Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2005
This has to be one of the most exhilarating pieces of music ever written. The first two movements are slow and very pleasant, but it is the third and fourth that really grab your attention. The highpoint of the symphony is the fourth movement, with its powerful organ part. This needs to be played at high volume, and not when youa re driving as you will find yourself bashing away at imaginary kettle drums as it plays!!
The symphony is known in our house as Saint Saens Kettle Drum Symphony as there are almost as much kettle drums in the piece as organ!! We play it regularly.
Also on the CD is The Sorcerer's Apprentice. I'm no expert, but the rendition of this doesn't sound quite as exciting as the one on another recording I have. If you don't have this piece anywhere then this is worth having, but don't buy it especially for this one. Buy it for the organ symphony.
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2001
I spent some time at a listening post, as I tend to do when choosing a version of a 'classical' piece. Other versions sounded tinny and paled in comparison to this one. The movements were also slightly longer in length then some of the other versions, and as I prefer the Poco Adagio as slow as possible - I went for it. Excellent.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 February 2011
I purchased this recording many years ago, as the Batiz versionSaint-Saëns: Orchestral Works which I origionally purchased did not have the four movements seperately indexed, and I often like to select the second and fourth movement, which are my favourite. However, although well played under Levine, the recording is lacking in sub bass in that the low 32 foot pedal notes do not really come through, so important in the slow second movement where the organ pedal underpins the orchestra. If this is important to you and your system can go down that low, then go for the new version under EschenbachSaint-Saens - Symphony No. 3 'Organ'/Poulenc - Organ Concerto/Barber - Toccata Festiva. Unless you have a subwoofer system, or very large speakers, then this version under Levine is perfectly fine.

Andrew Taylor

Worsley, Manchester
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
There are many fine recordings of Saint-Saens 3rd Symphony and this one with the Berliners under James Levine is not the first on my CD shelves. It is a symphony which makes equal demands of performers and sound engineers. One could almost believe that Saint-Saens had a clear vision of 21st century sound technology when he wrote it. If so he would not have been disappointed with this magnificent DG recording. When the music is soft and idyllic Levine is as gentle as a kitten: when it blasts forth in triumphant racket, he knows how to floor the accelerator. In the final movement of this symphony Saint-Saens clearly set out to thrill and the combined forces of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Simon Preston (organ) and James Levine ensure that it truly does just that! Forget the cute little pig in Babe just for a few open minded minutes and allow yourself to be totally engulfed in this wonderful music. Believe me, however you felt and the beginning of the symphony, you will be feeling different at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
Anyone who is not aware of Saint Saens music, this is the place to start. The slow movements lull you into the moving 4th movement which is best played as loud as your surroundings allow. You will find yourself carried along with the music and once heard you will be a Saint Saen fan. Enjoy you will not regret it...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
This amazing work never fails to impress. from the delicate opening movements, to the soaring power of the organ as it heralds the 4th., an excellent work for anyone developing an interest in classical music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2009
This is a wonderfully vivid and beautifully crafted performance of Organ Concerto. The slow movement is most beautifully sustained. Finale is just magnificent! Recommendable alongside Karajan's glorious account and Maazel's powerful account.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
I am by no means a connoisseur when it comes to classical music, but having heard, & enjoyed the last movement of this organ symphony many times on the radio, I thought it about time I purchased it. I have no regrets whatsoever, & would recommend it to anyone considering buying it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
FANTASTIC MUSIC-BY THE WAY AND IF YOU'RE INTERESTED IT WAS THE BASIS OF THE 70S HIT BY THE CONGREGATION 'SOFTLY WHISPERING I LOVE YOU' I THINK IT WAS CALLED! DELIVERY GOOD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Always a favourite, good interpretation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)