Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aboslutely stunning!!, 11 Jan 2005
By 
ch0pper "ch0pper" (SOUTHAMPTON, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra / Till Eulenspiegels / Don Juan / Salome (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
I bought this recording when it first appeared on vinyl. At the time, provided that you had a decent quality turntable, cartridge and tone arm, connected to a decent amplifier and speakers, it was utterly enthralling. The recording is incredibly rich and the full detail of the orchestra can be clearly discerned.
What was, for me, uncanny, was the reverbaration and echo in the recording hall that was clear on the disc. The dynamic range was huge, yet the detail was amazing.
The transfer to CD is a masterpiece. It has lost none of the presence and immediacy of the vinyl recording and there is reduced 'background noise'.
This is the 'Also sprach' to buy. You owe it to your neighbours to play it loudly and let them enjoy this stunning recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music of the spheres, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Henk van Rensburg (Centurion, Gauteng South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra / Till Eulenspiegels / Don Juan / Salome (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Thirty years later, there still hasn't been a better sounding "Zarathustra". There have been more analytical recordings (including Karajan 1984), and higher-fidelity, but the beauty of the sounds that emerge from the speakers transcends any technical considerations. (It is earphone-safe too, with no peaking or distortion.) More importantly, the music ebbs and flows naturally, like the thoughts of a great mind: Karajan was a Strauss master, and so, it seems, was every member of the Berlin Philharmonic. (Special praise to the concert master, Michel Schwalbé, who delivers the Tanzlied with admirable purity of tone and Viennese Schwung and yes, a sense of ecstasy.) This is exhilarating stuff, whether you want to commune with the spirit of Nietzsche, or revel in orchestral virtuosity, or watch galaxies form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB and IMPOSING !, 12 Aug 2008
By 
ONOFRE MOREIRA (Ovar, PORTUGAL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra / Till Eulenspiegels / Don Juan / Salome (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
SUPERB PERFORMANCE and BRILLIANT RECORDING ! This CD is not a Karajan Gold... but a KARAJAN PLATINUM. VERY STRONGLY RECOMMENDED !

Despite the encomiastic excellence, authority and clearness of "Gramophone", I don't agree, at times, with theirs reviews. But I entirely agree with the "Gramophone"'s Reviewer - alluding, "in brief", to the Tone Poem "Also Sprach Zarathustra" (1973 version: 'DG, The Originals') - when he writes ["The Gramophone Classical Music Guide" - 2008, p. 1029]: "Arguably the most imposing of Karajan's three recordings. An interpretation of tremendous stature and aplomb; fabulous playing from the Berliners who have a uniquely dense sound when they play the music of Richard Strauss under Karajan".

And, when compares the 1973 and the 1983 ('DG, Karajan Gold') versions,
the "Gramophone"'s Reviewer writes ("Op. cit.", page 1030): "The playing of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra on the both sets is as glourious as
ever (...) and in Strauss Karajan have no peer. As a recording 1983 disc
is very good indeed. The famous opening as greater intensity in the 1973
version, and you may prefer its marginaly greater warmth and glow of the strings". [...].
"To sum up, Karajan's classic 1973 account holds sway".

I fully subscribe these reviews.

But the CD also embrace the astonishing and marvellous Tone Poems "Don Juan" and "Till Eulenspiegel Lustige Streiche", a clear first choice in both works, extremely well played, and the bonus of the splendid, stimulant and exciting "Salome"'s "Dance of Seven Veils" ("Tanz der Sieben Schleier").
In a word: A disc generously full (79' of running time) and of greater quality.

And, to conclude, for the ones who enjoy the good appearance of a disc (or a box set), I emphasize the beautiful (and appropriate) NASA's Cover Photo
of the CD's booklet.

ONOFRE MOREIRA (PORTUGAL)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good as the original LP, 9 Jan 2014
By 
P. Brown (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra / Till Eulenspiegels / Don Juan / Salome (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
I have had the LP in my collection for near enough 30 years. However in terms of getting the emotion from an old analogue vinyl round thing the CD from the same label does not quite cut it. I suppose for old fashioned vinyl junkies like me the CD is still lacking in something. Maybe I should buy the equivalent CD player to my aged LP12 turntable! The organ in the infamous opening track is just not that clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "More of a mighty clang than a reverberative dong", 20 Aug 2008
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra / Till Eulenspiegels / Don Juan / Salome (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
The opening organ chord lasts eighteen seconds on this 1973 recording of Also Sprach Karajan. I prefer the 1984 version (also reviewed on Amazon), to which I give the full five stars. Here, the timpani are more to the fore, the sound is loftier, more stately, but not lush. One often feels in a trance as the music hangs in the air, for example at the end of the measured descent at the end of the `Song of the Grave' - and of course at the music's very end.

The performance is more restrained (if that is possible) with a greater contrast in volumes. The Midnight Bell chimes suitably loud but is less resonant than in 1984, more of a clang than a reverberative dong.

But if you simply must have Karajan (and why not? In the sleeve notes Richard Osborne rightly declares that "no one has played `Also ...' with more lustrous sound"), the benefit of this earlier disc over the latter is that it also comes with a `Till Eulenspiegel' that is very much alive; fine brass-playing in the Wagnerian `Don Juan' (but which also appears on the 1984 disc); and the rarely-heard, exotic, almost Ravelian `Dance of the Seven Veils'. You pays your money and takes your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra / Till Eulenspiegels / Don Juan / Salome (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
A very good performance as well as recording for those who can still enjoy listening to Also Sprach Zarathustra without equating it to so many ways it has been used as advertisement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nicely recorded and worth adding to my collection. At this price it was a bargain and pleased to have found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth it, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra / Till Eulenspiegels / Don Juan / Salome (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
You know what you're getting. Very good recording. Wel worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews