Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2001
This masterly work is probably Haydn's greatest masterpiece, and one hearing is enough to explain why the great Beethoven esteemed it so highly that it led him to say he would 'kneel before Haydn's grave'. Sharply focused conducting by the incomparable Karajan and an unforgettable line-up of soloits conspire to make this probably my favourite CD. The recording is excellent and the woodwind sound is glorious. The most wonderful thing about this CD, though, is Gundula Janowitz's heavenly singing - in track 5 on the first CD, for example, she simply blows the listener away - yet without ever singing 'louder than lovely'. An absolute must-buy!
11 comment|94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
I'm not at all keen on religious music, but this recording of Haydn's "Creation" is wonderful! It's quite cheerful; anyone who likes Mozart (everyone?) should also like this. I don't know German but this doesn't make any difference here. There is a full libretto (in English, German, French and Italian) - but the overall sound produced is so good that one doesn't have to understand the words to enjoy the listening experience. HvK made a point of recording operas and other works in the original language, as the words and music were designed to fit together, producing a harmonious sound.

It was recorded from 2/1966 to 4/1969; this was due to the busy schedules of the artists concerned, and also to the untimely accidental death of Fritz Wunderlich (voted 4th greatest tenor of all time in the BBC Music Magazine of April 2008). Fortunately he had already recorded almost all his arias by then and mainly left the recitatives for his replacement Werner Krenn. Gundula Janowitz and Christina Ludwig have the most beautiful, clear voices, Walter Berry a great bass singer and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau one of the greatest Baritones ever; a dream of a cast which I'm sure would be difficult to equal today (and I'm also certain that it couldn't be bettered).

It was Karajan who managed to bring all these great singers together. He had many talents, and one was his ability to attract the very best singers of the day. They were practically queuing up to sing for him, as he gave them what they needed as regards to the orchestral accompaniment. He had a sixth sense which told him when singers were in difficulty, e.g. if they were running out of breath, he would adjust the orchestra accordingly. Also, he ensured the orchestra never swamped the singers - every note (singers and orchestra) is as clear as a bell.

A truly great recording - Amazing when you think that the venue (Berlin's Jesus Christus Kirche) was directly under the flight path of Berlin's main Airport - the constant interruptions must have tried everyone's patience to extreme!

Refurbished by DG in 1997 and reissued under "The Originals; Legendary Recordings" so the recording quality is also excellent.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2009
This recording of Haydn's 'Die Schopfung' has not been bettered, even though it was recorded in the mid-sixties. The singing of Gundula Janowitz as Gabriel and Eva is truly heavenly. This is worth buying just for her-what a voice!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
Karajan's interpretations of the great masterpieces have divided opinion sharply but there can be no doubt whatever that this is one of his great recordings, a supreme reading of Haydn's supreme masterpiece. With a plethora of soloists - all superb - this fully brings out the genius of the great work. Wunderlich tragically died while the recording was still in progress but he managed to record the major tenor pieces and this recording is worth buying for his contribution alone. But then as Janowitz is simply amazing, floating the great melodies, the same could be said about her. This is certainly the best ever Creation, although if you want it in English you must look elsewhere, probably to McCreesh. But in German this Creation is unbeatable.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
As ever the Penguin guide proved itself invaluable as a means of eliminating the indifferent (or good) from the superlative.

This work by Haydn is magnificently presented by a conductor I have had many problems with in the past (and whom I still believe as considerably overrated). Here he uses the considerable forces at his disposal (all soloists being at the peak of their powers) in what to me is a near definitive production of this numinous work.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Janowitz and Fischer-Dieskau - two fabulous voices for this recording
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
beautiful clarity and just how I wanted to hear such a stirring piece of music
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
A recording of astonishing beauty. A work of genius, performed by an all star cast. No one could be disappointed by this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
A much-lauded version, and I admire Karajan's great recordings such as Parsifal and Gotterdammerung, but little did I realise until I 'accidentally bought' this recording (not from Amazon I hasten to add) that he also offers us a previously unknown Wagner masterpiece called "Die Schopfung" (excuse the missing umlauts). Joking (?) aside this is a turgid mess. It takes ages to get going, as if God is having a good snooze, and when it does finally burst into some semblance of life, almost immediately disappears into disconnected gobbets of beautifully sung nothingness. Yes Janowitz is in gorgeous voice, and indeed Wunderlich had a demonstration-quality German tenor voice that no longer seems to exist, and it's sad that he died so young, though here he is cold and prissy (to my ears), and there are Fischer-Dieskau and (somewhere) Ludwig to hear or in her case see on the cast list. But it is an inorganic, detached, unidiomatic pain from start to finish. McCreesh is the one to buy - from your helpful local high street CD shop of course - with the English version to boot. All that Karajan sludge worked up over numerous studio sessions with the performances phoned in from the living, the dead and the uninterested, is surely well past its sell-by. ADDENDUM: a couple of commenters have accused my review of being 'bizarre'. What IS bizarre is that the self-selecting reviewers who give this vaguely interesting document 5*s is that they obviously don't realise what a klutz Karajan is in this kind of repertoire. That is why they bought the recording in the first place. Generally speaking his recordings murder Haydn and Mozart, and I only bought this on the strength of the wildly enthusiastic reviews here. But lo and behold we get Karajan's trademark late romantic sludge, with no energy or drive, with ponderous overemphasis that actually sometimes makes Haydn sound like an idiot. What's more because this is not remotely a performance, but is instead an edit of takes spread over an extended period, the stellar cast do not gel, but sound suspended in a sort of zombie world. If I persuade one person to buy McCreesh instead of this my purpose is served. And no in response to one commenter: I don't think Wagner wrote Die Schopfung: but Karajan seems to. Haydn's Creation: Karajan's Destruction.
66 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Hope the people who found my previous copy in the glovebox of my previous car enjoy it as much as I do!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)