Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rodrigo Concierto de Aranjuez, 2 Jun 2010
By 
P. Hingley "Numas" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
This is a fabulous recording. It may not be very recent, but Narciso Yepes would be hard to beat for sheer exhuberance and clarity. This must be the best recording there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salieri, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
This is one of the most celebrated recordings of the "Concierto de Aranjuez", and it is not difficult to see why. The work is so well-known, it is perhaps in danger of being taken for granted, but this performance oozes that magic word: style. Narciso Ypes has complete control over the music's progression, and he produces a performance that is at once gentle, languid, carefully phrased and indeed considerably theatrical,(but never over-the-top in this respect). The opening movement grows carefully and un-hurridly, as does the finale. However, Narciso Ypes' finest moment must surely be the cadenza-like passage in the famous central movement where his playing reaches almost frenzied proportions, to be followed by a full-bloodied re-statement of the movement's main theme. That is mastery.

The accompanying piece: "Fantasia Para un gentilhombre" is likewise professionally done; the first movement has warmth and the long second movement is quite incredible, from its opening fanfare to the lazy, sun-drenched reprise of the opening theme. The torch dance and the exhilarating finale (a faster variation of the main theme of the entire work) are expertly done; you will love the concise and totally logical ending where they all stop playing and (probably) go to the nearest tavern for a drink and some tapas.

The Orchestra throughout both works is worthy of Ypes: along with the recording, it is clear with every detail present, and never does it impose itself on, or try to compete with, the soloist.

I have been to Spain, but not to Aranjuez: this recording makes me want to go on the next flight. To me, it has to be the real Spain, not the tourist spots. Buy it, enjoy it (which you surely cannot fail to) and then go to Aranjuez!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like classical guitar get this album if no other., 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
Yepes is amazing - his playing a 10 string guitar is just out of this world. Any budding classical guitarists would be well advised to listen and study this work if no other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Wears - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
The music quality is superb, the best I've come across and this is just one of my all time favourites - so many 'moods' in one piece. I just love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very happy, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
Brought this CD based on previous reviews as a gift for my sister. She was extremely please with the recording although she had asked for the Julian Bream recording. I have never ordered anything from Amazon before. Whole process was very easy to follow Even when I made a mistake and my payment failed to go through they were very clear with their instruction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rodrigo Concerto de Aranjuez, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
Beautiful recording and very haunting. Had heard the adagio on the radio and decided to get the whole thing. Have spent a quiet weekend listening to this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music of spain, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
Excellent quality of disc and cover. Music wonderful. This is a Spanish classic and this disc does it full justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful remastering!, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
I had this in vinyl and I loved it so I wanted a CD of it and this is why I bought it. It is a really beautiful piece of playing. I would recommend it to anyone who likes classical music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressed item of classic music!, 19 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
Firstly, I wish to greet an "Amazon" Market Seller for a surprisingly quick and safe dispatch. Congratulations!
This is a classic guitar of the Rodrigo masterpiece heard for the first time in the Grammar School. I was fascinated with his work wishing to obtain it anyway. Today it is mine. In one word: it is highly recommended to all the listeners of classic music although they prefer rock. The classic guitar is one of the most beautiful instruments today. Therefore, my the highest rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rodrigo Review, 11 Jan 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez (Audio CD)
This CD is top it would appeal to any age group great music to relax with best classical concert guitar Iv heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez
Rodrigo: Concerto de Aranjuez by Joaquín Rodrigo (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews