Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commercial bliss.
This is Yngwie's most successful release stateside, just falling short of gold status. Joe Lynn Turner on vocals brought a commercial edge never experienced before or since, and also wrote most of the lyrics - maybe also the melodies depending on who you ask - adding to the "Rainbow" feel. He doesn't quite have the vocal range of previous vocalists, but his smooth,...
Published on 25 Oct 2002 by Dr Nick

versus
4 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The completion of a dream...
If you like guitar widdley and you can get past the cheese, and you were around in the 80's and have a forgiving heart, you might just about gleam a couple of minutes of pleasure from this album. Finally Yngwei completes his dream on this album I.e. to become Ritchie Blackmore, he's got the guitar he's got the Baroque style guitar lines and finally he managed to get hold...
Published on 15 July 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Malmsteen's best, 17 April 2011
This review is from: Odyssey (Audio CD)
Malmsteens best albums are those where the vocalists can hold their own and do what their good at.For such a prodigious talent like malmsteen this album is such a rarity.Only No Parole From RocknRoll rivals this for songwriting and memorable guitar solos.Perhaps Malmsteen needs an ego as big as his to keep him under control(Bonnet and Lynn Turner)This was my favourite album of the late eightees and it still sounds great day.Deja Vu is the best guitar solo ever-who says Malmsteen can't play with feel?

Theres not one duff track here,this guys a genius and the playing on this album is breathtakenly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excitement!, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Odyssey (Audio CD)
I love this album, I remember waiting for it's release when it came out on vinyl in 1988, after the excitement produced listening to albums like Marching Out, Alcatrazz and Trilogy expectations were high, upon it's release it did not disappoint at all, still one of my favorite Malmsteen albums of all times, it's a shame he can't produce this kind of excitement with his releases these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars guitarist extraordinair, 18 May 2010
By 
Mr. G. R. G. Hunter (Ayrshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odyssey (Audio CD)
This is classic 80's rock delivered in a fabulous style by guitar guru Mr Malsteen. The songs are exiting and sung very well with the great Joe Lynn Turner ( he of, I surrender by rainbow) A fntastic album I guarantee you will be singing the songs as you walk along after a couple of listenings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 16 Dec 2008
By 
James Davies "metal mad" (Wales (no its not in england)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odyssey (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic, I own all of Malmsteens albums and this one has a perfect sound of metal. The voice of Joe Lynn Turner is just amazing and completes Malmsteens awesome guitaring, what a pair of artists. For me this album is easy in the top 3 of its era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE SINGING THROUGHOUT but amazing guitar playing, 21 Sep 2001
This review is from: Odyssey (Audio CD)
Yngwie does more of his absolutely beutiful and groundbreaking guitar solos, displaying unparalleled skill and expertise. If this album had no singing, and they just took the vocals track out in the recording, i would give it 6 out of 5. Don't be fooled, however, because this is not as good as Rising Force or Marching Out, and the singing makes it a million times worse, but most CD players have a SEARCH button, so i recommend you buy this cd and search for the solos. Get it for the guitar solos, but ONLY if you already have Rising Force or Marching Out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The completion of a dream..., 15 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Odyssey (Audio CD)
If you like guitar widdley and you can get past the cheese, and you were around in the 80's and have a forgiving heart, you might just about gleam a couple of minutes of pleasure from this album. Finally Yngwei completes his dream on this album I.e. to become Ritchie Blackmore, he's got the guitar he's got the Baroque style guitar lines and finally he managed to get hold of one of Ritchie's old singers/cast offs. Unfortunately, Yngwei forgot a couple of vital things; one the songs, two that Ritchie Blackmore is Ritchie Blackmore. This album is a soggy mess of 80's over production (where was the bass in the 80's?), terrible lyrics, and fast but predictable guitar.
Yes I bought this album, yes I loved it in the 80's, yes I hide it when my mates come round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Odyssey
Odyssey by Yngwie Malmsteen (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews