Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Like Funk or Soul Save Up and Buy This Box Set, 19 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. Stephen Holmes "stephenholmes3" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
It was with great anticipation that I first listened to this album. And no! I wasn't disappointed! If you want to sample James Brown don't bother with any of his single disc compilations (no matter how worthy and listenable these are).
Throughout the five hours of music there isn't an unlistenable moment. Disc 1 starts with RnB, such as 'Please, Please, Please', 'Think', 'Night Train', that is as good as any other early soul from the same era, and culminates with the prototype funk of tracks such as 'Out of Sight' and 'Papa's Got a Brand New Bag'. Disc 2 highlights the finished funk of tracks such as 'Cold Sweat' or 'Say It Loud I'm Black and I'm Proud'. On Disc 3, with tracks such as 'Funky Drummer' or 'Superbad' we are presented with funk that is deeper and more danceable (and certainly of higher fidelity) than most music with the deep funk label. The set finishes with a disc that focuses on a period where James Brown was less prolific and critically successful, but has enough of quality, such as 'Get on the Good Foot' or 'Get Offa That Thing', to compare him favourably with other funk artists of the time. On the final track, 'Unity', in collaboration with Afrika Bambaataa James Brown symbolically passes on the groove baton to the new generation.
If you like funk, soul or just pop music in general buy this: you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential, 8 Oct 2006
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
James Brown is arguably the most influential figure in Black Music history, given that he was a major innovator in, first, Soul music and then Funk, before he was sampled out of sight (pun intended) by later artists, who needed the groove and couldn't get it on their own.

Early material on disc 1 includes a huge variety of Soul, uptempo dancers to aching Ballads, with the odd instrumental thrown in. Those instrumentals show how the groove would develop, and by disc 2 you get the track which is said to have started the Funk, "Cold Sweat". From there it's all a funk groove, relentless and amazingly inventive.

By the end of Disc 2 we've seen Brown get political on "Say It Loud.." and Bootsie and co have arrived to take the Funk to new heights. Disc 3 stands as a testament to JB and his ability to find and get the best out of his band(s), and you can hear him doing it ("give the drummer some", "keep it right there" etc).

In the mid 70's (Disc 4), JB was enduring something of a commercial low point, but this did not stop him producing great music, and "Payback" and "Stone to the Bone" are the equal of anything he ever did IMHO.

This is a superb chronicle of the man and his music and should be part of the collection of anyone interested in Soul or Funk, or indeed where the music we hear today came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Time: James Brown - The King of Funk shows he has everlasting Soul Power!, 9 Jun 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
This excellent 4 disc set does a great job of collecting all the best work of James Brown into one easy package.

A man always at the forefront of musical trends it charts his career from `50s R&B singer through soul and his development of the funk sound. Brown was a true original and a great innovator, as well as being a skilled performer who ran a very tight crew. The two aspects come together to provide track after track of superb soul/funk underpinned by Brown's self assured powerful vocals.

The set collects all the essential recordings, from the early big hits that made his name to the likes of funky drummer and Mother Popcorn with which he redefined black music. Being 4 discs it has space to include so much more material, which shows off the range of the man's talent, and give the listener the chance to hear some great music you would never hear on a 1 disc collection.

The 4 discs have been nicely mastered and have a decent clear sound. There are 4 CDs in normal size cd cases collected into a sturdy car outer about the size of 2 cd cases tall. It's a well put together and worthwhile set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get on the good foot get involved get this box set!, 8 Feb 2004
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
this set has to be the ultimate james brown collection ever!
there is not one duff track, covering his musical career from the mid 50s to the 1990s, i'm glad living in america is excluded,never mind any other comp cd get this, it may seem pricey but guaranteed if you like J.B you'll love this.
there is also an informative booklet with history of lineups,discography etc,worth the money every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Time - 4 CD Box, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
This is a box set of a comprehensive collection from the Godfather Of Soul Mr James Brown.
What I found very obvious on these discs is how much James Brown influence Brown put into the sessions. There is several intro session discussions between Brown and his musicians and producer which indicates he was heavily involved in the sound and music of these classic songs. There is a progressive change each CD as the music gets more and more into funk and away from the more R & B / blues influence that are on the earliest sessions.
There are many tracks that are highlights, my favourites are tracks such as Popcorn, Sex Machine and Papa's Got a Brand New Bag.
The booklet has some good session info and a brief history of James Brown. These CDs do not include his recordings done later in the 1980s and 1990s such as Living In America and Gravity.
This music makes modern dance music sound like a limp biscuit, play it loud !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. P. D. Sidwell (Chichester, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
As far as box sets go this has to be up there with the better ones. A great package of classic funk tracks documenting the career of JB. It includes all the classics that have become part of the pop standards catalogue and the fantastic musicianship that he became associated with has been well captured.
The photos and information contained are also worthy of note. The packaging is well thought out and it is presented in a book style design which would sit nicely on most peoples shelves....Funk out bro.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can I Take it to the Bridge?, 27 May 2012
By 
Juniorboogie (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
I'm not a James Brown expert but so far as I can tell this has all the good stuff on four CDs and a small book (not booklet!) all for a reasonable price-bargain! (I noticed what seems to be the same package but with a different cover on Amazon for more; i'm not sure if that one has the same book). What more needs to be said? If you want to get on the good foot then I don't think you can go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning box set, 19 Nov 2011
By 
I. Milne "motown soul" (aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
i'm not the biggest jb fan ,so after reading the reviews i took the plunge and bought this epic box set i knew a lot of the tracks and a lot i didn't which were a pleasent surprise how good they were ,i have to agree with the other reviewer's it is an essential purchase ,the title needs changed though to JAMES BROWN - LEGEND ,the only tracks you need .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hardest Working Man in Show Business, 24 July 2008
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
Listen to any pop radio station, and you will hear James Brown's influence within minutes. It grieves me that people raised on all that good 80s and 90s dance music, could listen to this and not realise how original it is.

James Brown wrote the blueprints of funk, then he built on them, then he developed what he had built. I have only used the word 'genious' in one other review, and that was about Aretha Franklin. The word applies here too in my humble opinion.

My fave on here is 'I'll Go Crazy' from 1960, a blues driven soul number from before the funk stuff. I've always gone more for soul than funk, but maybe you can hear the thick granite foundations of funk, forming in that driven insistant guitar riff.

This set comes with a double CD height booklet packed with notes and information.

As I write this 'Papa's Got A Brand New Bag' has started percolating up from a radio downstairs. Honestly it has! What did I tell you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The real 'Best of James Brown', 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Time (Audio CD)
I chose a five star rating for this box-set for three reasons: Choice of tracks, sound quality and a well-presented and detailed booklet included with the set. There may have been one or two Brown selections which should have been here and aren't, but I can't think of any offhand; the set really does offer the best guide to Brown's career that you're likely to hear in just one package. Another major bonus is that many of the tracks are taken from the original, unedited studio tapes; so, in many cases, you'll hear the complete version of these recordings for the first time in all their soulful glory. Finally, the enclosed booklet includes an excellent summation of J.B.'s career, placing all those big hits in their proper context; plus, you get full session details for every track, including recording dates and the musicians involved. If you're looking for the most comprehensive career overview of 'Soul brother number one',look no further than the 'Star Time' box-set; it really is a fitting tribute to one of the most exciting and influential recording artists ever to grace a recording studio. This is a hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d93a8)

This product

Star Time
Star Time by James Brown (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews