Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - buy it!
I'm not at all keen on religious music, but this recording of Haydn's "Creation" is wonderful! It's quite cheerful; anyone who likes Mozart (everyone?) should also like this. I don't know German but this doesn't make any difference here. There is a full libretto (in English, German, French and Italian) - but the overall sound produced is so good that one doesn't have...
Published on 14 July 2009 by W. Lozinska

versus
6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Die Schopfung... by Richard Wagner!
A much-lauded version, and I admire Karajan's great recordings such as Parsifal and Gotterdammerung, but little did I realise until I 'accidentally bought' this recording (not from Amazon I hasten to add) that he also offers us a previously unknown Wagner masterpiece called "Die Schopfung" (excuse the missing umlauts). Joking (?) aside this is a turgid mess. It takes ages...
Published on 22 Jan. 2013 by nickmoth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - buy it!, 14 July 2009
By 
W. Lozinska "Wanda" (Stroud, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
I'm not at all keen on religious music, but this recording of Haydn's "Creation" is wonderful! It's quite cheerful; anyone who likes Mozart (everyone?) should also like this. I don't know German but this doesn't make any difference here. There is a full libretto (in English, German, French and Italian) - but the overall sound produced is so good that one doesn't have to understand the words to enjoy the listening experience. HvK made a point of recording operas and other works in the original language, as the words and music were designed to fit together, producing a harmonious sound.

It was recorded from 2/1966 to 4/1969; this was due to the busy schedules of the artists concerned, and also to the untimely accidental death of Fritz Wunderlich (voted 4th greatest tenor of all time in the BBC Music Magazine of April 2008). Fortunately he had already recorded almost all his arias by then and mainly left the recitatives for his replacement Werner Krenn. Gundula Janowitz and Christina Ludwig have the most beautiful, clear voices, Walter Berry a great bass singer and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau one of the greatest Baritones ever; a dream of a cast which I'm sure would be difficult to equal today (and I'm also certain that it couldn't be bettered).

It was Karajan who managed to bring all these great singers together. He had many talents, and one was his ability to attract the very best singers of the day. They were practically queuing up to sing for him, as he gave them what they needed as regards to the orchestral accompaniment. He had a sixth sense which told him when singers were in difficulty, e.g. if they were running out of breath, he would adjust the orchestra accordingly. Also, he ensured the orchestra never swamped the singers - every note (singers and orchestra) is as clear as a bell.

A truly great recording - Amazing when you think that the venue (Berlin's Jesus Christus Kirche) was directly under the flight path of Berlin's main Airport - the constant interruptions must have tried everyone's patience to extreme!

Refurbished by DG in 1997 and reissued under "The Originals; Legendary Recordings" so the recording quality is also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Dream Team' of soloists sing Haydn's greatest masterpiece, 21 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
This masterly work is probably Haydn's greatest masterpiece, and one hearing is enough to explain why the great Beethoven esteemed it so highly that it led him to say he would 'kneel before Haydn's grave'. Sharply focused conducting by the incomparable Karajan and an unforgettable line-up of soloits conspire to make this probably my favourite CD. The recording is excellent and the woodwind sound is glorious. The most wonderful thing about this CD, though, is Gundula Janowitz's heavenly singing - in track 5 on the first CD, for example, she simply blows the listener away - yet without ever singing 'louder than lovely'. An absolute must-buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Creation, 13 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Karajan's interpretations of the great masterpieces have divided opinion sharply but there can be no doubt whatever that this is one of his great recordings, a supreme reading of Haydn's supreme masterpiece. With a plethora of soloists - all superb - this fully brings out the genius of the great work. Wunderlich tragically died while the recording was still in progress but he managed to record the major tenor pieces and this recording is worth buying for his contribution alone. But then as Janowitz is simply amazing, floating the great melodies, the same could be said about her. This is certainly the best ever Creation, although if you want it in English you must look elsewhere, probably to McCreesh. But in German this Creation is unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the best!, 22 Sept. 2009
By 
V. Rendall (Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
This recording of Haydn's 'Die Schopfung' has not been bettered, even though it was recorded in the mid-sixties. The singing of Gundula Janowitz as Gabriel and Eva is truly heavenly. This is worth buying just for her-what a voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well guided, 9 April 2010
By 
P.B.W. (Preston Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
As ever the Penguin guide proved itself invaluable as a means of eliminating the indifferent (or good) from the superlative.

This work by Haydn is magnificently presented by a conductor I have had many problems with in the past (and whom I still believe as considerably overrated). Here he uses the considerable forces at his disposal (all soloists being at the peak of their powers) in what to me is a near definitive production of this numinous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars haydn, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
little disappointed. Not quite what I imagined it to be. Some super tracks, with great quality sound but
a think personal taste came down to it, which shouldnt spoil the overall rating really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the creation, 8 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
beautiful clarity and just how I wanted to hear such a stirring piece of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recording, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Janowitz and Fischer-Dieskau - two fabulous voices for this recording
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Fabulous. All star cast. Gundula janowitz is sublime.... Buy it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haydn: The Creation, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Excellent price for classic recording of this work, digitally remastered by Deutsche Gramophon. Arrived very promptly, pristine in cellophane wrapping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals)
Haydn: The Creation (Die Schopfung) (DG The Originals) by Gundula Janowitz (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews