Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Offspring's Definitive Album
It seems like a good time to look back at one of the biggest selling punk albums in the nineties. In approximately nine days, it will be ten years since the release of Smash. So what better time than to write a review on it? :-)
Smash to The Offspring is what Definately Maybe is to Oasis, despite ten years of great music, Dexter and the rest of the group have never...
Published on 13 Jan. 2006 by Chris C

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not their best album
I like the Offspring, but this isn't their best album. While there are a handful of good tracks on here, there are equally a handful of average ones. The whole album is quite morose in tone as well. In my opinion, 'Ixnay on the Hombre' is the definitivee Offspring album, and it's a much better all round album than Smash.
Published 21 months ago by Dan


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Offspring's Definitive Album, 13 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
It seems like a good time to look back at one of the biggest selling punk albums in the nineties. In approximately nine days, it will be ten years since the release of Smash. So what better time than to write a review on it? :-)
Smash to The Offspring is what Definately Maybe is to Oasis, despite ten years of great music, Dexter and the rest of the group have never managed to make an album that is as consistently great as this one. I know many people might disagree with me here, but even if Pretty Fly did get to number one, it never matched the sheer class of Come Out and Play.
The album begins with a tongue in cheek introduction telling the listener to lean back and enjoy the melodies. However, this is not the type of album you can just relax to, and that is pointed out from the moment Nitro kicks in. The music is much more faster and rawer here with songs like Genocide, Something to Believe In and Not The One.
However, there is also the type of music that most people will know The Offspring for like the poppiness of Gotta Get Away and Killboy Powerhead. But it also delves into anger and paranoia with the dark Bad Habit and the twisted Self Esteem. If this does not get my point across then just think after you play this album, Pretty Fly will become less and less in your most played list.
Here's to ten years of classic songwriting, catchy hooks and brilliant riffs. :-) Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a trendy asshole, 20 April 2000
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
"It's time to relax", the opening phrase of the album, not a good idea. If you relax for one second you will miss some of this awesome, punk rock masterpiece. The whole album gels together to provide a pivot for the Offspring's bid for world domination. Opening track Nitro is punk rock fury at it's best while Bad Habit contains, THAT line, you know, the screamed one about the stupid motherf... Anyway, the album continues it's high standard, especially on the punk rock singalong that is genocide, and then track seven, Come Out and Play. Wow. What a track, the catchiest, generally amazing song you will ever hear. Undoubtedly the albums highpoint. It continues with Self-Esteem, another highpoint and goes on laying waste to all pretenders to the punk rock throne. Ending with a title track of positively epic proportions, you will soon be singing "I'm not a trendy asshole, do what I want, do what I feel like" to everyone you meet. All I can say is buy this album, you won't be disappointed, unless maybe you are one of those trendy assholes that Dexter Holland so despises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hah! and you thought Americana was good!, 24 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
Yes I know you liked Americana! But be prepared for a surprise because this is from back when they weren't some mainstream punk rock band. They were one of the best underground punk rock bands around with their style of controlled aggression. They can still be seen as sell-outs but at the moment they are, from their official website, letting you download their new album 'Conspiracy Of One' (before it's proper release) for an MP3; but they'll also enter you into a draw to win $1,000,000 (that's 667,000 english pounds). Any way back to this album; I became a real (The)Offspring fan after hearing this. I couldn't get enough of tracks like 'Self Esteem' or 'Smash'. You'll love every single song on this album and if you own 'Ixnay on the Hombre' you'll recognise the intro to 'Change The World' (the best intro part ever!!!). I hate to say this though but some of the tracks do sound a bit the same (the high pitched guitar part for 'Genocide' is the intro to 'Change The World' speeded up). But put that aside and you'll love this album; it's much better than that namby pamby Green Day in comparison. But don't get me wrong Green Day WERE good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply- Their best album EVER!, 2 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
I own all the offspring albums, and this is by far their best. Although it does have an element of repitition, in that some parts are identical, they have there own world, of fast paced rock... agression, and excellent lyrics, which no other punk band has ever got close to. Before they started to go soft on their material (Americana & Conspiracy of one- I'm not saying these are poor- just not as good.) They really show what punk is about with songs like "Come out and play" and "not the one." But of course the best and most true songs of all are "smash" and "Self Esteem." I strongly recomend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is my favorite album of the Offspring! Buy it!, 30 Jan. 2005
By 
M. MISER (Nowhere I will tell u) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
This album is the best Offspring album out there. There just too many good tracks on this CD to name. From "Bad Habit" to "Self-Esteem". They are all beautifully crafted and are quite possibly the album which is one of the best albums of the 90's. All fans should listen to this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Americana is nothing compared to this, 9 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
Smash by the offspring really brought out their talent. The album composes at times hardcore punk action on 'smash' , 'self esteem' and 'bad habit'.Also has the more poppy songs like'what happened to you'and 'nitro'. I give this album 5 stars because it landmarks a period in my childhood when i idolised this punk bandand still do. The album also has some amazing tracks like 'genocide','come out and play'. This album is a MUST buy. It'll give you hours of hardcore enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a great album and a must buy, 27 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
I started listening to the offspring when I got americana and then moved on to this after I was told it was good. It's not good it's brilliant it has some truly memorable tracks that make you just want to jump around your room. The best tracks are Nitro [youth energy], come out and play and killboy powerhead but self esteem and so alone are also good and time to relax is a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Don't Know What Your Missing!!, 1 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
The first album of Offspring I baught was Americana, and I have to say that I was dissapointed after all the hype that I'd heard, and it's still my opinion that Americana's the worst Offspring album, I then bought Conspiracy of one when it was released and found it to be a massive improvement on Americana but when I bought Smash I was blown away, it's one of the top 3 albums I own along with Dookie by Green Day and Dude Ranch by Blink 182. Offspring's harder more punky sound is a hell of a lot better than their recent stuff although there is a similar style with Come Out And Play and Original Prankster. But if you have not heard Offspring's older stuff then you don't know what your missing out on. If your looking for a straight forward punk-rock album with no messing around then Smash and the Offspring are for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Offspring-the better style, 28 Nov. 2002
By 
DIAN MILSTEAD (Carradale, Argyll United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
The offspring (1987-present) are in my view one of the greatest bands ever to come out of america. this album, their third out of a current seven, is by far their best. it is one of the best selling rock albums ever and by listening to it you can see why, there is no crappy track which you have to skip through, they have plenty of different styles on there, ranging from post-grunge to punk-pop, and dexters writing on this album is definatly his best so far. if you don't own an offspring album then i recommend you by this one and it wont be ling until you have to order one of their other albums; the offspring, ignition, ixnay on the hombre, or conspiracy of oone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Play loud. Annoy the neighbours. ENJOY!, 26 May 2000
By 
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
To put it simply, this is one of the best albums i have ever heard. If like me, u have heard "americana" and wondered what other delights the offspring have in store for you, look no further for this is it. Apart from the one song that sounds more like a bad commercial, this never lets up. If you are new to rock, or have never ventured into the fray that is punk rock before, or even if you only ever buy one punk rock cd, i would suggest that this be the CD for you. With smash boasting songs of this quality, i guarantee that u'll be pushing your stereo speakers to new a new extreme. A CLASSIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smash
Smash by The Offspring (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews