Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars105
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2001
there are such things as era's....the late 80's were an amazing era for rock n roll ...the emergence of the force of guns n roses, the return of motley crue, the arrival of skid row and the general peaking of class acts like poison, cinderella, wasp, iron maiden etc....
then ...BON JOVI released the 'impossible to follow' Slppery When Wet album with what i consider as their most complete album ever..and urguable one that will never be bettered
It has all the components that shouls comprise a world class rock n roll album..
the concert opener and crowd singalong of 'lay your hands on me' is mirrored by the best rock video by bon jovi...this song ROCKS & still ROCKS
the sexy, flirtatious dirty lyrics that accompany 'bad medicine' as great and the chorus still reverberate...over a decade later
the slant towards acoustic led songs are notable on ballads which are not girlie but are powerful as in 'livin in sin' and 'IBT4U'
the bonding lyrics of 'blood on blood' capture the reality of the band and something for all kids to relate to...frienship is primary and its a message to the band and their fans
there is the fun and real sense of rock n roll, parties, babes, beaches and beer on '99 in the shade' ....a real song for the summer in a convertible car
then what an album closer...an acoustic drunk session ...with even tico singing and the 1st sign of the blues in bon jovi's veins...a funny yet nicely played number called 'love 4 sale'
BUT...for me there are 2 tracks which have been and always will be the UNSUNG HEROE'S ...two songs which sandwich a cowboy acoustic track called 'ride cowboy ride' ...are for me so beautiful, powerful , brilliantly organised and are somehow never played live !?! Wild is the Wind & Stick to your Guns are the songs...and they are not abt cowboys and indians...they are about realtionships, lost love...but really are so good, that they are the songs that make this a 5 STAR ALBUM ....
I did not even mention the radio friendly yet, suberb 'born to be my baby' or the wonderful keyboard and wicked guitar solo on 'homebound train'...ooops i just did.
If you missed out on the best of 80's hard rock..this is the album to listen to..and also get a listen to Dr feelgood by Motley Crue
TRUST ME....NEW JERSEY ROCKS HARD !!!!
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2001
Any where I go this is a must album to take with me. "Blood on Blood" is my all time favourite. As it reminds me of Jon and the gang singing their hearts out live at their concerts. You cant help but put it in your car and sing your head off as well, who cares if there is a traffic jam when you have Bon Jovi for company! Other great tracks are "Ille be there for you" and"You were born to be my baby". You dont have to be a Bon jovi fan to apprecciate this album as this album sells itself. Its rock music at its very best.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
I have nothing bad to say about the music on "New Jersey". It's one of my favorite Bon Jovi albums and it certainly deserves an upgrade. It sounds great, the tracks are great; overall it's a great album.

But there's one thing that annoys me here; this Special Edition has NO LYRICS. It's got liner notes from some people I have no idea who are explaining how great the band is and that's it. If ever there was a big voice displaying his irritations at how downloads are slowly replacing CD's it's Bon Jovi himself. This album, the Special Edition of 7800°Fahrenheit and their Ultimate Collection (with four new songs) come without any lyrics at all - this looks very rushed and simply designed to cash in on true fans of their music. I expected better from Bon Jovi in this respect; but there's no point in faulting the disc itself; it sounds great.
11 comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2000
New Jersey: in my opinion the best Bon Jovi album out there! All their albums rock, but when I listen to New Jersey, song after song is of such excellent quality that I cant help pick it as my favourite. From the good old throw-your-fists-in-the-air sounds of the early days, to the moving and deep lyrics of Ill be There for You, to the different and unique sound of Ride Cowboy Ride and Love for Sale, this truly is an album of mixed attitude, but one which has the lyrics rolling of the listeners tongue like he were right there with the New Jersey legends. With Jon's voice backed up by Richie Samboras superb guitar work, Tico "The Hitman" Torres laying down the thick beats and David Bryan with his awesome playing all the listener can do is sit in awe...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
Everything from the crank-up-the-volume belters to just the amazing sound of Jon Bon Jovi's voice every song on this album has something which is guaranteed to put a smile on your face in one way or another. That's not to say that this is an album of candy-floss gloss-over pop, true to Bon Jovi style each track has a distinct believable story and this narrative is told with immense passion and a frank look at life but the lack of self-pity or jadedness is what really makes these lyrics special.
This is the perfect purchase for those who are familiar with Bon Jovi's music because it makes them feel good, those who want music they can believe in and those who love a good story.
Definately my favourite album ever.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2000
In a period when we had to suffer the likes of Black Lace, Bananarama and luminous clothing, rock fans were truly starved of the 'power chords' that make air guitar playing so much fun. Step in Jon, Richie and the boys to deliver an album that can only be described as a rollercoaster ride. The heartfelt lyrics that seem to describe your life to a tee, Jon's emotion-filled tones and Richie's unbelievable ability on the six-string. This album is a must for any lover of music - may those 'Sons of Beaches' continue for many years to come.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2000
New Jersey, a time in bon jovi's career when they wanted to make deeper music. I always think this is where jon starts to make music akin to springsteen. But this is not a bad thing, this album has stayed with me since i bought it four years ago. I think the songwriting is stunning on this album, the songs that touch me the most are 'wild as the wing' ride cowboy ride and stick to your guns. I always find it hard to put my emotion into these reviews but what can i say, i think this album is fantastic. Its not like some of the trash that was being produced by other eighties rockers, its innovative for its time, its honest and its good songwriting. I just love it. If your getting into bon jovi, or rock, its a good album to start with. Also try keep the faith. See my review on that page
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
Second only to 'Keep the Faith' in Bon Jovi's collection of superb albums, 'New Jersey' is a rock gem. Having exploded into the startosphere 2 years previous with the collosal 'Slippery When Wet' (the one with 'Livin' On a Prayer' on it), Bon Jovi managed to pull off the rare achievement of bettering the huge selling album, maybe not sales wise, but definitely song wise. 'Jersey' is basically 'Slippery's' older brother, it's a little rougher around the edges, a little more street wise. The lyrical content through most of the album is mainly one of hope through bad times, i.e. 'Blood on Blood', 'Stick to Your Guns', 'Born to be my Baby'. As soon as you press play you'll be hooked, the huge (and I mean huge) intro of 'Lay your hands on me' simply blows you away compelling you to listen to whole album again and again. The quality of the arrangements on the songs has also improved since 'Slippery'. Whether this was due to the band or producer Bruce Fairbairn I don't know, but just check out the instrumental break in 'Homebound Train'. A keyboard/ harmonica duel followed by a huge screech as Richie Sambora's solo comes screaming out the speakers, that then gives way to a bluesy break down, with just drums and bass. Pure class. As always there are the 'lighters in the air' ballads, 'Living In Sin' and 'I'll be there for you' are the culprits here, but luckily Bon Jovi are the masters of such songs, so they go fit the whole feel of the album effortlessly. All in all this album is pretty much faultless in it's genre. An absolute classic. By the way check out the end of 'Love for sale' to see how much fun this band must've been to be in!
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
Not sure it's worthy of "Special Edition" tag - two bonus live songs (which are already on CD) and a fairly useless dated "backstage pass" that gets you very minor access to videos online. Bon Jovi seem to give very little and ask alot for everything...
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
I had this album on tape when I was a teenager and loved it! I wanted it on CD for ages, but it was to much money I then found it on amazon for half the price it is in the shops. It is a great CD to exersize to and do the house work to.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.