Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe you had to be there... but magic lives on.
The second of Traffic's 'quirky cover' albums, created by the same line up that brought forth the legendary 'Low Spark of High Heeled Boys'. At the time if you had the first, you just had to buy the second.

OK, so it's not as good, and I think that has always been 'Shoot-Out's problem, it was created in the shadow of a classic, but on its own, out of context,...
Published on 24 April 2006 by Ghostgrey51

versus
9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ho hum...
Critically and commercially ignored on its release,this is Traffic augmented by the then famous "muscle shoals" rhythmn section, who collectively seemed to gift Traffic a peculiarly low energy, plodding rhythmn.. so it's not surprising this is a patchy album.
Stand out tracks are the melancholy but perfectly controlled "evening blue" and the epic "sometimes i feel so...
Published on 14 Mar 2003 by nick g black


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe you had to be there... but magic lives on., 24 April 2006
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory (Audio CD)
The second of Traffic's 'quirky cover' albums, created by the same line up that brought forth the legendary 'Low Spark of High Heeled Boys'. At the time if you had the first, you just had to buy the second.

OK, so it's not as good, and I think that has always been 'Shoot-Out's problem, it was created in the shadow of a classic, but on its own, out of context, as it were, it contains some good work.

The title track's music is a sharp, tight piece with a rhythm that will not leave your head; pity about the lyrics - all I'll say is vintage late 20th century weird (e.g.: 'Donald Duck began to shout..') - shame really.

'Roll Right Stones' is the album's equivalent of 'Low Spark of High Heeled Boys'. This is a slower, more reflective (some might say moody) work; much inspired by the first 'New Age' themes of the late 60s / early 70s.As with its forebear the excellence of the musicians and their inventiveness spares us any of the self-indulgence prevalent in the 'long' or 'epic' works of that era.

'Tragic Magic' is as tight as 'Shoot-Out' and although is a slower, more remorseless piece, being an instrumental suggests 'Shoot-Out' would have benefited from this approach.

'Evening Blue'& 'Sometimes I Feel So Uninspired' are melodic but bleak and maybe the Traffic vocalists were not up to the task (I recall Jim Capaldi being given the vocal credits for 'Uninspired'), whatever, in content they are both arresting & memorable songs.

So there you are a nearly, not quite, excellent album. Personally it has a lot of fond memories for me, I lost the vinyl somewhere between 1975 & 1982, but bless my dear wife; she bought me the CD for Christmas 2004.

Glad to have you back old friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars contemporary and quality music, 18 May 2009
By 
J. Currie (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory (Audio CD)
A much under-rated album that stands the ravages of time very well and retains a contemporary sound. Less folk-influenced than other Traffic albums, with some funky beats, "afro" combo and jazzy rhythms (Shoot Out... & Tragic Magic), laid back jazz (Roll Right Stones/ Tragic Magic) which blend well with the much more bluesy and soulful tracks (Evening Blue and Uninspired). The result is a timeless and polished contemporary rock sound. The songs, the production and musical expertise stand up very well.

There are still some folk and even classical strains, but the album is certainly quality rock that is easy to listen to, ambiental and fluid, and mood-creating. Some critics rated the album at the release time as "uninspired" (references to the track on the album). However, there are no duff tracks and had the title track from the previous album "Low Spark of High-Heeled Boys" been on this album - it would have blended in here without a problem - then the album would have probably been much more highly rated!

Quality material! Traffic at their best & certainly, well worth a listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album That Built Bridges, 31 July 2009
This review is from: Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory (Audio CD)
I remember when I first heard the title track "Shoot Out at the Fantasy Factory", I was in one of those fashionable head shops in London in 1973. It boomed out over the speakers, a fabulous jangly guitar work over an extremely lively african percussion. It had a vitality that I had not previously heard. I wanted to know the title. Got it, bought it when I had enough money to do.

Up until this point, I was a hardened hard rock fan, if an LP did not have a fuzz guitar and a screamy voice, it was not worth a light.

When I got this record on to the turntable and heard the fast-paced opening track, I was hooked. Moved on to the rather spacy Roll Right Stones, a cool sounding sax right throughout the track - this opened the gateway to jazz and I started to explore the best Jazz musicians in LP's which I borrowed from local library. Then I started to listen to other genres such as soul and funk (Parliament, Larry Graham and Sly and the Family Stone).

The album was a complete education for me. From there, I learned a great deal more about the world of music.

I always have it on my MP3 player and listen to it frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ignore the naysayers, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By far the best Traffic album. Well, OK John Barleycorn runs it close but ignore the naysayers and the complainers. Shoot Out takes the approach of Low Spark, ditches the extrovert hippyness and produces deliciously long jazz-rock tracks within a melancholic framework. Uninspired it is not. In fact it is precisely the opposite - a wonderfuly uplifting piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traffic, 20 May 2011
By 
Mr. Peter J. Wilson (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory (Audio CD)
Brilliant CD
Loved thier music many years ago
Have nearly all their LP's, so I have decided to buy them AGAIN in the CD version
Would highly recommend to any serious 60's / 70's blues fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traffic at their Best, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory (Audio CD)
Traffic were one of the truly great rock bands and this is a truly great album. For pure pleasure, you need look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ho hum..., 14 Mar 2003
By 
nick g black (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory (Audio CD)
Critically and commercially ignored on its release,this is Traffic augmented by the then famous "muscle shoals" rhythmn section, who collectively seemed to gift Traffic a peculiarly low energy, plodding rhythmn.. so it's not surprising this is a patchy album.
Stand out tracks are the melancholy but perfectly controlled "evening blue" and the epic "sometimes i feel so uninspired".. which critics of the time (1973) made gleeful use of. Winwood sounds miserable, it must be said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Traffic's final blast but one, 26 Feb 2013
By 
N. Goldsmith "goldsmith52" (Tunbridge Wells, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory (Audio CD)
If you are a Traffic fan it's one you will buy anyway. As it stands it's not one of their best, but a good effort even if it is a little short. Following on from The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys you could consider this disappointing. There is some good bits here, but you have to search for them. For dedicated fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory
Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory by Traffic (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews