Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Rock at it's best.
Not as well-known or successful as the Allmans, ZZ Top or Lynyrd Skynyrd the ARS produced consistently stronger albums throughout the 70's than any of their competitors, and what you get here is a very representative and varied selection. Missing out on their live double album and the group's first two releases the track listing includes 2 or 3 tracks from each of the...
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Fergal Woods

versus
0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missing
I noticed in my orders that the album was ordered but I do not remember this. I have searched Itunes and WMP but can find no such album. I might have ordered by mistake but even so I should be able to locate.
Ron Barton
Published on 1 July 2010 by R. G. Barton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Rock at it's best., 8 Jan 2010
By 
Fergal Woods "Axe Victim" (Leitrim, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Atlanta Rhythm Section (Audio CD)
Not as well-known or successful as the Allmans, ZZ Top or Lynyrd Skynyrd the ARS produced consistently stronger albums throughout the 70's than any of their competitors, and what you get here is a very representative and varied selection. Missing out on their live double album and the group's first two releases the track listing includes 2 or 3 tracks from each of the remainder of their LPs up to their break-up in the early 80's.

Originally a set of session musicians set up by ace producer Buddy Buie they gelled into a highly influential group who put the emphasis on strong songwriting(Buie was actually the main songwriter) but with the musicianship to cover various styles and stretch out musically when the need arose. Jewel in the crown was their vocalist Ronnie Hammond with one of the most musical voices in rock ( a Southern rock version of Paul Carrack ?). Listen to any of their harmonies (eg. "Doraville") and drool at the smooth voices - almost all Hammond's work.

The group used twin guitars with Barry Bailey providing most of the solo work,while J.R. Cobb added tasty slide from time to time. Dean Daughtry added fine keyboards so every style contributing to the "Sound of the South" - boogie, blues, country, jazz and a little soul was covered.

There's not a weak track on the compilation with a number of class ballads "All Night Rain" and "Dog Days" to mention just two going hand-in-hand with the country-rock of "Doraville" and "Jukin'". "Crazy" was a very prophetic song about how the music scene was changing in the mid-70's, and of course most readers will have heard their 2 biggest numbers "So Into You" and "Spooky"

This is an excellent place to start if you want to broaden your collection of American rock, and most of their back catalogue is also accessible at good second-hand prices (BGO Records have released 2 brilliant 2 in 1 cds). The group did reform in the late 80's but they never quite recreated the magic that you can sample here. Essential purchase !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars guitarman, 4 Feb 2007
By 
Guitarman (Linconshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Atlanta Rhythm Section (Audio CD)
How I missed ARS (unfortunate acronym in the UK)until now, I have no idea, though they are most certainly of my era. This is not a review of this CD, as my own "Best Of" is not one I can find listed anywhere. However it does contain pretty much the same material.

Any guitar player will appreciate the musicianship of Barry Bailey and J.R.Cobb, with their mix of Jazz and punchy blues/rock style, at times blending a kind of Steely Dan and Carlos Santana sound.

"So Into You" is a track I've heard covered on more than one occasion, and probably their most successful single. There are several memorable tracks, and some less so, but I don't want to sound like an NME review so I'll mention only one more - "Spooky"- DON'T MISS IT! Covered by several artists, including Andy Williams, this is the punchiest and difinitive version. A really cool blues track with a strong jazz feel, but a powerful guitar rock delivery. True virtuoso musicianship, you feel that Cobb/Bailey not only deliver the goods as well as only great guitarists could, but you still feel they've got that much more in reserve - truely effortless!

Described as Southern Blues, and I suppose it is, the style bears only a passing resemblence to Lynyrd Skynyrd with whom the've been compared.

I seldom buy music on the spur of the moment and with no knowledge of the band and their music, because I am always disappointed. This was an exception, so I shan't chance it again, next time I won't be so lucky!

My humble opinion only. Judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great band!, 29 Feb 2012
By 
J. HOLMES (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Atlanta Rhythm Section (Audio CD)
An absolutely terrific album, packed full of memorable songs and fine playing all round.

I had a few of their vinyl albums in the 1970s, but never got round to replacing them on cd, so it was great to hear them again. Quite why they did not attain the level of success of their peers at the time, such as the Doobie Brothers and the Eagles, is a mystery to me, because they are equally as good.

The music is not dated, is very melodic, and well worth investing in for anyone interested in top quality guitar based music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some memebers of classics iv, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Atlanta Rhythm Section (Audio CD)
an album of good harmonious soft rock--if this is your "bag" then there is much to enjoy. my personal favourite track is "neon nights" and they even do a version of the classics iv hit "spooky" great soft rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern craftmanship, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Mailian (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Atlanta Rhythm Section (Audio CD)
From the remnants of the 1960s Atlanta hit group Classics IV (remember Spooky), the ARS hit big with So into you in the mid-70s. Blues, western swing, rock and some country and jazz are ably crafted into their cool Georgia rhythm in those heedy Southern rock days. Softer and more polished than Lynyrd Skynyrd ao, their songs are little gems from the pensive Dog days to the exuberant Champagne Jam over Jukin/San Antonio rose and the night calls of Neon nites. Their version of Spooky is more upbeat and nice in its own right. A very pleasing listening experience awaits you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atlanta Rhythm Section, 18 Sep 2014
By 
David Mee "Dave" (West Midlands U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Atlanta Rhythm Section (Audio CD)
Super cd great selection from a band not as well known as some. But for sure a must to check out and listen too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missing, 1 July 2010
By 
I noticed in my orders that the album was ordered but I do not remember this. I have searched Itunes and WMP but can find no such album. I might have ordered by mistake but even so I should be able to locate.
Ron Barton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Atlanta Rhythm Section
The Best of Atlanta Rhythm Section by Atlanta Rhythm Section (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews