Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated, overlooked gem...
If a great band is going to finally implode then it's probably best to do so on a high...
After the rather awful "Free At Last" Rogers and Kirke (at this stage the only two members left from the original line up - Fraser had finally called it a day and Kossoff's appearances were random and fleeting) decided to draw on some outside resources, pack up their equipment...
Published on 25 Mar 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as others due to andy Fraser not being in ...
Not as good as others due to andy Fraser not being in band anymore and kossoff having problems and not really knowing which tracks he played on
Published 2 months ago by Alio


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated, overlooked gem..., 25 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Heartbreaker (Audio CD)
If a great band is going to finally implode then it's probably best to do so on a high...
After the rather awful "Free At Last" Rogers and Kirke (at this stage the only two members left from the original line up - Fraser had finally called it a day and Kossoff's appearances were random and fleeting) decided to draw on some outside resources, pack up their equipment and head for the studio as Free for one last hurrah.
Whilst "Heartbreaker" (rarely has an album titled seemed so fitting) is admittedly not in the same league as "Free" or "Fire And Water" I think the rather sniffy responses to this album are slightly wide of the mark, as this must surely be considered, by even the casual listener, as a great album. The fractious line up doesn't really create too many problems as you would perhaps expect, and in the mournful "Muddy Waters", the 'amps up to 11' of "Wishing Well" and the wonderfully slack "Travellin' In Style" there are some superb songs to be found here that can compete against any other Free classic.
In addition there must be another doff of the cap to Island for doing a first class job on this reissue, and adding some corking extra songs and snippets to it.
Whilst I'd agree Free seemed on a downhill slide from "Highway" onwards, I think the general perception that their final three studio albums weren't much cop is, frankly, rubbish. It's just a shame that a band who, at times, were equally to, if not better than, Led Zepplin and The Who have never really received the critical adulation they so much deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free�s final album is a rock classic, 17 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Heartbreaker (Audio CD)
Though in the final throes of collapse, and riven by internal disputes, with 'Heartbreaker' Free produced their final album, which against the odds has proved to be a minor classic. Although Paul Rodgers' vocals, Simon Kirke's drums and Paul Kossoff's lead guitar remained, a new bass player Tetsu had taken the place of original member Andy Fraser, and John 'Rabbit' Bundrick was added on keyboards. Rabbit's contribution is critical to this album, his dramatic grand piano and organ work creating a much bigger sound than on the band's previous albums, and leading to 'Heartbreaker' sometimes being dubbed Free's 'stadium album'. Among the best tracks are the powerful 'Wishing well', 'Seven angels' and 'Common mortal man', but the stand-out track must be 'Come together in the morning' which is dominated by Rodgers' soulful vocals and the aching, tortured beauty of Kossoff's guitar soloing, which expresses most eloquently his inner turmoil. It is a travesty that Paul Kossoff was omitted from the list of band members in the album credits, considering that he played on most of the record and had been at the core of the band's sound from the beginning. If the album's original 8 songs were not enough, this reissue also contains several additional tracks of note, including a remix of 'Wishing well', the single B-side 'Let me show you', and two rehearsal versions of songs from the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last Free album, 4 Feb 2009
By 
I. Stuart "CambsMusicLover" (Cambridge,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heartbreaker (Audio CD)
The last album Free made before Rodgers and Kirke , frustrated with their relative lack of success (and tiring of having to deal with an increasingly wasted Kossoff) split off to form the more commercially minded Bad Company. Its actually a great album , the addition of Rabbitt changing their sound somewhat and adding a more American feel. As a fan from the early days I wasn't too sure about it at the time , but its stood up very well and contains in Wishing Well one of Free's greatest (and saddest) singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free's most underrated album, 23 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Heartbreaker (Audio CD)
It's a shame that Andy Fraser had left when Free recorded this. I would never underestimate his contribution to the Free sound, both as a bass player and a writer. For me he was integral. That said Paul, Kos and Simon, joined by Tetsu & Rabbit make a fair fist of this last album.
It's good. Great tracks well written and the keyboards augment the Free sound well, take it somewhere new. If truth be told it's arguably exactly the direction the band needed to take to move on. "Easy on my Soul" is beautiful but then so are "Common Mortal Man" and "Come Together in the Morning". I'd urge any Free fan (and they're my favourite band ever) to overcome their reticence and buy this. It's fully complimentary to the rest of the back catalogue and I think a fine addition to my collection - certainly much better than Highway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homegrown British blues at its best, 21 Sep 2001
This review is from: Heartbreaker (Audio CD)
I bought this album on a whim, having never bought any of Free's albums before. I was not dissapointed at all. This is an excellent album, showcasing the talent held by the band at this time. However it is clear to see the tension in this album caused by the strained relationships between band members at this time. It is no more evident than on Wishing Well: the song penned by Rogers as a plea to Kossof to confront his drug addiction. The songs passionate message did not work and Kossof was dead within three years. I cannot think of any other British band that kept there music so pure and loyal to the blues influence. This album is a must in every ones collection!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably one of the greatest albums of the seventies, 6 Jun 2003
By 
A. Tuke "sir tuke" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heartbreaker (Audio CD)
Of all the Free albums this has to be the best, reading the biog inside the new release its fairly clear that Kossoff's contribution was far greater than most people seem to think. Every song is a true gem though Seven Angels is the only way to end this album (and the career of the band), the extra tracks, as they seem to be on all these Free re-releases are more curiosity than worthwhile.
I met David Kossoff once and I have to say, dispite the life his son led, I was incredibly touched by how enormously proud of his son's music he was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blues/Rock, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbreaker (Audio CD)
One of the best bands in the early 1970s, and this is one of their best albums. If you like blues-based rock this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Sandanista (Hampshire, by the Solent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbreaker (Audio CD)
Loved it. Classic album that hasn't aged.
I used to listen to this way back in the 70's but because we didnt have a record player I had to cycle to my friends house several miles away to hear it. I made the trip regularly and Heartbreaker was on the turntable (admittedly sometimes there was also a trip to a pub where they would serve us as a payoff for the cycling as well).

Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums of all time, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Scott "AntonyJScott" (West Yorks England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbreaker (Audio CD)
There isn't a bad song on this cd. If you love 70's rock like Led Zeppelin, Cream, Spooky Tooth, Bad Company you will wonder how you ever lived without hearing it.

From the mammoth opening Wishing Well to the bare and almost punk like Seven Angels closing piece this is English Rock at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant old Free, 18 Feb 2012
This review is from: Heartbreaker (MP3 Download)
This is a great album by the much under rated Free. Free were a fantastic British band with brilliant vocals by Paul Rogers and a unique sound with its roots in Blues but otherwise difficult to place in a particular genre. This was their last album with a slightly different line-up from their famous Alright Now band following a break up and reformation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heartbreaker
Heartbreaker by Free (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews