Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karajan at his best!
This is a superb account of this Choral masterpiece from the mid-seventies and re-mastered in digital sound.
For somebody who prefers the more traditional style of conducting and playing of Mozart's works, they don't come much better than this!
One can forgive the rather big and full sound generated by the BPO, in typical Karajan style, as opposed to the more...
Published on 13 Oct 2008 by David C. Coleman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not impressed
the record was not what I thought it was going to be . I thought it was the requiem mass and it is not. I have listened to it several times but cannot get into it.
Published 1 month ago by Mrs margaret West


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karajan at his best!, 13 Oct 2008
By 
David C. Coleman (Birmigham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
This is a superb account of this Choral masterpiece from the mid-seventies and re-mastered in digital sound.
For somebody who prefers the more traditional style of conducting and playing of Mozart's works, they don't come much better than this!
One can forgive the rather big and full sound generated by the BPO, in typical Karajan style, as opposed to the more recent brigade of period instrument ensembles and generally fast tempi.
Despite this the recording is well balanced and the soloists, chorus and orchestral playing are all top grade.
If you like the interpretations given by Harnoncourt, Hoggward and alike then give this a try and you will find just how good the previous generation of conductors really were....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very fine big band Mozart Requiem, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Bacchus (Greater London - Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
I have reviewed Karajan's 1962 recording of Mozart's Requiem and found that other listeners have been rather uncomplimentary about it. Listening to this generally well thought of performance from 1976 side by side with the 1962 one has been fascinating.

I find it hard to believe that the performances were directed by the same person. In 1962, the performance was lyrical, smooth and rather leaden at times. In 1976, it was much more hard driven and exciting. However, I do occasionally feel that some of the sheer beauty and charm of the music has been lost in taking such a direct approach.

In 1962, the choir sounded as if it had been recorded too distantly with a resultant loss of bite and a bit too much wooliness of sound. The 1976 choir (it was the Vienna Singverein on both recordings) has been recorded with far more presence. They are so much more 'there' in this recording, almost too much if anything.

In my recording of the 1962 recording, I was quite impressed with the soloists with the possible exception of Wilma Lipp, the soprano. In the 1976 recording, Anna Tomowa Sintow sings radiantly, a wonderfully creamy singer very much in the vein of Gundula Janowitz. Agnes Baltsa (another Karajan favourite) is equally wonderful in the alto solos. The other two soloists, Werner Krenn and Jose van Dam sing well but for me, the soloists from 1962 were far better. However, I would add that the 4 soloists together make a marvellous team.

It has been a fascinating comparison. Both performances have much to offer but in the final analysis neither is the performance one dreams about hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars passion and drama, 7 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
This is a great recording, full of passion and tension, I would recommend it to anyone looking to a good version of this fantastic piece of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy in Sadness, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
A good recording and very moving. Sensitive and blending joy and sadness.One of my favourite works ever. Excellent value. and a recording I shall treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely outstanding!, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (MP3 Download)
This piece is by far one of my favourites, and Karajan most definitely does it justice. I would recommend it to any choral or even opera lover as it has a depth and intricacy to it that very few pieces posses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves to be rated with the finest readings, 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
As much as I value Gardiner, Colin Davis, Mackerras recordings, this is an equally inspirational reading catching Karajan in some of his finest Mozart conducting on disc. The soloists, orchestra and recording are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful rendition, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. Harbison "Photographer" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
A wonderful rendition of this classic piece of work. I choose this due to the other reviews on Amazon and I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Jeanie Underwood (Berwick upon Tweed, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this CD especially as I have sung the Requiem several times with different choirs. I was a little disappointed when playing the CD in the car that some of the quieter parts were hard to hear. I have yet to play it on my system at home. Despite this it was a good recording and very easy on the ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
As one would expect, a top quality recording and version of Mozart's Requiem from a world class record label. Excellent value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a classic and will remailn so., 27 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs Pooladam (Gotham England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
I have always loved this classic album - who could argue with it's Mozart afterall.
My vinyl edition was sounding the worse for wear so this was the practical way to continue the pleasure of this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozart: Requiem
Mozart: Requiem by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews