Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technically Brilliant *and* Emotionally Impactful
I really can't understand how anyone can give this recording less than 5 stars. Not only is Pollini's playing technically impeccable, but to say it lacks anything in passion or emotional impact is outright absurd: to listen to Pollini's performance of Op. 10, No. 12 and not feel the fire and urgency in his playing is to be incapable of feeling anything, period...
Published on 17 Mar 2011 by Abiola O. Lapite

versus
9 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Etudes played by a machine
When I started to collect classical music cds 25 years ago, this cd was among the first several cds I bought encouraged by ecstatic reviews. As I came to know more artistically superior recordings like Anievas, Horowitz, Rubinstein etc. Pollini's quickly left my shelves.

Polini is amazing in terms of technical polish. But it sounds as if played by player-piano,...
Published on 10 Mar 2008 by Scriabinmahler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technically Brilliant *and* Emotionally Impactful, 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: Chopin: Etudes Op 10 & Op 25 (Audio CD)
I really can't understand how anyone can give this recording less than 5 stars. Not only is Pollini's playing technically impeccable, but to say it lacks anything in passion or emotional impact is outright absurd: to listen to Pollini's performance of Op. 10, No. 12 and not feel the fire and urgency in his playing is to be incapable of feeling anything, period.

There are any number of performers who sacrifice all depth of feeling on the altar of showy virtuosity, but Maurizio Pollini on this particular recording is certainly not one of them. His handling of the Etudes makes, to my mind, for a healthy contrast with Martha Argerich's celebrated (but emotionally unsatisfying) rendering of Chopin's Preludes; Pollini and Argerich are both virtuosos, but where Argerich gallops through the preludes as if on a race to get somewhere else, squeezing all the feeling out of them in the process, Pollini does not let a desire to dazzle us with his abilities interfere with an interpretation of Chopin's compositions as the artist would have intended. In short, here is a recording which is about as far from "machine-like" as it is possible to get, and which proves that no choice need be made between getting things technically and emotionally correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of our time., 6 Dec 2002
This review is from: Chopin: Etudes Op 10 & Op 25 (Audio CD)
If any recording of Chopin can sit, unchallenged, in that marketing mans invention The Greatest Recordings of the Century, then this can. Don't be put off by those that quibble about Pollini playing the music 'straight'. There's nothing wrong with that and I, like many others, actually prefer him played that way.That is not to say that there is not plenty of excitement and interest in these readings. Go out and get the Polonaises and the 1st Piano Concerto as well! You will not be disappointed by playing of one of the great pianists of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most famous Chopin LP ever made!, 1 Sep 2013
This review is from: Chopin: Etudes Op 10 & Op 25 (Audio CD)
Not least because it announced a career...and what a star in the illustrious firmament we can classify with the older generation of Weissenberg, Richter, Horowitz you name it. Technically, if not always emotionally or interpretively, Pollini is their equal. Only Argerich can stand in his company today. Is it surprising they were both pupils of the legendary Michelangeli? Not surprising they both share the master's white hot temperament yet icy cold detachment.

When this recording came out in the 1970s it caused a sensation among critics and queues at the record shops. It has since remained a reliable benchmark to judge all other performances.

Did Pollini realise the potential he showed then? There are critics. But his concerts are sold out many times over. And in the recording studio he offers a very grand view of the piano literature, not for him the settling on this or that single recital like a butterfly stretching its wings in a showy display of virtuosity to woo the celebrity image conscious record buying public of today. Instead Pollini has continued to offer pianism and concentrated interpretations that have been an education and a pleasure to purchase and listen and re-listen to. As we go forward into the 21st century he stands ahead of all other pianists currently active in the concert hall in terms of technique and depth.

Having spoken so highly of the "contributing artist", as Windows Media calls him, what do you get on this disc?

If you like your steaks rare, with the blood seeping out of the meat, and served with an excellent sauce poivre, possibly in a first rate restaurant such as the Au Boeuf Couronne, Jean Jaures, Paris or similar, then this playing will be completely to your liking.

It is red blooded Chopin playing that will raise the hair on the back of your neck, tingle your spine, and generally leave you gasping.

NOT to have or buy this disc is unforgiveable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling performance, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Etudes Op 10 & Op 25 (Audio CD)
My last copy of this cd got damaged because I often listened in the car. It wasn't restored by cleaning so I had to buy it again for the wonderful performance by Pollini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Rest., 6 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chopin: Etudes Op 10 & Op 25 (Audio CD)
This was the first recording of the Etudes I listened to. Since then, I have ploughed through the offerings of Berezovsky, Ashkenzay (the earlier version), Cortot and Zayas. I have absolutely no doubt whatsoever that the finest recording of these pieces is by Juana Zayas (an unknown argentinan pianist). Pollini plays these pieces 'straight' and if you want to add on the extras frills in your imagination then this CD may be to your liking. Cortot plays the notes he wants to, and I've never liked his playing (!), while Berezovsky offers (in general) a more lyrical view of these pieces. Pollini gets 5 stars but get Zayas's recording...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Etudes played by a machine, 10 Mar 2008
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chopin: Etudes Op 10 & Op 25 (Audio CD)
When I started to collect classical music cds 25 years ago, this cd was among the first several cds I bought encouraged by ecstatic reviews. As I came to know more artistically superior recordings like Anievas, Horowitz, Rubinstein etc. Pollini's quickly left my shelves.

Polini is amazing in terms of technical polish. But it sounds as if played by player-piano, completely lacking in poetry and inspiration. For example, where is the etherial beauty and delicacy in A flat Etude Op.25 No.1 "The Harp"? Rubinstein and Anievas both play it like a small miracle. If you want technical brilliance only, Gavrilov's going-for-broke version is more exciting. If you seek both technical extremism and artistic depth, no pianist comes even close to Richter's earlier recordings, sadly he never recorded complete Chopin Etudes though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chopin: Etudes Op 10 & Op 25
Chopin: Etudes Op 10 & Op 25 by Fryderyk Franciszek Chopin (Audio CD - 1985)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews