Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why the long faces?
This album has been slagged off by Purple fans, Purple members, and even Polydor employees. Even given the ironic title, it's hard to see why this is the case. All I can surmise is that Made in Japan is iconic, and near-perfect, and people just won't allow it to be bettered. And, while that's understandable, it also obscures what is another near-perfect live lp...
Published on 7 May 2011 by Leftin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new
How many live albums DP have done? Too many is my guess.

I've seen DP live several times, and heard plenty pieces of live albums. Unfortunately You need just one live-album from the Deep Purple, which is Live In Japan.

This live-album does not give You any new news. It is ok, but does not offer anything which must be mentioned.
Published 12 months ago by ts


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why the long faces?, 7 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Nobody's Perfect (Audio CD)
This album has been slagged off by Purple fans, Purple members, and even Polydor employees. Even given the ironic title, it's hard to see why this is the case. All I can surmise is that Made in Japan is iconic, and near-perfect, and people just won't allow it to be bettered. And, while that's understandable, it also obscures what is another near-perfect live lp!

That's not to say it's better than MiJ, of course. Even Strangers in the Night and Live & Dangerous are not actually superior to the Purple album, which was probably the first of its kind - hard rock live, and knocking spots off its studio counterparts. But there are tracks on Nobody's Perfect that arguably do exceed their brothers on Made in Japan.

Lazy, for instance, is sharper and fresher in this case. It's fast and breezy, and a complete gas. It also lacks the old intro, so Jon Lord himself may have decided that 'less was more' in 1987. Smoke on the Water also benefits from the more streamlined approach ('though I do miss the great organ solo). Child in Time I would class as on a par with the Made in Japan take; it has as much atmosphere, the rhythm section is inspired, Blackmore is having a blast, and the vocals are breathtaking.

Where MiJ wins hands down is on Highway Star, whose the sense of exhilaration is NOT recaptured on NP, on Strange Kind of Woman (MiJ's version is literally perfect), and on Space Truckin' - the newer version adds nothing to the Machine Head template.

But Nobody's Perfect still has a life of its own. The newer songs sound inspired, and played with the verve of a band hitting its second peak. Gillan had grown as a frontman, and his humour is infectious. Chris Welch at Metal Hammer certainly appreciated this album, awarding it 5 stars. I'm doing the same! The only fault I can find is that Woman from Tokyo, which ironically didn't make the setlist in the '70s, is truncated and a bit directionless here; such a great song deserves better. But that's almost a token criticism. This album is the business.

Oh, and the '88 take of Hush? It's brilliant, as is the chicken!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple - Nobody's Perfect, 13 July 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nobody`s Perfect (Audio CD)
Nobody's Perfect is a live album from Deep Purple, released in 1988 and featuring the much celebrated MKII line up, in the middle of their successful 1980s reunion.

The album contains a selection of material from their then two most recent albums, The House Of Blue Light and Perfect Strangers in addition to all the old favourites from the 70s like 'Space Truckin,' 'Smoke On The Water,' and 'Black Night.'

In terms of performance, the band were really on to something here, Blackmore and Lord add furious extra solos and alternative sections in, Glover and Paice hammer the rhythm home, and give the whole proceedings a different mood than on the 70s live stuff, different but still good and therefor worth an investigative listen at the very least. In addition to the band playing superbly, Ian Gillian's vocals are on top form indeed, in addition to his sense of humour(between and sometimes during songs, like during 'Woman From Tokyo,' for example)

The sound is really clear, fairly punchy and its mixed fairly well. The combination of a good track listing, good sound and good performance is what makes a good live album in my book so I'd definitely recommend this.

There are a hell of a lot of Deep Purple live albums available, but if you liked the band's work in the 80s, then this live album is a definite must buy... and still very worth a listen even if you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore & Co crank it up., 13 Oct 2013
This review is from: Nobody`s Perfect (Audio CD)
Why people write this album off i will never know ! . This is purple with lots off inner friction...brilliant !!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody`s Perfect (Audio CD)
How many live albums DP have done? Too many is my guess.

I've seen DP live several times, and heard plenty pieces of live albums. Unfortunately You need just one live-album from the Deep Purple, which is Live In Japan.

This live-album does not give You any new news. It is ok, but does not offer anything which must be mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent live album, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody`s Perfect (Audio CD)
All good, I just didn't like the fades between songs. Could have done a better job of editing but this does not make it a disaster. Purple feels like they are having fun here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Soulless and empty, 17 July 2012
By 
Mr. G. Earley (Wimbledon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nobody`s Perfect (Audio CD)
I was fantastically disappointed by this album when it came out and listening to it again recently I realise why I only played it twice when I bought it. It's technically brilliant but has no soul or passion whatsoever. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb68a045c)

This product

Nobody`s Perfect
Nobody`s Perfect by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews