Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A view from the keyboard .....
After six detailed reviews, there is little I can add to the wise (and not so wise) words already written about this release above, so I won't ! Instead, this is what the great pianist Sviatoslav Richter had to say about it:

"An exceptionally successful release from Karajan. Here he reveals some remarkable insights. Time itself seems to be conducting the music...
Published on 5 July 2012 by Mr. L. Denham

versus
22 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT what it's all about!
I really can't see this as a serious contender in the Parsifal stakes. It's all surface gloss without any depth or understanding. Karajan, as was his wont, went for beauty of texture and sound, an obvious temptation in this, the one opera Wagner wrote with the unique sound of the Bayreuth Festspielhaus already in his mind. And it has to be admitted that Karajan...
Published on 3 Jun 2005 by Klingsor Tristan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A view from the keyboard ....., 5 July 2012
By 
Mr. L. Denham "Lee" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
After six detailed reviews, there is little I can add to the wise (and not so wise) words already written about this release above, so I won't ! Instead, this is what the great pianist Sviatoslav Richter had to say about it:

"An exceptionally successful release from Karajan. Here he reveals some remarkable insights. Time itself seems to be conducting the music ... What grandeur Karajan is capable of achieving! It's enough for him to will it so. What humanity and depth! Thank you for this third act! This was the real Wagner." (from: Sviatoslav Richter: Notebooks and Conversations ).

Who am I to disagree ?! As for that Third Act, the aural recreation of the bells of Montsalvat, doom-laden and terrifying, echoing through the corridors and halls of Titurel's castle have to be heard to be believed. Remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much drama... Excellent basses, 5 Oct 2004
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
I will make this a brief review, as much of the strong points have already been covered in the rest of the reviews of this item. I will focus on the singers.
I will just take a moment to praise the basses in this performance. Kurt Moll and José van Dam are perfect as Gurnemanz and Amfortas. Especially Moll is superb as the fatherly, all-knowing Gurnemanz. Sigmund Nimsgern is also very good.
I usually find Peter Hoffmann a bit of a let down as Heldentenor, and although this is better than his Erik in "Holländer" for Karajan, he is by no means up there with the likes of Wolfgang Windgassen or René Kollo. Dunca Vejovic is an interesting Kundry, although her very dramatic voice doesn't really blend well with the rest of the cast.
This is very good indeed. Moll and van Dam alone makes up, what Hoffmann lacks (again, as with the Karajan "Holländer". These two basses suit each other brilliantly in Wagner). Even the smaller parts are cast with such magnificent forces as Inga Nielsen (Blumenmaid), Hannah Schwarz (Stimme) and Georg Tichy (Knappe).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 1 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
I'm not a big fan of Karajan but I love his DDD recording of Wagner's great Eastertime opera. The libretto is more repellent than usual but the music is certainly Wagner's most exquisite. It's an extraordinary work filled with music of such intense beauty it's almost painful. The last Act is simply amazing from beginning to end and the contrast between Act One and Three and the central act set in Klingsor's castle is extremely effective. The only reservation I have about the singers is Hoffman's sometimes wobbly Parsifal but all the rest are superb. For a sample listen to the 'seduction scene' in Act Two between Kundry and Parsifal or the final, transcendent chorus in Act Three. The BPO play in THE most ravishing way imaginable and the sound quality is faultless. Maybe Karajan DOES focus more on the music than the drama but the overall effect is riveting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful, 3 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
Wow! This recording has to be one of the most beatiful recordings of a Wagner opera ever made.
Herbert von Karajan is renound for producing beautiful sounds in just about every piece he recorded, but here he created something very special. His tempo is fairly slow, but this is precisely what this opera requires to bring out its majesty and beauty. The recording is DDD and the sound is understandably wonderful and clear.
The cast is fantastic all round. Peter Hoffmann plays the title role, and he gives a magnificant performance as 'the innocent fool, enlightened by compassion'. Van Dam is brilliant as Amfortas. Nimsgern as Klingsor and Vejzovic as Kundry are wonderful (Vejzovic gives a particulary fantastic account of Kunsdry's manic laugh!). The Berlin Philharmoniker are on their usual top form in the orchestral playing and the Chor der Deutchen Oper are stunning in some of the most beautiful choral sections ever written for opera.
I listened to these CDs as if under some sort of spell cast by the music. Every section seemed to glow in beauty. From the exquisitly crafted and beautifully played prelude of Act I to the final chorus of Act III which seems to lift its sounds beyond earth and to heaven itself, this is an awe inspiring set. I listened to all 4 CDs in one sitting, unable to stop and not wanting to be deprived of the music.
Wagner's music in Parsifal is very spiritual. It was the last opera he wrote and listening to it you can here his thoughts and feel his emotions as he wrote this final encapsulating piece.
I urge, implore, and beseech whoever reads this review to buy this recording. It is truly a beautiful set. I am sorry to use the word beautiful so often, but it is really the only word which describes this music and this recording. Wonderful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Quite possibly ...", 11 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. M. M. Waller "Maximus" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
Quite possibly the greatest opera recording ever made. At least to my mind. I feel sorry for those men and women who think that the point of Parsifal is to ramp up the drama, when the truth of the matter is that Wagner has created something here quite extraordinary. He has created a spiritual journey that leads a path into our very own hearts and minds. As a well seasoned opera enthusiast I find no better interpretation for spiritual depth than Karajan. This guy seems to find a zen like calm, much like Amfortas's leafy glade which in this recording is both compelling and beautiful in equal measure. P.S - I'm still bemused by the plaudits DG Thielmann's Parsifal received. It was a hopeless, bland run through, just like Boulez, who for my money is quite possibly the worst Wagner conductor ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great conductor and orchestra take central roles, 6 Dec 2014
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
. . . a great conductor and orchestra take central roles . . . Karajan's performance is fitful in its dramatic conviction.

Mike Ashman, Peter Quantrill, William Mann, Gramophone (London) / 01. May 2010

. . Karajan is one of the greatest conductors -- it's an extraordinary recording.

Charles Simonyi, Gramophone (London) / 01. June 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improbable but here all the same, 8 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
According to some, this triumph should have been thrice impossible.

Who would have thought that Wagner would so successfully tinker with the yarns of the Old Firm, much to the disgust of his buddy Freddy Nietzsche who unleashed Greek Fire in response? The assimilation is so acute as to be scary. Wagner becomes the Fifth Evangelist in his exposition of damnation, redemption and transfiguration. For the duration of the opera, who can resist such kerygma?

Who would have thought that Herbert von Karajan, Mr Slick Brilliance in the eyes of some, would venture so far into the realm of the spiritual? In actual fact, the question is a furphy. His Bruckner was passport. In his quest, Herbie is assisted no end by the Berlin Philharmonic, still at the peak of its powers. The Transfiguration Scene, cavernous as it is, is one of the wonders of the world.

And who would have thought that at the dawn of the digital age, the DG engineers would so nail this recording, made in the dreaded acoustic of the Philharmonie? It has never been remastered since 1980; one can understand Deutsche Grammphon's reluctance to do so. Why bother?

The performance is anchored by the magisterial Gurnemanz of Kurt Moll - I love the gruffness he brings to proceedings - and Jose van Dam's Amfortas which is the very definition of anguish. Dunja Vejzovic might be an acquired taste for some but one could argue that hysteria is inherent to Kundry as a character. No-one is going to pretend that Hofmann is the greatest singer in the world; here, he does not fail: the wobble is minimised. His lack of projection notwithstanding, he does convey Parsifal's "bug-eyed wonder". Siegmund Niemsgern as Klingsor brings Dennis Hopper to mind: more crazy than evil. He sings well.

I suspect that the greatest Parsifal in existence is the Kna from 1951. If sonics rule that inadmissable, this performance will see you out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb recording, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
Very pleased with this purchase. This is a beautiful work and this recording does it justice. The set inculded a booklet with the full libretto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT what it's all about!, 3 Jun 2005
By 
Klingsor Tristan (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
I really can't see this as a serious contender in the Parsifal stakes. It's all surface gloss without any depth or understanding. Karajan, as was his wont, went for beauty of texture and sound, an obvious temptation in this, the one opera Wagner wrote with the unique sound of the Bayreuth Festspielhaus already in his mind. And it has to be admitted that Karajan achieved it. The Berliners play like a dream. If that's all you look for in this opera, then fine.
But Parsifal is a much more elusive animal than that. It has to do with being able to see the piece as a whole - it has its own rhythms, the way different rates of breathing, as it were, relate to each other, that goes way beyond mere tempos and metre. Knappertsbusch at Bayreuth in 1951 has it at very slow speeds. Toscanini, of all people, was the slowest in the Bayreuth records. Levine at slow speeds is just tedious. Boulez, with lighter textures and consistently faster speeds had it. Karajan doesn't.
Then there are the singers. A dull lot for the most part. None of them would be first choice for any of their parts. Hofmann is too wobbly, van Dam too 'beautiful' for Amfortas' anguish, Moll too pedestrian - Gurnemanz can be a dreadful bore if he's not sung off the text with real conviction - Vejzovic sounds as if she's from another production. The most consistent cast is probably Knappertsbusch in 1951 again (a youthful Windgassen, a dedicated Weber, a no-holds-barred Modl and a really scary Uhde) or Solti (Frick, Ludwig and Fischer-Dieskau standing out plus a Premier Division team of Flowermaidens that includes te Kanawa and Popp). It's a great shame that Vickers never recorded the part of Parsifal - he was the best I've ever heard on stage (with Goodall no less) - does the BBC have a tape?
The sound, too - no doubt supervised by Karajan in dictator mode - strives too hard for beauty at the expense of integration and depth. This, as I've said, is the one opera specifically written for the unique Bayreuth acoustic. To hear the first notes of the Prelude emerge from the silence and the darkness in that house is a special experience. Wagner's own design allows the instruments to blend and merge in an almost impressionistic way before they're thrown into the stage by the hood over the orchestra, there to blend with the voices (not create a wall in front of them) before they emerge into the auditorium. Strings acquire a special bloom: the heavy brass, buried deep down under the stage, do not get the strident edge so popular with modern producers. Kanppertsbusch's later Bayreuth performance for Philips probably captures this sound best, but his 1951 (mono) performance, recorded by Decca, is not a bad second.
All in all, then, a disappointment on most fronts - unless you just want to wallow in the sound of the Berlin Philharmonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too reverential a recording but also very beautiful, 24 Mar 2011
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wagner: Parsifal (Audio CD)
This recording is almost worth buying for the booklet alone. How many recordings of Parsifal have you come across which include photos of the entire cast, even the flowermaidens? Better still, there is a quite superb English language essay, 'Parsifal' by Lucy Beckett. Very insightful.

And Karajan's much admired, award-winning recording? Well, it's better than Barenboim's with the same orchestra, and that's in spite of the fact that Karajan's account of Act One is irredeemably dull. Unless I counted wrong it's only a couple of minutes longer than the Knappertsbusch version (1962) but it feels infinitely longer. It only occurred to me in the third hour what might in fact be happening. Wasn't Karajan's Pelleas et Melisande (EMI) accused by some of sounding too Wagnerian? Well, here it is the reverse.

Parsifal made to sound too Debussyian.

Kurt Moll's Gurnemanz, whispering so many of his lines in Act One, is quite tedious and very meek, as if Karajan had decided Gurnemanz was an old monk, not at all an old knight. Considerably more animation, more emotion, is achieved by Knappertsbusch in the theatre than Karajan under studio conditions: conditions which render his interpretation maybe too reverential. Things begin to improve in the temple scene; a real sense of cathedral ambience, but is it the ambience of the empty cathedral visited by a tourist? Van Dam does manage to conceive some sense of drama, and overall the final scene works well.

It was probably as early as the sixties that commentators began talking of the 'predictable' splendour of HvK's Berlin Phil, as of a thing overfamiliar and dangerously close to beside the point. They are of course mightily impressive here - the opening Prelude extremely beautiful and almost requiring an interval to follow - though I did wonder whether the conductor was deliberately holding them back in Act One to compensate for his singers' whispering. The early digital isn't quite consistent but, as I said before, better than Barenboim's where dynamics shift rapidly from inaudible to "Bloody Hell!!!"

More problematic for anyone who has heard a live theatre recording of Parsifal is the very palpable sense here, especially in the Flowermaidens scene, of singers not singing to each other; not being characters responding to each others words. Just voices passing in the night. Vejzovic and Hofmann are very good, though certainly not great, as Kundry and Parsifal, but the second act has unsurprisingly more life in it, including a curiously sympathetic Klingsor (Nimsgern). Yet still, things become rather dreamily-bland with the maidens and even with Kundry's appearance as seductress - I got the distinct impression mezzo and conductor were trying to summon the pure voice of G. Janowitz (an odd choice). There are times when the reading becomes a tad melodramatic: there's an awkward pause before Parsifal's "Erlosung, Frevlerin, biet' ich auch dir". Pitching into the conflict, the orchestra's massive sonority a bit over-emphatic. By the final act I was starting to tire of what was by then sounding rather precious and self indulgent.

It is a recording well worth hearing and one that gives you the fullest appreciation of the orchestral score, if not the best interpretation of it. The best studio Parsifal I've heard, but not even the best by Karajan: check this out - Wagner: Parsifal. I think DG should put the performance of the opening Prelude with the contents of this CD Wagner: Tristan und Isolde; Tannhäuser; Die Meistersinger - Orchestral Music. All or nothing performances! Even on the back of Salzburg performances the cast and conductor can't summon the dramatic intensity, beauty of interpretation, spirituality and sense of purpose which is the hallmark of the very best and when it comes to Wagner's Parsifal, nothing less than Knappertsbsuch will do: Wagner: Parsifal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wagner: Parsifal
Wagner: Parsifal by Peter Hofmann (Audio CD - 1984)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews