Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


140 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dvorak Symphonies 8 & 9 (From the New World)
A splendid bargain in every way. This recording is, as the series suggests "A Legendary Recording from the Deutsche Gramophon Catalogue." Kubelik brings a sense of mystery, and a cheery air to Dvorak. I have heard the Karajan recording from 1965, and although it is good, this recording does win with flying colours.
In 8, Kubelik does not hesitate to slow down,...
Published on 12 Sep 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
This was not an arrangement I recognised so was disappointed though quality was very good.
Published 16 days ago by Ms J P Osborne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

140 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dvorak Symphonies 8 & 9 (From the New World), 12 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. (Audio CD)
A splendid bargain in every way. This recording is, as the series suggests "A Legendary Recording from the Deutsche Gramophon Catalogue." Kubelik brings a sense of mystery, and a cheery air to Dvorak. I have heard the Karajan recording from 1965, and although it is good, this recording does win with flying colours.
In 8, Kubelik does not hesitate to slow down, indeed some bits are daringly slow, especially the third movement, but he then compensates by whipping things back up into a vigorous tempo in the finale. Watch out for some bouncy rhythms in the first movement, exciting fanfares, and bouncy timpani playing in the second movement.
In the almost too well known Ninth (From the New World), this makes outstanding value for money. An essential acquisition for any Dvorak lover, and for anyone new to Dvorak. The romantically expressive opening is particularly telling. The largo is a moving, enjoyable solo from the cor anglais at a nice steady speed. The scherzo is not as much of a tap dance as Sir Colin Davis' LSO Live recording, but does come close behind. The finale is quicker than any other recordings I have heard, but only slightly.
In general, this recording is a truly great one, that any classical music lover should not be without, and at this price, it makes outstanding value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. (Audio CD)
I'm very new to classical music (spent years listening to metal and hard rock). This recording is an absolute treasure; it's like reading a book without words. You get pulled in, tossed about, and enjoy every second of the journey.

Spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Kubelik gem, 6 Feb 2013
By 
John HOLLAS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had not heard any Kubelik recordings for a long time until I started purchasing music from the Amazon store. I know, from lots of record reviews I have read, that Kubelik is a very highly respected conductor, one of the best of his time. Not only that, but he has made many excellent recordings of very high quality in terms of the orchestra, the conducting and the sound. Not only that, but the prices of these recordings bargain prices. This recording is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous, 26 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. (Audio CD)
Not a lot to add, but played very loud this is a sensational experience. I was, to be honest, unfamiliar with Kubelik prior to this, but his reading is fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best!, 4 April 2011
By 
Big Kid (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. (Audio CD)
I've had a few versions of this Symphony over the years, but this is my favourite by far. It's a classic work, which can stand lots of re-listening... get it for your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Dvorak, 11 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. John Lumbard (Richmond, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic CD. I have never bought a bad Deutsche Gramaphon recording and this is no exception. The Amazon price is excellent so a real bargain if you want an excellent recording of Symphony No 9 from Dvorak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baz, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. (Audio CD)
A true traditional favourite from one of my favourite composers and superbly compiled, an excellent CD for lovers of fine music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds best., 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. (Audio CD)
The big mister made and established his "New World", similar the title. From them on, I am listening every morning through JBL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars performances that sound so naturally spontaneous, 5 April 2014
This review is from: Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. (Audio CD)
These Kubelik accounts bring refinement, passion, power and poetry together in wonderfully paced accounts from Kubelik that sound so natural. There is an incandescence about both performances which sets these readings apart and the sound holds up remarkably well. These are beautifully played and lovingly interpreted performances which are dramatic and full of character and as a pairing on disc this coupling remains at the top of the listings of desirable accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great recording, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. (Audio CD)
Replaced an old cassette version of the New World symphony and bought this version as a good price and some strong reviews.

This is a fine recording and includes his 8th as well as 9th symphonies.

A bargain and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'.
Dvorák: Symphony No 9 'From The New World'. by Antonín Dvorák (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews