Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Underrated
In some ways "Avalon Sunset" is an odd album.This might have to something to do with the thread of religiosity which runs through it. There is also the variety of styles - New Age sound washes, Irish whimsy, the soppy and sentimental, and straight down-to-earth blues and soul.
The first song "Whenever God Shines His Light" is a duet with Cliff Richard. An out-and-out...
Published on 11 April 2008 by D. Boland

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Van's very best, but OK with a couple of memorable highlights
Van Morrison's long and somewhat uneven musical career is punctuated by changes in direction and musical emphasis: the best is sublime, and the worst - well, isn't. True to form, "Avalon Sunset" falls short of the all-time great status of its immediate predecessor "Poetic Champions Compose" and lacks the earlier album's complex musical arrangements. It's very...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by The Guardian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Underrated, 11 April 2008
By 
D. Boland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
In some ways "Avalon Sunset" is an odd album.This might have to something to do with the thread of religiosity which runs through it. There is also the variety of styles - New Age sound washes, Irish whimsy, the soppy and sentimental, and straight down-to-earth blues and soul.
The first song "Whenever God Shines His Light" is a duet with Cliff Richard. An out-and-out pop song, OK but slightly out of place. From this to "Contacting My Angel". I'm not so keen on this. It seems to have strayed in from "Inarticulate Speech of the Heart", without doubt the direst album Van Morrison ever made. "I'd Like to Write Another Song" is a spirited blues number, sung against blustering saxes and Georgie Fame's Hammond organ. Van sings like Joe Turner. No higher praise. The words were clearly barrel scraped - but it shows how to write a song when there is nothing to write about.
"Have I Told You Lately" is a very effective soppy number - much loved by, and played for, newlyweds at their wedding dance. "Coney Island" is spoken. In simple language he describes his experience and feelings on a day out in Ireland. It works. "I'm Tired Joey Boy" is out of the same mould. Simple, Irish folk song feel.
It's the last four songs that, for me, bring this album to near classic status. They all have their faults. Van was clearly metaphysical at the time he wrote the lyrics. But he is back into soul mood, and with the grain of his talent.
"When Will I Ever Learn to Live in God" opens up on bass and primitive acoustic guitar over piano chords. It's simple straight declamation from Van Morrison, but, in the same way as you hear the gospel choir in Aretha Franklin, you can hear the Irish preacher in him. In "Orangefield" we are still in Ireland. The lyric here is simpler - an expression of delight in his lover. The music's heaviness and bombast overwhelm the words. But we are properly in the world of soul here, sound separating from meaning. The female backing group seem out of the Staple Singers.
In "Daring Night" we are lovers looking at the stars and dreaming of infinity. The words don't matter much. Van's vocalising becomes increasingly improvisatory in rapid repetitions of "baby, baby", "lord of the dance", "squeeze me" towards a climax, diminishing to pianissimo, alongside vocal ejaculations "don't let go". Van's confident, in-your-face vocal and evident relish of the music sweeps all before it.
The final song, "These Are The Days", opens on a two-note rocking figure on piano, then guitar over accordion and cellos. Laid back vocal for a slow and heavily nostalgic song, looking back to the summers when he was young. God comes is as "the love of one magician turned the water into wine". Some of the best is towards the end, after the song is sung when he and the female backing group vocalise wordlessly - "na, na, na, na" - female wailing above him gospel fashion. Climax then out.
Why isn't it a classic?
All criticisms fall away before the Man. One of the great vocalists of the past fifty years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Van Morrison.One of his finest., 28 Nov 2000
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
Being a recent convert to the musical mastery (or should that be mystery?)of Van the Man I have to say that this is one of the best Van albums I have purchased so far.Opening with the well known duet with Cliff Richard "Whenever god shines his light" right through to "These are the days" there is'nt one bad song on the album.The pure quality of the songs such as "Have I told you lately" and "Daring night" make this one of those albums in your collection that definitely won't lie there gathering dust!If you haven't heard any VM other than the usual juke box favourites then this album is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCLUDES ONE OF MY FAVOURITE TRACKS OF ALL TIME, 24 Jan 2008
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
This album is one of the greatest popular music albums of all time,and it includes a track that would certainly be on my list of Desert Island Discs,that's Coney Island.A trip on the coastline of Belfast,so well written you feel your being personally escorted by Van himself around his hometown.
Then theres the beautiful songs that have become Van classics,Have I Told You Lately That I Love You (still by far the best ever recording of this song)and These Are The Days (remember it in the Hugh Grant movie Nine Months,when he's walking around the room with his baby).This album still gets better everytime I put it on and should be in every collection.I'm still amazed by the structure and majasty of songs like When Will I Ever Learn To Live In God,just listen to the power of his lyrics here.Then theres the big hit he had with Cliff Richard, Wherever God Shines His Light.Oh I could go on and on but it really comes down to one thing this is an absolutely fabulous release and should not be missed by anyone this time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Van's very best, but OK with a couple of memorable highlights, 28 Dec 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
Van Morrison's long and somewhat uneven musical career is punctuated by changes in direction and musical emphasis: the best is sublime, and the worst - well, isn't. True to form, "Avalon Sunset" falls short of the all-time great status of its immediate predecessor "Poetic Champions Compose" and lacks the earlier album's complex musical arrangements. It's very different.

Often regarded as one of Van's more "spiritual" offerings, the album's name comes from being in part recorded near the "Avalon" country of Glastonbury Tor and Avebury Circle. At least three of the songs have undisguised religious/spiritual themes, including the album's opener - a catchy duet with Britain's own vintage Christian rocker Cliff Richard. The songs are mostly mellow in style and supported by classy production, the competent backing vocals of Katie Kissoon and Carol Kenyan and fulsome string arrangements. Highlights include "Have I told you lately..." (forget the appalling massacre of this song by Rod Stewart); the poetic spoken-not-sung "Coney Island" (an experimental stylistic device perfected in the later "Hyndford Street" on "Hymns to the Silence"); "I'm Tired, Joey Boy" with its simplistic but memorable melody line and, most especially "Daring Night" with its lyrical theme of covert sexual passion woven into a cosmic star-crossed tapestry and radically different in tone to almost everything else on the album.

A lot of people really like this album but overall, "Avalon Sunset" has a populist, accessible feel and is not usually considered to be a career-milestone like "Astral Weeks", "Moondance" or the sublime "Hymns to the Silence." Bookended by the excellent "Poetic Champions Compose" (possibly one of the best repeat-playable albums ever, from any artist) and by the very good "Enlightenment" AS slips through the cracks and - dare one even suggest such a thing for a Van Morrison album - in places slides towards the mediocre. It's not actually bad, and one or two of the individual songs are quite good, but overall it's not great either and, for Van, falls short of his best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Through the past brightly....., 11 Sep 2003
By 
Clem Fandango (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
If we ignore the fact that Cliff Richard-CLIFF RICHARD !!!- duets with Van on the opening track...and ignoring the religiosity of the album's content,then....it has to be said...this is a damn fine album !
Melodic and richly hued with Van's smoky vocals,'Avalon Sunset' simmers in its intensity.The spoken track 'Coney Island' has to be the highpoint.The final line,'Wouldn't it be great if it could be like this forever !' pitching into shimmering strings is a real spine tingling moment.
Almost perfect....but not quite .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album. one of van morrisons best, 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album by van morrison. I first listened to it years ago on holiday and I fell in love with it immediately. Every time I hear it now it reminds me of those holidays. All the songs on the album are superb. I don't really have a favourite, because I like all the songs so much. It just brings back memories for me and I can relate to the songs as I am from very near to where Van was brought up and so I know all the places he sings about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
I bought this CD originally back in 1989 and wanted to replace it. Some of Van Morrison's most beautiful songs are on Avalon Sunset, my all time favourite being Coney Island. The product arrived in excellent condition and is being played regularly in my car now :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of spiritual songs although a bit God Squaddy, 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
But it doesn't detract from what is a great album. He is a craftsman of the highest calibre. My copy has a version of "When the Saints Go Marching in" and it is a smoky, bluesy lament with soulful sax. A walking meditation of a song. It also has the hauntingly beautiful "Have I Told you Lately". How come when I sing it, it sounds like I 'hm gargling with steelo wool? No, the man croons and hollers like syrup heating up mixed with iron filings and belts out every tune as heartfelt. Ok syrup-too many strings like late Frank Sinatra is the negative on some tracks. Mabe not Mr Morrison's best serving but still a main course to sup from. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VAN THE MAN, 3 Mar 2008
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
Aside from Astral Weeks and Moondance, I never quite 'got' Van until this beauty. I found most of his output after the aforementioned two classics to be a bit samey and lacking any killer tunes. (I know! I know! True Van fans out there will be calling for my head!) But this album - and 'Enlightenment', which followed it, are my favourites post '72. The classic tracks are 'Daring Night' and 'These are the days' - wondrously lush arrangements with great melodies and a gospel feel. This album is extremely accessible and perfect if you found/find Van difficult to get into. I almost wore the vinyl out - especially side 2 - so it's good that this is now available at a decent price on CD. Don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic., 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avalon Sunset (Audio CD)
It was everything I knew it was going to be . Brilliiant . Van Morrison at his best . Play it over and over .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avalon Sunset
Avalon Sunset by Van Morrison (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews