Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars19
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2000
If you are buying your first Winterreise, you can't do better than this: Beautifully clear singing, excellently recorded sound and a set of notes to help you through. In addition you'll get one of the great voices of the twentieth century at the height of his powers giving an authoritative, mature interpretation to one of the greatest song cycles of the nineteenth.
Mr Fischer-Dieskau is firmly centre stage with the accompaniment supporting rather than attempting to equal his singing (not withstanding, many excellent moments from Mr Demus).
There are other ways to interpret the music (I believe this is only one of 8 made by Mr Fischer-Dieskau), but none I have heard, better this performance.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
I am in full agreement with what the other three, five-star reviewers say but aim to offer a fresh perspective.

Schubert is the absolute master of the song-cycle and this represents Schubert at his very best.
Most of the songs, as befits the seasonal setting and lost love, portray a beautiful but haunting melancholy yet a few offer hope, comfort and promise. There are 24 songs in all, lasting a total of 73 minutes, with numbers: 1 Gute Nacht (Good Night), 5 Der Lindenbaum (The Lime Tree), 8 Ruckblick (Retrospect), 20 Der Wegweiser (The Signpost), 21 Das Wirtshaus (The Inn) and 22 Mat (Courage) being the most memorable. Incidentally there is a wonderful choral version of Der Lindenbaum, at a slightly faster tempo, the best version of this song that I have ever heard, on the triple CD collection: Romantic Choral Music (see my other reviews).

On this CD Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau is outstanding; not only is his performance worthy of just about every superlative, his diction is first rate and encourages one to master the German. The performance by Jorg Demus, on piano, is of the same calibre and the songs offer fairly lengthy piano introductions and plenty of scope for him to demonstrate his skills between the stanzas of Wilhelm Muller's poetry. This combination of baritone and pianist is unlikely ever to be bettered.

The words to each song are included, side by side, in the booklet in German, English and French.

To crown it all, this is a perfect recording - I cannot recommend it too highly.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
I have nine versions of this work in my library - all variables taken into account, this is the finest. The mature Fischer-Dieskau at the height of his powers, accompanied by the excellent Joerg Demus, who does not defer to but unfailingly supports his singer. If you listen to a cross-section of other recordings of this pinnacle of the Lied repertoire, you will hear many intersting moments and interesting takes on tempo and expression, from one song to another. If you are interested, have a listen to the Britten/Pears version and those of Martti Talvela/Ralf Gothoni and Hotter/Moore. Many fine, incisive moments. But if I were forced to choose one version of this masterpiece, this would be it. Worthily a DG classic recording. Heartily recommended.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau had one of the twentieth century's greatest baritone voices. This recording was made at the height of his powers when he was forty in 1965. Die Winterreise (Winter Journey), poetry of Wilhelm Muller set for piano and voice by Schubert, is surely one of the greatest song cycles of all time. Muller weaves a complex tapestry of images from his tragic feelings of desperation. Among these images are those of ice, snow, death, tears,bare lime trees, inhospitality, anguish and journeying. Much of the organic unity of the cycle is achieved by the poet's employment of these recurrent images. Even on his deathbed Schubert is reported to have been working through corrections of the proofs of the second part of Die Winterreise. The wonderful tones of Dietrich Fisher-Dieskau's voice breathe life into this bleakly beautiful experience. He is sensitively supported by the piano playing of Jorg Demus. Each note and phrase is caringly judged. Every word accent and stress plays its part. This voice and piano is unforgettable and can be listened to over and over again. The opening 'Good Night' sets the scene with great clarity.
Some of my favorite moments occur towards the end of the second part and include ' The Inn' and 'The Phantom Suns'.
I hope that you will enjoy this Winter Journey as much as I have.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
This is pretty much the definitive recording of what is schubert's most incisive and moving song cycle - both Die Schone Mullerin and Schwanengesang are wonderful works, but neither approaches the intensity or power of Winterreise. This music is in Fischer-Dieskau's genes - he did several recordings of it, the most prominent amongst which are his collaborations with Gerald Moore on the piano, but this recording remains the most expressive of them all. Jorg Demus provides perfect accompaniment, never intrusive or overbearing, and Fischer-Dieskau's singing is at its most moving without losing the sense of refinement of his later years.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2011
Here we have not only the ideal singer for this work but also (speaking as a someone who has done a lot of accompaniment, albeit not quite at this level!)wonderfully sensitive and accomplished piano playing. You could not do better than to buy this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2004
This is a fantastic recording of a brilliant piece of music. The recording is crisp and clear and worth buying for the first track alone! Fischer-Dieskau made several recordings of this great song cycle, but this one by Deutsche Grammophon is the pick.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
A master work whose combined simplicity and depth are here expressed with flawless understanding and moving sensitivity. To listen to this is to give your heart and spirit a gift of beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Wow, what a piece of music and what a performance. Includes the vital libretto. I was never a huge liede fan, but you can't ignore this master-work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
I don't feel I speak with any authority on Schubert. All I know is this is a very lovely performance of a beautiful song cycle.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)