Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic follow up album, 21 Jun 2004
This review is from: Long Cold Winter (Audio CD)
Long Cold Winter, the follow up to Cinderella's debut Nightsongs. This album showed they weren't a hair band, but had style and substance that went beyond the superficial image they portrayed, it also helped bring them out of the Bon Jovi shadow, who had played a major part in the band getting signed. Altogether more bluesy and and a hint of things to come on the third album "Heartbreak Station" Keifer's voice is in fine form and the title track still sends shivers up my spine. I had the privilege of seeing this material being performed live, and it came across even stronger, which is the real sign of good material. Buy this, and improve your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting rock n'roll classic, 10 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Long Cold Winter (Audio CD)
Bad hair, good music. Cinderella are often dismissed as a glam rock band but appearances can sometimes be deceiving. If you look beyond their poodle perm hair and silly outfits, you'll see that their music is basically rock n'roll with a strong blues influence. If I was to compare them to any other band it would be to Aerosmith; that same great combination of excellent guitars combined with a real sense of melody.
This album is packed full of gems but the stand out tracks for me are 'Fallin' apart at the seams' (replete with lead in 'Bad Seamstress Blues' harmonica intro), 'Gypsy Road' (a real rocker of a song with a very catchy chorus)and the epic ballad 'Don't know what you got(til it's gone)'.
Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gods of 'Glam', 6 Nov 2005
By 
J. Pearson "mr_pee" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Long Cold Winter (Audio CD)
I've been down. Gonna be a long cold winter without your love. Not exactly cheery but proof positive that Tom Keifer had the blues. He was feeling a bit low.
I loved Night Songs to bits (Nobody's Fool still give's me goosebumps) but this was a step forward. Top b0ll0cks blues, Gorgeous ballads, brilliant bluesy R'N'R, full throttle rock.
Apparently there's a new DVD from the Heartbreak Station tour. Can't wait. I can't speak highly enough of Cinderella. They looked good, sounded good and were good live. This album probably sees them at their creative best.
The chimps amongst the rock press called them glam. Muppets. There might have been a few glam overtones on their first album (like everything!) but these were real rockers with dirt under their finernails!
Gagging for that DVD though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic second album, 17 Oct 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Long Cold Winter (Audio CD)
Clearly lessons had been learned,no daft group photo on the album sleeve just a classy (snow)white cover.Moving up several gears from their debut,this is one of the best hard rock albums of the 80's.

Slaughtered in the press,who couldnt get to grips with the blues based hard rock as opposed to expecting pretty boy glam rock,one critic shamefully advised that vocalist Tom Keifer wouldnt know the blues if you shoved his face in the mississippi river mud!The knives were out big time.

The disc has many fantastic moments from the opening blues rock of 'Bad Seamstress Blues/Fallin Apart At The Seems',the slow burning blues epic title track to the stunning power ballad 'Dont Know What You've GotTil Its Gone'(if you every lost a loved one,those lyrics are on the money),goosebump time.

The rest of the disc is plain and simple hard rock with sterling guitar playing from Keifer & LeBar.Bizarrely for the second disc in a row Fred Coury appears to play no part with the drums handled by Cozy Powell and Denny Carmissi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second Wind, 11 Jan 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Cold Winter (Audio CD)
As good as the debut but slightly different in tone and with a notable sheen on the production, Long Cold Winter was the closest Cinderella has got to a 'classic' or world domination. At the time the Motley Crues and Poisons of the world were doing rather well and there was no reason whatsoever why Cinderella could not enjoy the same spoils of the glam/stadium rock dalliance of the mid eighties. They did have the tunes and the ridiculously effeminate look but somehow they didn't seem to capture the majority vote. However there are a few die-hard nostalgia-hunters like myself that will always remember and looking back on(and revisiting) Cinderella has been a pleasure.

Their second effort was steering more towards the serious, blues-orientated rock n roll than their debut. It was evident on Night Songs but Long Cold Winter has a thread of the blues throughout. The opening track begins with a blues jam, redolent of the genre with slide guitar screeching and splashing the riff until the distortion kicks in. It's a heavy rocker in the vein of AC/DC, but sleazy like the Dogs D'Amour. 'Gypsy Road' is a single template. It's agreat, catchy 3 minute mini-classic. 'Don't KNow What You Got...' is a classic but it isn't the best song. The catchy chorus will always make it memorable but it errs on the wrong side of maudlin for my taste. 'The Last Mile' is another catchy rocker, as is 'Second Wind'. Nothing overly exciting about them both, but nothing bad either.

The title track is an adequate ballad and is notable for it's stripped down structure, taking the band miles away from glam rock and into proper hard rock and blues territory. The rest are all very good, 'Take Me Back' being the pick.

If you like a bit of Motley Crue, Poison, Wasp, or even Bon Jovi and AC/DC you may find something to enjoy. Sadly they lasted for another 2 albums further but their best lies in the first 2 releases. As of early 2012 (at time of writing) they are touring together as a band but whether any new music will occur is dubious. But in today's climate of 'any-genre-goes' and the zeitgeist of bands reforming, a la Black Sabbath, now has never been a better time in which to grab the opportunity...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd album with extra depth, 30 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Long Cold Winter+ (Audio CD)
this is the 2nd album from one of my fav all time bands . this is a great follow up to the debut . why you may ask that this a one of my fav albums from a fav band and whats so special about this album when it came out every band had a special . let me start by talking about that era . at the end of the 80s the era that i consider the best era with the best bands and hair metal my fav . here in my country we call this era the long hair rock era . 90% or more of every rocker here consider these bands the best of the best and they hate that they had cut their hairs . when the american bands came with the long hair as a way to rebel here where i live (Bahrain) long hair was considered something 100/100 not normal and wrong it what get you into HELL \m/ . anyway back to this album this CD contains many classic songs and hits with killer videos . by the 2nd album the band didnt continue on the same path which was a successful path and had established the band but not for Cinderella they wanted to grow musically and they did this album shows how good the band with composing music (something that we the true rockers miss with the new bands) and the depth that they had in every song . as i was growing these songs make more sense to me then what they call pop music i can related to every song and forget about life and everything that suck in it . dont dismiss this band cause bon jovi brought them into the light . Cinderella and Skid row were bon jovi pals but they earned every dime . get this CD it will fit with the best blues CDs as well rock and hard rock albums in any collection worth its existent . rock on \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going to the ball, 19 Dec 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Cold Winter (Audio CD)
I remember seeing a video of a track from Cinderella's first album around the time of its release. I quite liked it without being moved to investigate further. This later album, however, is far more than I expected. It harks back to hard rock of the 1970s, with bluesy touches but rather obviously mainstream and glossier. Nevertheless, it's still fluid, gutsy and often intense. The title track and 'Don't Know What You Got' are the album's two slowburners. They may sound too power ballad-ish for some, but are for me magnificent. Apart from the softer 'Coming Home', the rest of the album is classy hard rock. The first half of the album is awesome. Yeah, it's derivative and overtly commercial in places, but it's still a gem of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album!!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Cold Winter (MP3 Download)
A great album from a much under-rated band..
Cinderella were good when they first came out all those years ago and I'm just rediscovering them today and their music stands the test of time.. ask Planet Rock!!
Ignore the big hair and not so good album covers and just listen.. can rival AC/DC, Airbourne, etc. for that bluesy riff style music with a twist...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I still got the Blues, 14 Aug 2006
By 
J. M. Salinas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Long Cold Winter (Audio CD)
I bought this cd when I was through an 80s hairspray rock phase, trying to add to my collection all those hair metal bands, so I stuffed Cinderella in the same bag as Motley Crue, Poison, Ratt and whatnot. I mean... who wouldn't?

But then the album opens with Bad Seamstress Blues/Falling Apart at the Seams. Fantastic air guitar stuff, the drum intro is up there with Stairway to Heaven and In the Air Tonight. The vocals are very much in the line of Brian Jones (AC/DC) and Joe Elliot (Def Leppard). Very raspy, very rock and rollish.

So the album goes on and on. Gypsy Road, If You Don't Like It, Fire and Ice. All great pieces of 80s rock. But then there is Long Cold Winter.

A classic piece of Blues Rock for which a certain David Coverdale would have dumped his model girlfriend for (oh hang on, but he did!), and which signalled the shape of things to come for Cinderella.

Classic stuff, great guitar work and definitely classic rock with a subtle twist. It's a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Cold Winter (Audio CD)
Fabulous album, the best from the 80's. It is true to says 'they don't made them like this any longer' What a shame. Cinderella's best album, the title track is the stand out track but once you have listens to the other tracks a few times you'll love them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Cold Winter
Long Cold Winter by Cinderella (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews