Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belfast, balmy afternoons and hymns to the silence
Van Morrison returns to the east Belfast of his childhood for a record with snatches of R and B, protestant chapels ('Be Thou My Vision') and the mysticism which with he somehow rose about it all without ever leaving it behind.
The title track is one of his greatest ever compositions and performances, and the whole thing is full of twists and surprises without ever...
Published on 5 May 2004 by Gareth Smyth

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some genius amongst the filler...
I would say to any prospective buyer of this album, have a listen first. There are probably only 4/5 really good tunes here, the rest are fairly unremarkable, sadly. 'Take Me Back' and 'Hyndforth Street', probably two of the best things Van has ever done are beautiful meditations on things past- in a similar vein in terms of execution to 'Rave on John Dunne'. In similar...
Published on 19 Oct. 2011 by os


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belfast, balmy afternoons and hymns to the silence, 5 May 2004
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hymns to the Silence (Audio CD)
Van Morrison returns to the east Belfast of his childhood for a record with snatches of R and B, protestant chapels ('Be Thou My Vision') and the mysticism which with he somehow rose about it all without ever leaving it behind.
The title track is one of his greatest ever compositions and performances, and the whole thing is full of twists and surprises without ever losing the theme or the plot. Even when he starts to ramble a little in the nostalgia of place names around those terraced streets, you just feel you're there with him on those sunny afternoons of childhood. Inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One on the Man's very finest, 7 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Hymns to the Silence (Audio CD)
I'm enough of a fan of VTM to find something good on every album he's done, but I really think that Hymns is a must-have CD. I do find his continual obsession with his celebrity and the music business a bit grating - but on Hymns, the totally sublime sequence from tracks 12 thru 21 totally makes up for the odd weak spot. I defy anyone not to appreciate the pure quality of that string of songs and performances. Not only is Van in great voice, the whole production is outstanding, with special mentions for Georgie Fame on the Hammond and Candy Dulfer on sax - her accompaniment on "It must be you" is flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRATIONAL MASTERPIECE, 15 Jun. 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hymns to the Silence (Audio CD)
Hymns To The Silence is an opus magnum where Morrison�s talent reaches awesome new heights. The album impresses on many levels: the lyrical ingenuity, melodic beauty, intelligent arrangements and above all the expert mastery of many different musical styles.
Although every track is memorable, my favourites include I�m Not Feeling It Anymore with its galloping rhythms and flowing tune, the rocking Ordinary Life, a wry observation on life, the jaunty, jazzy So Complicated and the beautiful authentic country song I Can�t Stop Loving You.
Very personal observations like Professional Jealousy and Why Must I Always Explain have more of the folky feel about them, especially the second one with its hypnotic melody line. Perhaps the greatest moment is Be Thou My Vision, an extraordinarily powerful hymn that is one of this artist�s best descriptions of spiritual ecstasy.
In this regard, the title track is gripping too, but more subdued and restrained, creating a feeling of awe. See Me Through (Just A Closer Walk With Thee) is also very moving but a more traditional slice of gospel and it reminds me of Astral Weeks. The soulful song Take Me Back with its wistful harmonica likewise has a touch of that great album.
Hymns To The Silence is an uplifting work of genius on a par with Astral Weeks, Moondance and Tupelo Honey but provides greater variety than any of them. Every track here has some special quality and the alternating musical styles make it a wonderful and inspiring listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devotional masterpiece, 16 Mar. 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hymns to the Silence (Audio CD)
Hymns To The Silence is an opus magnum where Morrison's talent reaches awesome new heights. The album impresses on many levels: the lyrical ingenuity, melodic beauty, intelligent arrangements and above all the expert mastery of many different musical styles, including country, folk, soul, rock and gospel.
Although every track is memorable and tuneful, my favourites include I'm Not Feeling It Anymore with its galloping rhythms and flowing melody, the rocking Ordinary Life, a wry observation on life, the jaunty, jazzy So Complicated and the beautiful authentic country song I Can't Stop Loving You.
Very personal observations like Professional Jealousy and Why Must I Always Explain have more of the folky feel about them, especially the second one with its hypnotic melody line. Perhaps the greatest moment is Be Thou My Vision, an extraordinarily powerful hymn that is one of this artist's best descriptions of spiritual ecstasy.
In this regard, the title track is gripping too, but more subdued and restrained, creating a feeling of awe. See Me Through (Just A Closer Walk With Thee) is also very moving but a more traditional slice of gospel and it reminds me of Astral Weeks. The soulful song Take Me Back with its wistful harmonica likewise has a touch of that great album.
Hymns To The Silence is an uplifting work of genius on a par with Astral Weeks, Moondance and Tupelo Honey but provides greater variety than any of them. Every track here has some special quality and the alternating musical styles make it a wonderful and inspiring listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now that's what I call music........, 4 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Hymns to the Silence (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic piece of work. Much more than just a collection of tracks, this is almost a spiritual concept album. Van Morrison is often guilty of believing his own press, but this is deserving of all praise it receives.

The mood of the album as a whole is genuinely uplifting, and the lyrics are heartfelt. As well as giving an insight into Van's growing up, it could be any of us writing these songs. It talks about childhood memories, dreams we had, places we lived...it has a real dreamy quality that I can't remember many albums having.

Its not mainstream, and not weel known, but once you hear it, I am sure you won't forget. Flawed Masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is excellent, even by Van Morrison's high standards!, 18 Feb. 2000
This review is from: Hymns to the Silence (Audio CD)
Almost all of Van Morrison's music is worth checking out.
This is excellent, even by those high standards we have come to expect from him.
There are some simply astonishing tracks on here, that capture that beauty that Van Morrison's songs exemplify. Some songs are just stunning - check out "By His Grace" and the title track "Hymns to the Silence" - quite breath-taking! And "Carrying the Torch" is magnificent too. An exceptional album from an exceptional artist. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best in my eyes., 25 Jan. 2010
By 
Jeffery J. Forster (bristol, north somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hymns to the Silence (Audio CD)
Why this album is not currently available freely to all his fans I really don't know. I don't get the music industry at times. This is a great album. an astonising album. My CD is well worn out, my original cassette version was also worn out, I need another copy at a reasonable price.
This album has everything as other reviewers have said before me. There is not quite a favourite track for me but I will mention Village Idiot and Green Mansions - truly a set of tracks you will never tire of and will stick in your mind forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!, 25 Mar. 2003
By 
Ian Robinson (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hymns to the Silence (Audio CD)
This is quite simply a "must have" album. It incorporates all the moods of Van the
Man, from his "Professional Jealousy" and "Why Must I always Explain" to "Hymns
to the Silence" and "By his Grace". The titles are as transparent as the songs
themselves, but the music is deep and will stir your emotions like only the Van can.
There are some Van Morrison specialities here also, like "On Hyndford Street" and
"Pagan Streams" where the hypnotic narrative takes the album to another level.
If you don't own a Van Morrison album, this would be a great start, as it incorporates the
many different sides to this musical genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delayed Remaster..., 11 Nov. 2008
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hymns To The Silence (Audio CD)
In January of 2008 the first 8 titles of Van Morrison's extensive remastered reissues began - followed by 7 more in late June/early July 2008.

Here in the UK, these issues came with inlays that advertised the forthcoming titles for phase 3 and 4 as Sept 2008 and Jan 2009 respectively (30 titles in total).

The 3rd phase (in which 1991's 2CD "Hymns" was scheduled) was to appear as I say in September 2008 - but these were then delayed on some databases to November 2008 - but it now looks as if they won't arrive until February 2009 - next year.

This review is by way of notice to that affect - and a warning to prospective buyers - anyone advertising these titles for sale at inflated prices BEFORE their release date should be avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 26 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Hymns to the Silence (Audio CD)
In many respects this is Van's White Album, giving him the space to combine poetry, jazz, blues and reminiscing without ever losing the listener's attention. This really is a breathtaking album and, now that a few years have passed, can be genuinely held up against Astral Weeks and Moondance. It contains track after track of spell-binding lyrics and gorgeous tunes. Also a great reminder of the brilliance of Georgie Fame.
A must buy for anyone who has every admired The Man's music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hymns to the Silence [CASSETTE]
Hymns to the Silence [CASSETTE] by Van Morrison (Audio Cassette - 1991)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews