Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As great as you remember it to be.
No point saying much about the performances, - they've been classics of the gramophone for 28-29 years now and deservedly so. Like other reviewers, I’ve loved them in all their incarnations. This one seems to me the best yet. No, the sound may not be as good as some new DSD recordings but its a darned sight better than most. I was sceptical about the surround...
Published on 11 May 2004 by P. SIMPSON

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A dissenting voice
One of the great things about being alive is that you get to hold opinions which are different from all the other people ... like ...

"Mozart is rubbish, Haydn wrote much better tunes"

or ... about the present recording of the Beethoven Fifth Symphony ...

"This is the most over-rated and over-hyped recording of any piece ... ever"...
Published 12 months ago by ab


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, this still does it for me..., 25 Dec 2013
By 
Ralph Moore "Ralph operaphile" (Bishop's Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
Reading the myriad reviews of this famous disc is similar to attending a nutters' convention: all opinions may be encountered, some so eccentric as to be worth it purely as entertainment, but very few of any real worth or insight.

One thing I did pick up from a dissenting voice is the acute and accurate observation that Kleiber and his sound engineers "cheat" during the transition from the Scherzo to the finale in the Fifth: the end of the third and the beginning of the fourth movement come from different takes and sound-worlds and as such represent a bit of jiggery-pokery whereby the impact of the crashing chords is artificially manufactured. Listen carefully and you'll hear it - but it works very well as a recording, even if it couldn't be done live.

Otherwise, these are terrific performances, an amalgam of recordings from 1974 and 1976 which has stood the test of time. The Santa Fe listener reports that even in blind listenings, his auditors all agreed that Kleiber had created something special in both accounts. Some reviewers have complained that the second movement of the Seventh is too brisk but to me it's all of a piece with a thrilling piece of symphonic theatre, energised and compelling in its approach. It is true that there are comparably fine versions from Szell, Reiner, Bernstein and Karajan which are not very different from these and all part of a grand tradition of rendering unto Beethoven both the grandeur and the almost manic propulsiveness the music demands, but the point is that this pairing will prove deeply satisfying to the vast majority of lovers of Beethoven's symphonies.

I hadn't revisited them for some time before today, this 25th December, when after a splendid lunch I settled myself in an IKEA Poang easy-chair in my conservatory with a cigar and a glass or two of Sancerre and listened contentedly while contemplating our twinkling Christmas tree, tastefully decorated in red and gold. I grant you that such circumstances and environment predisposed me to be highly receptive to genius of Carlos Kleiber and the Vienna Philharmonic but nothing I heard could do other than enhance my blissful state of mind.

Under Kleiber's magisterial baton, the horns are virtuosic, just bordering on hysteria in their attack, the strings whirl like incandescent dervishes and the woodwind caress the ear like Ulysses' Sirens - yes, dear reader, I rather enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest Fifths, 1 Jun 2010
By 
Jeffrey M. Chambers (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
In my opinion, it's the first movement which causes most trouble in recorded performances, but this is as close perfection as we're likely to get this side of heaven. Carlos Kleiber brings out the terror and grief combined with Beethoven's violent resistance to his fate with extraordinary power. The second subject - marked dolce by Beethoven - is genuinely sweet and lyrical (some conductors can make this sound a bit glib). The great emotional climax is heartbreaking.
The rest of the performance is just a good. The orchestra plays wonderfully. So if you're looking for Beethoven Fifth, you should get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest recordings of all time., 5 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
This is one of the greatest recordings of all time. This CD presents Beethoven in a thrilling, dynamic and transcendent manner. From the famous opening motif one knows that this is not another perfunctory reading of one of Beeethoven's masterpieces. The whole record is beautifully balanced and rhythmical. Don't be put off by the mid price. Buy and enjoy years of life-affirming music. Why,oh why, has Kleiber released so few records?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe it ., 7 April 2012
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
Being by nature somewhat cynical , and being a bit fed up with sleeve notes proclaiming various recordings and performances as being " the greatest " of whatever , I have to agree that in this case , they have got it correct .
These performances are really something . I have others that are highly regarded , such as Karajan - BPO , Cluytens - BPO , Blomstedt - Staatskapelle Dresden , Szell - Cleveland , amongst others , but these eclipse those , in my opinion.
There is an intangible "righness" about these performances , that have you listening to them repeatedly , regardless of how often you have heard these pieces previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings on these 2, 19 Sep 2001
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
I have both these recordings on vinyl i.e. the originals, bought in the 1970s. The 5th certainly justifies the rave reviews, electrifying and all that, but of course it is one approach - Bohm's on DG is another equally valid. However, my main point is re. the 7th which to my mind is a very average recording, notably the second movement where Kleiber's tempo is too fast and the woodwind passages are stripped entirely of their dramatic content. Far better his father's classic recording on Decca Eclipse, which I also have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 19 Feb 2012
By 
enthusiast "enthusiast" (sussex, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
Both of these performances are magnificent. They are gloriously played and thrilling. Kleiber makes it all sound so easy. Like so many others, both professional critics and mere punters, when I first heard these accounts they seemed so miraculous. Even back then I knew a few great and wonderful accounts of these symphonies but these Kleiber accounts seemed to blow all the others out of the water. Luckily one gets over this feeling eventually and rediscovers the ability to hear these performances in some sort of contextual clarity. There are in fact other ways to play these works and other performances that are just as rewarding. But these accounts remain as perfect, as the stuff of legend and as two astonishing examples of the genius of an extraordinary conductor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive 7th, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Per Arne Rudberg "P-A Rudberg" (Vallentuna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
Absolutely marvellous recording!!! The Kleiber reading of no 7 leaves me speechless. It has energy, depth, edge, roundness, vitality - everything! Every single detail is worked out and fits perfect in the whole interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzling, 22 Oct 2009
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
You might just be picky about some details - I'm not - but overall this is a phenomenal reading of these two masterpieces. To me, the 7th is Beethoven's greatest, most coherent symphony, and this interpretation never fails to give me goosebumps. It's simply thrilling, and deeply imbued with the conductor's pure love of the work, as well as his powerful instinct for how it needs to be played: with total commitment. Some people have noted their distaste for some tempi, etc, but for me it's bang on. A wonderful mix of melodic line, structure, changes of mood and outright power. The greatest symphony orchestra of its day with the greatest conductor of any day. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life affirming, 6 Dec 2002
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
I first heard Kleibers 5th stuck in a jam on the M25. It grabs you from the famous 'fate' motif opening until the triumphant ending. It is almost as if this hackneyed work is presented in a single arc, so relentless is Kleibers vision. There are other great performances of the 5th, but the work has faired badly on record and there are many dull and uninteresting performances from people one would have expected better. Of those that approach Kleiber none has the quality of sound.
I cannot comment on his 7th because it does not surplant my favourite recording of this piece.
Kleiber is the laziest of conductors, only performing and/or recording when he wants the money to continue his extravagant lifestyle. Buy his Brahms 4th.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 21 April 2007
By 
James Ghani (Richmond Upon Thames, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 (Audio CD)
To maintain an avid listening ear for music that you just `know' from the earliest of ages is testimony to the art of interpretation ... nowhere is this more apparent than on this masterpiece work.

Everyone `ate cake' on the morning of this recording! From the orchestra and conductor through to the producers and engineering staff.

A flawless and magnificent effort that allows each and every note to leap off the manuscript of this mighty symphony. This disc is a must buy for any music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 by Ludwig van Beethoven (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews