Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars2
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2008
The final movement of L'Ascension (Priere...) has phrases which begin extremely quietly so it is necessary to turn the sound up. This quibble aside, I believe that this is the best interpretation of the movement I have ever heard. It is played extremely slowly, as the composer required, and none of the rests is skimped. If you are prepared for it, the result is wonderful - just what Messiaen would have wanted. All praise to Myung-Whun Chung and his Bastille band. The third movement (Alleluia...) is played fast and with a conviction that overcomes the fact that this is an early piece by Messiaen and not entirely convincing.
I liked the Saint-Saens well enough until the organ's first loud section. The sound is extremely tubby - nothing to set the pulse racing here. You will find no details of the organ or organist in the booklet. I'm not surprised.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
the Organ is my favourite piece of Music. This is a good version
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)