Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of green.............
I must agree that this is in my opinion my favourite compilation of Vangelis's music. This is the one I play most, then followed closely by Gift.

With Vangelis's Best Of and compilations growing almost daily, you can not go wrong with this. What makes it really good and different is that you have Memories Of Green from the elusive See You Later cd...
Published on 3 May 2007 by Mr. J. Hulme

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly Disappointing !!!
A Poor Choice by Moi:))) Lacks any sort of entertainment "PUNCH". Played Just the Once:))) Delivery = Good. Service = Good.

Needs more care of Choice by "Moi":))))

DAQ:)))
Published 24 months ago by Declan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of green............., 3 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. Hulme (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
I must agree that this is in my opinion my favourite compilation of Vangelis's music. This is the one I play most, then followed closely by Gift.

With Vangelis's Best Of and compilations growing almost daily, you can not go wrong with this. What makes it really good and different is that you have Memories Of Green from the elusive See You Later cd.

Overall this CD is a very good selection and has a nice flow to it, slip it on and relax. Don't worry you have 13 tracks before the Chariots of Fire theme. By that time you will have reached a chill factor of let it all play man, all is great with the world and you can spare 3 minutes 31 seconds of your life, and listen to it again like I just did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation, 4 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
Excellent taster of highlights from his later work. Not one duffer on here. Recording quality is good but fussy audiophiles would be better off getting the originals for a subtle increase in fidelity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis Themes, 15 Aug 2010
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
New fans can start here & old fans will find this CD irresistible. Vangelis' sound is unmistakable but his range is broad. I still listen to the entire soundtracks of Chariots of Fire & 1492 plus several other Vangelis records & CDs, but here are 14 sublime themes all at once - varied, lyrical, intense. Track 14 is - what else? - Chariots of Fire. Sometimes I play this CD twice or 3 times in a row.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Relaxing, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
I had this on audio cassette for many years and always loved, so glad I finally got it on CD.
Love the music of Vangelis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD review, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
This is a must for the people who just listened to Charriots of Fire every night on the Olympics programmes, it's an Oldie but a goodie from Vangeilis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
I love this album. Many happy nights spent with it, me and various lovely ladies back in my youth :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have the original LP and wanted the CD to play on my new BOSE Wave music system, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
Good recording as expected. I'd recommend the supplier to those looking for old material and would not hesitate in using them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Themes Vangelis, 2 Jan 2014
By 
A. A. Green "Ashley" (Shrewsbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
I greatly enjoyed listening to this Vangelis album in the 1980s and am delighted to be able to listen to it in high fidelity on CD three decades later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Calming music., 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
This CD is great to use in the salon. My clients love it. It is very relaxing, easy to fell asleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Themes Actual and Potential, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Themes (Audio CD)
Vangelis's `Themes' compilation of 1989 contains sixty-four minutes of music from his Polydor years, with a focus - but not exclusively so - on his film scores.

Thus we have here two tracks each from the films `Bladerunner', `Mutiny on the Bounty', `Opera Sauvage' and `Chariots of Fire', as well as solitary extracts from the films `Missing', `Antarctica', and `L'Apocalypse des Animaux'. This latter is the only track that does not date from the 1980s. In addition we have two tracks from his studio album `China' and one from `See You Later', the latter of which appeared in a slightly different form in `Bladerunner'. This only goes to support the assertion that those tracks here which are not strictly themes should have been or could be; and no doubt some or all of this music has appeared at some point in some documentary or other.

Four of the fourteen tracks were marked as `previously unreleased' at the time of issue, but the two extracts from the `Bladerunner' score appeared on the eponymous soundtrack album a few years later.

The downside of collections like this is that each theme is taken out of context. Having said that, there is no duff track here, and his `Bladerunner' end titles and his theme for `Antarctica' see him on the top of his form. Of course this collection did not mark the last of Vangelis's mastery of the film soundtrack: the best was yet to come ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Themes
Themes by Vangelis (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews