But there is something about this sort of continuous yet subtly changing music. The Storm is a series of very different tunes, the title track being a mixture of rock and pipes, building to a crescendo. The fact that the Uilleann pipes, as played by Davy Spillane, can be played, like a guitar, without stopping to breathe, means that they can drive a whole number from beginning to end. This short CD is a combination of traditional with rock overlays and quiet, meaningful tunes with whistles. Anyone who likes traditional Irish music will like the plaintive pipes, anyone into a more rockier style will like the guitar work interplaying with the more traditional pipes and whistles. All too short at just 38 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Storm in a tea cup....., 9 Aug 2006
By 
Damien Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
What follows here are a number of non-lyrical pieces of music that defy classification. It's not traditional in the normal sense because of its modern feel yet the instruments of traditional music are used. The album tone is extremely affecting, possessing an "influence" of a poem. I would recommend listening to the album while driving as it has a very calming affect. The first track is "the lark", a roving celebration, I suppose, to that tuneful bird. 12 minutes plus, I might add. Then the mood changes to the moody yet delicious piece called "the Titanic", a tribute perhaps, to the mighty liner. This tune is especially spiced up with wonderfully slow additions of instruments a la tubular bells. "The Storm", the title track continues in a similar vein, evoking a feel of huge waves, salt water spray and ever darkening clouds. "Finore" and "Tribute" are slower than the previous offerings with magical offerings, particularly from the wonderful Uillean pipes. "May Morning Dew" a very short piece evokes a mood of awakening and helps the album finish gently.

This album has reached "classic" status in Ireland with arguably the cream of instrumentalists working together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars traditional Irish music made bang up to date, 10 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
a beuatifully crafted selection made, even better by irelands finest musicians. wonderful woodwind and bodrahn with synths. the track "tribute to pedar o'donnel" must be one of the finest solo uillean pipe peices recorded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The music of demon angels, 11 Nov 2008
By 
C. Watkins (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
This album (from 1985) is a masterpiece, one of a kind (but see note below), not categorisable. You must listen to it. A line-up of Ireland's best musicians from all genres play music which is like nothing else. This is a great album to buy, especially as in 2007 they started to do live gigs again. And the CD of that is just as good. Get them both and you'll just enjoy them both with no wish to compare. I had the musical event of a lifetime when I saw them live in Limerick. I'm still pinching myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
Really like it but love the Lament on uileann pipes .What a band and what snazzy sax playing by Keith Donald
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A blast from my past, 21 May 2014
By 
Colin "artfully-vague" (Tewkesbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
Moving hearts - The Storm takes me back 15 years to when I first heard it on tape sitting having dinner with friends. It was captivating and I re-discovered it recently when I stumbled over a YouTube video of Moving Hearts playing Finore from the album with Christy Moore playing his haunting low whistle. Magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In like a tornado, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
The CD was as good as expected, it has added a little moore depth to my Irish collection. well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish pipes win every time, 26 Aug 2002
By 
john garratt (Amersham, BUCKS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
OK, so you can dance without moving your arms. But there is something about this sort of continuous yet subtly changing music. The Storm is a series of very different tunes, the title track being a mixture of rock and pipes, building to a crescendo. The fact that the Uilleann pipes, as played by Davy Spillane, can be played, like a guitar, without stopping to breathe, means that they can drive a whole number from beginning to end. This short CD is a combination of traditional with rock overlays and quiet, meaningful tunes with whistles. Anyone who likes traditional Irish music will like the plaintive pipes, anyone into a more rockier style will like the guitar work interplaying with the more traditional pipes and whistles. All too short at just 38 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A band flying., 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
Third time I've owned this great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moving Hearts-The Storm, 10 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Storm (Audio CD)
Although there are some wonderful moments on this album, I actually find it slightly frustrating.Just when you're really getting into a captivating Irish tune accompanied in some really innovative ways (e.g. the rock, pop and jazz sounds) some disastrous 80's synthesiser will take over and spoil a magnificent track with a pointless, boring and unpleasant solo (examples: "The Storm" and "Tribute To Peadar O'Donnell").If they stayed in the background this would be the masterpiece it is rated as.
Although i think the album is slightly overrated you can't alter the fact that this is many of the world's finest musicians and Davy Spillane and Keith Donald in particular shine through.The opening track "The Lark" is magnificent, some great tunes and an awesome sax solo that sounds anything but out of place. "The Storm" and "Tribute To Peadar O'Donnell" are also magnificent...except for that pesky synthesiser!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Storm
The Storm by Moving Hearts (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews