Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detail you just dont hear elsewhere!
One might have thought that the Ballet suites have been recorded too many times, for anyone to get excited about 'another' recording! In truth these are fabulous performances, with inner detail that I have to say I haven't heard in any other recordings! At an incredibly low price, I urge anyone thinking of buying a recording of the suites to look no further.
A...
Published on 11 Oct 2007 by Tim Taylor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-dramatic Ballet music.
One of the intrinsic problems with recording ballet music is that it tends to be fitted to musical performance without regard to the demands of the dancers. This means that one has to make different allowances for tempi and style when the music is heard out of the context for which it was written. These excerpts I found a bit over-dramatic in places, and sometimes very...
Published 4 months ago by Geoffrey Bennetts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detail you just dont hear elsewhere!, 11 Oct 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
One might have thought that the Ballet suites have been recorded too many times, for anyone to get excited about 'another' recording! In truth these are fabulous performances, with inner detail that I have to say I haven't heard in any other recordings! At an incredibly low price, I urge anyone thinking of buying a recording of the suites to look no further.
A superb cellist and wonderful conductor, golly how we will miss him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 28 Jan 2009
By 
MR P FITTON (Oldham, Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
Fantastic music, superb performances and excellent sound. The govt should issue every music department in every school in the country with a free copy of this CD (along with another DG Originals classic - the Karajan/BPO disc of La Mer/Pictures at an Exhibition/Bolero, and lots of Sibelius & Shostakovich) in order to demonstrate to kids how exciting classical music can be.

Tchaikovsky's ballet suites are endlessly inventive musically and are packed with great melodic ideas, fantastic orchestration and, well, wonderfull tunes. Personally, I much prefer the composer in this kind of exuberant mood than in his supposedly more serious symphonic works.

It's a pity that the Rostropovich/BPO combo never recorded the full scores of any of these works, because after hearing the three suites on this CD you'll want to hear Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty and The Nutcracker in full.

Incidentally, by DG Originals standards this is not a particularly old recording - it's from 1978. Accordingly the sound quality is first rate and much better than most current digital recordings.

An iconic CD that you should not be without (even if, like me, you were once idiotic enough to sneer at Tchaikovsky. D'oh!).

Anyway, if you want a CD of Tchaikovsky's ballet suites (and why on earth wouldn't you?) then this is simply in a class of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Tchaikovsky disc, 23 Oct 2003
By 
Marc Haegeman "Marc Haegeman" (Gent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
Outstanding versions of Tchaikovsky’s three popular ballet suites. The Berlin Philharmonic is in glowing form and Mstislav Rostropovich on the rostrum sounds inspired as none else. Warmly and dynamically recorded, with plenty of orchestral detail, this thrilling disc may stand as a criterion from the analogue era.
If you only need the suites, or if you think this music no longer holds any surprises for you, this is the CD to go for. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning., 18 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
I was looking for the best version I could find of these beautiful, timeless pieces, and found it!
An aspiring ballerina as a little girl, and avid theatre goer over the years, I had come to love and treasure these famous compositions, like everyone does. But, being of a professional, musical family background, I have a very good ear and can pick out the slightest tweak, which leaves me frustrated. More often that not, I find most recordings lacking in lustre. Precision, quality and interpretation being weak, poor and flat. But not here, it's the Berlin Philharmonic for one. Their performances are always remarkable. Internationally outstanding and renowned for it. Two, they are conducted by Rostropovich! Regarded as exceptionally demanding of his players, never settling for less than optimum. A chemistry nothing less than magical. And although the recording is 30 years old (1979), it has been optimised using the "Original Image Bit Processing" technique. The music is alive, brilliant and very natural. And everytime I listen to it (nearly everyday since it arrived!), I am afforded great joy, hearing further detail and roundness. A musical journey of exceptional quality and delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best, 13 Dec 2008
By 
R. Fraser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
It's hard to get excited about this music, most of it played to death on Classic FM. However, the quality of the performances and the recordings are so exemplary I could enjoy these all over again.

Buy these even if you have the music already. You really owe your collection this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant CD, to my mind the very best orchestra, brilliantly played!!! What more can I say, we used to have this on vinyl years ago, and I am so pleased to have it now on CD.
The delivery service was very fast and I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Variances in volume., 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
Not sure what the problem is that some people are perceiving here. The volumes reflects the sound levels you can expect at a live concert where volumes are not "normalized" or adjusted so that all are at the same level. They are dynamic with great crescendos rising from a quiet and peaceful passage of the music and this recording accurately recreate a live concert. A full orchestra is a very powerful sound source; a single instrument less so. I think this is a beautiful recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic restored, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Enobarbus (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
Every so often, there comes a disc which makes you hear familiar music with new ears. Most performances of these suites sound routine: neither the orchestra nor the conductor can be bothered to do much but go through the motions and trust that the recording engineers will somehow make the issue worthwhile. Anyone who thinks they never want to listen to Tchaikowsky again should try this: what exciting and original orchestration, what a cornucopia of melody. Rostropovich is never quirky or self-indulgent, he simply finds a lot of musical richness here which has somehow often been missed or smudged. The music sounds fresh, engaging, in many ways progressive: not a word you normally reach for when talking about Tchaikowsky.It's the kind of attention to detail Mozart often enjoys but rarely these warhorses. A wonderful experience. And the disc's also ridiculously cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tchaikovsky Balley Suites., 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
Great excerpts from the full Ballet Music of Tchaikovsky.
A wonderful gift for somebody who likes both Ballet and
Tchaikovsky as a taster for the ech of the full pieces of Music !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a mini ballerina, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. Lucy King "Story worm" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites (Audio CD)
Purchased for my seven year old to dance around the house to - or listen to in the car. Three Tchaikovsky ballets on one disc (edited versions of course) - fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites
Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suites by Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews