Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best...
I bought "Frank's Wild Years" in 1985 when I was 16, because I'd heard Bruce Springsteens cover of 'Jersey Girl' and learned that it was written by Tom Waits. I had no idea what to expect. I distinctly remember bringing it home and putting it on the recordplayer when a friend of mine from school was around. When the needle hit the record and the first sounds came out, he...
Published on 20 Aug 2003 by Anders Hald Kristensen

versus
1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No thanks for his wild years
Sorry everybody who finds this music marvellous, I'm now in my third listen and really, I cannot get into this album. Weird and not at all wonderful. Just a lot of strange noises, awful voices which sometimes sound like the howl of a wolf..... or the devil himself. I usually love Tom Waits, especially Raindogs and Mule Variations, but this stuff is not recommendable.
Published on 27 Aug 2010 by Gerrida


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best..., 20 Aug 2003
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
I bought "Frank's Wild Years" in 1985 when I was 16, because I'd heard Bruce Springsteens cover of 'Jersey Girl' and learned that it was written by Tom Waits. I had no idea what to expect. I distinctly remember bringing it home and putting it on the recordplayer when a friend of mine from school was around. When the needle hit the record and the first sounds came out, he burst out laughing and said 'too bad, huh?'. That's the way it is, all great things in life take time to get into: Whiskey, coffee, opera, I hated all of them the first time I tried them. Off course I kept playing "Frank's Wild Years", not quite understanding why, but it won me over. It won my friend over too and soon we realised that this was big, way bigger than one album. Then next album I bought was "Closing Time". When I put it on, I thought "what's this?" a completely different artist... after 3 plays the same thing happened. And the same thing happened with every new Tom Waits album, something different, difficult, something that you needed to listen to and decide whether it worked or not. It inevitably did. The sound, in time has become more distinct, more experimental and the lyrics has gone from traditional lovesongs with a twist, to compelling poetry where just a few words can spark images and emotions. Since that summer evening in a Copenhagen suburb, Tom Waits has played the soundtrack to the key moments in my life. When I think of the times of the greatest happines, sorrow or moments of feeling 'alive' (in only the way teenagers can), Tom is right there in the background. His early piano ballads, his avantgarde trilogy Raindogs/Swordfish Trombones/Frank's Wild Years or his later wild, weird and wonderful stuff, all is great, all is worth devoting months, years, a lifetime to. The list of truly great songs is endless, many of them has been covered by other artist and gone to the hitlists, in a more commercial version than the original. Of course one of his greatest songs, Tom Trauberts Blues, was written after an evening in Copenhagen with danish folksinger Mathilde (shirt stained with blood and whiskey...what did happen?) Possibly, out of such an outstanding and unparralelled body of work "Frank's Wild Years" is the best album. If you have never listened to Tom Waits, you may buy "Frank's Wild Years" and hate it. But if you give it a chance, and listen to it a couple of times, it will probably be the beginning of a wonderful, sentimental, romantic, beautiful, challenging, but never dissapointing journey... So, if you have ever held on to a lamppost for support, dreamt about the one that got away, longed for a love that was far away or felt like burning down your house and hitting the highway for a new start. Start the journey with "Frank's Wild Years".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mawkish, absurd, beautiful, 10 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
The thing I like about Tom Waits is his songs are little movies. So it is impossible to hear Innocent When You Dream (a particularly good song on this album) without seeing barroom grotesques, squeezing tears from their faces as they howl out the tune. And of course the irony of a beautiful, delicate lyric being throttled by these Tom Waits reprobates is just perfect.

One other thing I like about Mr T is that he 'acts' his songs. Therefore no matter how heartfelt, angry or etc the song, there is always a bit of tongue in the cheek, a bit of burlesque, a little twinkle in the eye. Therefore none of the rock star posturing of his peers, because there's just a touch of silliness and absurdity to it all, no matter how genuinely heartfelt.

By the way, this is one of his finest records. When you first here it, it sounds so diverse it's like flicking channels when you're drunk in a hotel room someplace far away. Vegas, devil, german barroom, operetta, spaghetti western, the Muppets (fozzy bear missed his train).

Then you realise, after about the fourth listen, that life is indeed a vegas devil german barroom cast as an operatic spaghetti western and that fozzy really has missed his train.

Don't worry about buying an easy Mr T album first. Just get on that plane fool and fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As with all Tom Waits albums, a little perseverance pays dividends, 16 Oct 2006
By 
Nigel Collier (Hull) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
I have reviewed Rain Dogs and Swordfishtrombones before on Amazon and find myself modelling this review very much on those; FWY is a very similar, if even more extreme extension of those two previous albums. It's arguably slightly less accessible to my ear than those two, but has not yet quite stumbled drunkenly off into even the more esoteric, jarring landscape of Bone Machine or The Black Rider.

As with all later Waits albums, I have learnt not to judge until I have listened to nothing else in my car CD player for at least a full week. It takes that long to really start to pick up on and get into the rhythms and theme of his albums, to get beyond what seems at first jumbled, distorted noises, interferance and background sounds and actually start to recognise the evocative and complex but strangely soothing and even charming music and poetry that awaits the listener. You basically need time to catch up to the genius of Tom.

Also as with previous albums, Frank's Wild Years comes across as a very specific soundtrack to an imaginery movie. Each track sets a scene so vividly, with odd dialogues, strange characters and incidental sounds that you could close your eyes and imagine you were listening to a movie rather than an album. In this case the general image I get of the movie is that it is set in Berlin, in a long abandoned art neuveau style theatre - all cobwebs and mouldering curtains. Then, one night every year at the stroke of midnight, a ghostly Weimar Kabarett is is performed on the rotting stage by a reanimated Marlene Dietrich to a ghostly audience of dinner jacketed ghouls from 20s Germany. I realise that that's a pretty fanciful and specific image to get from an album - but that's what Tom Waits does to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like riding through a creepy fairground ride on a dark night, 17 Dec 2009
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
This is one Tom Waits album I come back to time-and-time again, usually on a cold dark winter's night. It takes a long time to grow on you and I don't recommend it to those new to Tom Waits (stick with "Rain Dogs"). This is the kind of music I imagine the dwarf from Twin Peaks getting down to in the Black Lodge. It is like stumbling through the dark streets of an empty town or riding a creepy fairground ride. The songs roll into eachother really well and create a dark yet fun atmosphere. Several tracks have a strong Ennio Morricone influence to them as well (check the closing of "Blow Wind Blow" & the whole of "Yesterday is Here"). Check out some of Tom's live performances of these songs over on YouTube to get more of a flavour for them. This is one of those records you have to listen to from start to finish. Just what is needed in today's plastic pop world of X-Factor and Pop Idol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like vinyl, 7 April 2014
By 
R. Bowker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
What's to say? I could have downloaded mp3s of this album but I'm old school enough to like something to hold - plus it was cheaper to buy the CD. Not SO old school to hunt down vinyl though. The prompt was a boxed set of The Wire and Waitse's "Down in the Hole" theme. Downhill from there. If you like the rumbunctious cat's meowing, a dragged chain and a hammer on a brake disk standing in for percussion, you'll love this record as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A juddery waltz through an unfamiliar underground, 6 Feb 2001
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
Waits voice is used to magnificent effect on this album as he shifts from the bar to what sounds like a fairground at night. We are guided by Waits dis-jointed organs and horns, unexpected sound effects and always winning voice(s). Best tracks here are both versions of Innocent When You Dream, opener Hang On St Christopher and the crazed preacher of Temptation and Way Down In The Hole. Maybe not the best album for a newcomer to Waits, (buy Heart of Saturday Night for that) but definitely many a treat for the initiated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
if your into tom waites you will love this album, classic cd for your collection.all good tracks in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the most "out there" of waits's defining trilogy, 11 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
but possibly the most rewarding. i wouldn't necessarily say this is a "starting point" for waits (although who's to say what works), but if you like his stuff, or you're prepared to listen to something a couple of times before making a judgement, rest in the knowledge this is inspired stuff. so much style, immense songs, perfect musicianship, and lyrics to make you laugh and cry. one of his best ever album-opening songs kicks it off with a great groove and a real driving (arf!) urgency. other highlights include "temptation", "i'll be gone", "more than rain", "telephone call from istanbul" and the tragic "train song". the album seems to loosely follow the career progression of a wannabe-frank-sinatra. suffice to say the career doesn't quite go the way intended. it's based on a play, but i've never seen the play (god, i wish i'd seen it), and so can only guess. the sheer desperation by the end is incredible. a warning against building your life on baseless dreams, maybe? this is a difficult album, but the rewards are magnificent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
Excellent.....+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franks Wild Years (Audio CD)
no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Franks Wild Years
Franks Wild Years by Tom Waits (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews